We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Invercauld Arms Hotel

Booking.comUS$ 155*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

505 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Invercauld Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 490: English reviews
lancashire
Reviewed 4 April 2017

5 day holiday with Shearings. Excellent value for money but not as good as our last coast and country stay in Tenby. View room did indeed have a nice view but also had threadbare patches on the carpet. . Breakfast tea and coffee not served in pots on the table but from flasks dispensed by waiters.. Dinner good and nicely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wishfulLancashire
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank your for your review. We are very happy that you have found us to be a good value for money. I hope we will see you next time if you will be in the area.

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Just returned from a 5 day, 4 night stay at the Invercauld Arms Hotel, Braemar in the Cairngorms National Park – a Shearings of Wigan trip & own hotel. What delight awaited us in this circa 1645 historic Inn now a Hotel. Reception were awaiting our arrival, we were soon on our way to our allocated rooms – spacious rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Val G
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write this lovely review. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay and your holiday. We will look forward to seeing you on your next visit

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Reading previous reviews this place sounds like the pitts! Well it isnt. If you want 4 / 5* modern hotel with central heating full blast then this is not for you. This is a lovely old building, the interior fits this type of building, high ceilings, wood paneling, lots of stairs. yes there are areas that could do with a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank scruton817
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay and your holiday. We will look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Had a terrible experience. Yes we got a cheap last minute deal with bookings.com but that was only because there wasn't much else available. The picture looked ok and it's in a very popular walking area near the Cairngorms. Large old place that needs an update. We entered in and waited at reception whilst a members of staff carried on...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mariaandwes
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Nice hotel but badly managed especially in the dining room. Apart from the last day there was at least one item that would run out at breakfast. The first morning they managed to run out of eggs AND bacon at the same time. In the evening the service was disorganised and sloppy. This may be due to having three people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flybywyre
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your expectation. Regarding breakfast, if any of the items runs out during service, we are always making sure that all the items get replace in the shortest time possible.

liverpool
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Had a really good week, excellent Driver Debbie, the Hotel was ok booked a scenic view only problem with room no heating in Bathroom which was Freezing!!!!, the Dining times in the evening could have been better organised and the Manager/Guy sorting tables was a bit short tempered with some members of staff. The real star in the Hotel was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cemoc48
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, I shall pass on your kind comments to Theo in the Restaurant, and the owner of the Gathering Place, look forward to seeing you next year. Kind Regards Jane

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Firstly I can not say enough positive comments about the staff. The staff are very attentive and welcoming. The hotel stated it had wifi, which is a must when I'm travelling with business. Well they do have wifi however only in the communal lounge. The heating was broken and the poor receptionist had a job to find heaters for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shawemma
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel. I am sorry that we did not come up to your expectations. We do not serve canned beans or carrots, thanks again for the review. Regards Jane

Washington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the Invercauld Arms Hotel Braemar on a four night Shearing's trip. The staff at the hotel are excellent the food is good. The main hotel areas are good but our room let the whole trip down. We stayed in a basic room and that is what it was. It was in need of drastic refurb. Although clean everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Plod55
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, I am pleased to hear that the staff looked after you and you enjoyed our food offering, im sure if you had come to see the reception team they could have swapped rooms for you. Regards Jane

Preston, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017

our recent trip to braemar on 13/2/17.was without doubt one we will not forget for a long time... but first to our feeder drivers going and coming home a thank you ..now our tour driver debs a big thank you...you did a great job..and now to the hotel we were looked after very well all week room cleaned everyday food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimbo837
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at the Invercauld, glad you had a great stay and were well looked after by the team, I will pass on your comments to the owner at the Gathering place. Hope to see you again in the future. regards Jane

Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

3 is a little harsh and I would give 3.5 if trip advisor's system of scoring allowed. The food was fine-we got what we paid for. The young Polish lady worked really hard and was very pleasant, certainly an asset to the hotel. Would I go back, yes.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David S
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks you for your feed back. Regards Jane

173 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (163)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braemar
0.3 km away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
180 reviews
0.8 km away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
266 reviews
21.2 km away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 km away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
568 reviews
39.1 km away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
836 reviews
39.0 km away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The impressive baronial style of The Invercauld Arms is set against the stunning backdrop of the Grampian Mountains. The Castle view Restaurant with its impressive windows and wood paneling adds to the character of the hotel and makes for an informal dining experience with us. The Rebel Lounge comes alive most evenings with our talented entertainers offering a relaxed style of entertainment for you to enjoy. In the winter months there is a traditional coal and log fire burning in the front lounge providing a warm welcome for weary travelers. The intimate atmosphere of our Slante Bar provides a very cosy and relaxed setting for unwinding at the end of the day. The Invercauld Arms is ideal for those looking to partake in outdoor activities, explore the Highlands or just relax and enjoy the unrivaled world famous Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Invercauld Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Braemar AB35 5YR, Scotland (Formerly Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Price Range: ₹ 4,126 - ₹ 19,874 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Invercauld Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Invercauld Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Invercauld Arms Hotel Braemar, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Invercauld Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
tonbridge
over a year ago
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Bradford, United Kingdom
over a year ago
tonbridge
over a year ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Invercauld Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we were on ground floor no.3 and it was fine”
MontgomeryS_12, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“Road side rooms offer the best views, its not a busy road.”
960martinb, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“we had room 65 which was very quiet, but the hotel is a very quiet one anyway”
Suesheff, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at front of Hotel as the views are much nicer.”
collyboyFife, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do not choose room 16 or 17 and check them first when you arrive.”
J3998PXmikea, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 155* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 155
PricelineUS$ 155
TravelocityUS$ 155
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates