We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Invercauld Arms Hotel

Booking.comUS$ 152*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

506 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 491: English reviews
Start your review of The Invercauld Arms Hotel
 Click to rate
Montrose, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here with a friend last night as we were on a 2 day hike, first impressions were good as weather was good and had just hiked for 8.5hrs was great to see beer being drank outside in the sun, staff were very friendly, room was basic and clean, had dinner there as well, was good, service a bit haphazard,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rae18
Annan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Shearing Coach Trip 3 nights stay. Second time at this hotel warm welcome & we were allocated room 3 on the ground floor near the restaurant very handy,not far to walk.Food was plentiful & very tasty with nice staff serving us 😊Braemar Village is worth a visit also Braemar Castle just a short walk from the Hotel. We met some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gtritchie5
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

nice hotel clean friendly centre of braemar parking front.we were on bottom floor or ground so no stairs .it was a bit chilly with the door wedged open even although it was a sunny day bit of a wind.not much to do on a short break so stayed mostly in the hotel.beer was a bit expensive at £7.40 for 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Montgomery S
Sandhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were spending a few nights at the campsite in Braemar, whilst traveling there we passed the Invercauld Arms and thought it looked a lovely place to go for a meal. On the Saturday evening we walked down around 7pm, on entering the hotel it wasn't really clear where the bar or the restaurant was so we just followed the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adv3ntur3Pro
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write this review. I’m terribly sorry for the experience that you had in our bar. This should never happen; only thing I can say now is that we are very sorry for the disappointment. If you will be in area in the future we would be grateful to show you our real hospitality which...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I loved the location. The rooms were not bad at all, the beds not too bad either! We had a good stay! It's at a great location! The food at the restaurant is average, however the breakfast is very good! The coffee is very weak! Overall a good stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay and we will be happy to welcome you here again if you are in our area

Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

The hotel was run down, outdated. Towels full of holes. Blankets hadn't been washed for a long time. Only two plug points. Only one tea bag supplied Bathroom needs a major revamp. Heated towel rail electrical point of entry held together with masking tape. Room was ice cold. The radiator bearly worked. Power cut due to pluging in additional heater....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine L
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not find us to be value for money. The hotel needs refurbishment but we are always keeping it clean and comfortable

Sleaford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2017

We had a Shearings coach trip which included a four night stay at the Invercauld. This is an old hotel, and a little tired in places, but has a lovely atmosphere and the staff are helpful and friendly. Good evening meals, great breakfasts and a well stocked bar with a very good selection of whiskies. We stayed in room 4,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martin b
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We took in account your comment about the bathroom and this now been issued to our maintenance for attention.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2017

I stayed at this hotel last week, we checked in very quickly and our room was on floor 1a room 65, it had two twin beds and a view from the window was looking over the hills. the bathroom had a shower, the room was very clean, had t.v. , tea and coffee making facilities. the restaurant meals were very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Suesheff
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we will be glad to welcome you here in the future.

Fife
Reviewed 6 April 2017

4 night stay over from 20/03/03 double room booked, Hotel manager upgraded us to a room overlooking the hills and front of Hotel which was a lovely view, room was spacious and modern. All Staff from room cleaner to servers were friendly and genuine, both girls in the bar, Clara and Betty were great at making you welcome and really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank collyboyFife
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write this lovely review. We are very happy that we made your stay enjoyable. We will be looking forward to welcome you here again in neat future.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2017

This was my second stay at the Invercauld, and in fairness not a lot had changed. Our bedroom carpet was threadbare, wallpaper coming away, loose tiles in a dark windowless bathroom, this place needs a make over desperately. The staff couldn't do enough for you and were polite and well manered. The breakfast was good, dinner was ok but rather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm B
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I do agree with you that the hotel is in need of refurbishment but on the other hand we always making sure that the rooms are kept clean and comfortable

173 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (163)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braemar
0.3 km away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
180 reviews
0.8 km away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
266 reviews
21.2 km away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 km away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
568 reviews
39.1 km away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
838 reviews
39.0 km away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The impressive baronial style of The Invercauld Arms is set against the stunning backdrop of the Grampian Mountains. The Castle view Restaurant with its impressive windows and wood paneling adds to the character of the hotel and makes for an informal dining experience with us. The Rebel Lounge comes alive most evenings with our talented entertainers offering a relaxed style of entertainment for you to enjoy. In the winter months there is a traditional coal and log fire burning in the front lounge providing a warm welcome for weary travelers. The intimate atmosphere of our Slante Bar provides a very cosy and relaxed setting for unwinding at the end of the day. The Invercauld Arms is ideal for those looking to partake in outdoor activities, explore the Highlands or just relax and enjoy the unrivaled world famous Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Invercauld Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Braemar AB35 5YR, Scotland (Formerly Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Price Range: ₹ 4,709 - ₹ 19,846 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Invercauld Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Invercauld Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Invercauld Arms Hotel Braemar, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Invercauld Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
tonbridge
over a year ago
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Bradford, United Kingdom
over a year ago
tonbridge
over a year ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Invercauld Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we were on ground floor no.3 and it was fine”
MontgomeryS_12, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“Road side rooms offer the best views, its not a busy road.”
960martinb, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“we had room 65 which was very quiet, but the hotel is a very quiet one anyway”
Suesheff, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at front of Hotel as the views are much nicer.”
collyboyFife, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do not choose room 16 or 17 and check them first when you arrive.”
J3998PXmikea, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 152* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 152
TripAdvisorUS$ 152
PricelineUS$ 152
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates