We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Royal Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

385 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 323: English reviews
Glossop
Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

Receptionist extremely helpful on arrival stored our bags as we arrived a few hours before earliest check-in & also assisted to charge phone. The rooms were clean & comfortable. The sea view across the harbour sensational. As we were catching the early ferry we arrived early to breakfast but was served quickly & the breakfast was on hot plates (a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bryonycoram
RoyalHotel22, Reservations & Marketing Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madame, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy to hear our reception staff made you feel welcome and enjoyed both the view on offer from your room of Portree bay and the included breakfast the next day. Regarding your other issue with the bar, this situation could have been dealt with better and...

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2015

This hotel is amazing, they went out of there way to provide ground floor accomedation for partner and myself who has fibromyalgia. The room was immaculate as was the ensuite bathroom, the shower was big enough for two(not tested lol). They provided tea, coffee and biscuits in the room. There breakfast and lunches were superb and at very reasonable rates....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty H
RoyalHotel22, Reservations & Marketing Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kirsty, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the room and food on offer in the hotel. We strive to meet guest requirements and I am glad on this occasion we were able make your visit as enjoyable as possible. We hope you will return...

Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2015

We were actually staying at a different hotel in Portree, but were shocked at the price of dinner and the poor service there. On our second night we decided to give the restaurant in the Royal a try and the contrast could not have been greater. Although the restaurant appeared to be virtually full, we were served promptly by a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank keith w
RoyalHotel22, Reservations & Marketing Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madame, Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal in our hotel and our staff served you in a fast, efficient and friendly manner. I will pass on your comments to our our front of house and kitchen staff. Thanks again for your kind comments. Regards Hugh Campbell...

Armidale, Australia
Reviewed 7 October 2015

We found the food so good that we kept coming back for quite a few meals. Convenient location, easy to get to and the food was great , so was the local Beer. Well worth using this Hotel for your meals while exploring Portree. Good, quick service and lovely staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
RoyalHotel22, Reservations & Marketing Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madame, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the food in our restaurant so much you returned to dine with us for a few nights. I am also glad the service you experience was quick and efficient and our staff made your dining experience enjoyable. I hope you will...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2015

better value at guest house if you can cope without parking but if you want hotel facilities this is a well located hotel. the room we viewed was clean but a bit dated and worn. not too expensive compared to other accommodation nearby

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarieMcKenzie
RoyalHotel22, Reservations & Marketing Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madame, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I think comparing a hotel to a guest house in terms of value for money is slightly unfair as their are more facilities on offer in a hotel and both are marked on a totally different Visit Scotland grading system. You are however quite correct when you concluded...

Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015

As a disabled traveller I was disappointed to find the disabled toilets locked during dinner service I had to get them unlocked twice and on complaining to the duty manager didnt find her explanation for this satisfactory -abuse of a facility is no excuse for discriminating against the disabled ! Food in restaurant was generally good and for Skye reasonably...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aileen B
RoyalHotel22, Reservations & Marketing Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madame, Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. You are quire correct - the disabled bathroom should be available at all times and this would have been locked in error as this is not normal hotel policy. Please accept my apologies for this. I am glad you enjoyed the food in our restaurant and found the...

Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 29 September 2015

I enjoyed staying at the Royal Inn. It has an old family-style hotel feel to it. The wifi was not at all good, but that's to be expected sometimes. The restaurant/bar was very conveniently located; the staff was friendly, and the rooms were very clean.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeff P
RoyalHotel22, Reservations & Marketing Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madame, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you found your room to be clean and our staff were friendly and welcoming. Regarding the WiFi - we have good coverage through all the public areas and all guest rooms. Where the system can fall down slightly is when we are full and our...

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2015

have not been here for a few years so noticed a lot of staff changes and certainly missed the regular staff 😥 Thankfully new staff are just as capable .. There cheerful and constantly helpful . Can not praise the reception staff enough .. Instantly remembered me when I walked in unfortunately I can never remember names except for George...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frank H
RoyalHotel22, Reservations & Marketing Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madame, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to hear you found your room to be clean and comfortable and our staff both friendly and welcoming. I will pass your comments on to George and the rest of the staff. We hope you will return to stay with us soon. Regards Hugh Campbell...

rocky hill, CT USA
Reviewed 24 September 2015

Nice, old style hotel, a bit dated, but kind of mid-century, so not too bad. Staff friendly enough, but a bit indifferent. Our room was adequate, clean and quiet, and the very nice view of the pretty harbor made up for the very hard and uncomfortable bed. Both restaurants were nice, good, simple food, really enjoyed the haggis, neeps and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cathy h
RoyalHotel22, Reservations & Marketing Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madame, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy to hear you found your room to be clean and comfortable with an excellent view of Portree Bay. I am also delighted to hear you enjoyed the food on offer in our restaurant. As you have correctly pointed out parking is limited and available on...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 13 September 2015

Portree is a lovely town in the middle of the Isle of Skye which makes for a good base for a few days. The townspeople are very friendly and that extends to the service we received at the Royal Hotel. We arrived without a reservation and Sandra went above and beyond to help us out. She spent 45 minutes finding...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paula P
RoyalHotel22, Marketing Assistant at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madame, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to hear our staff were able to make your stay on Skye enjoyable and I will pass your comments on to them. I am also glad you found the hotel to be an excellent base for exploring the beautiful Island of Skye. We hope you...

230 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (160)
Viewed
Deluxe Double (25)
Viewed
Family Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Standard Double (19)
Viewed
Standard Twin (17)
Viewed
Superior Deluxe Double (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
0.1 km away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portree
214 reviews
0.6 km away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
945 reviews
0.2 km away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portree
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.0 km away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
17.5 km away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
126 reviews
28.3 km away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Hotel is based in the centre of Portree on the stunning Island of Skye. Our hotel has offered as a superb base for customers to the area for over a hundred years. We have a selection of over 34 en suite rooms, most of which feature stunning sea views looking on to Portree Bay. We have two restaurants which regularly sell a variety of local produce from Langoustines, Scallops and Fish to Venison and regular Scottish favourites such as Haggis and Mince and Tatties. Our hotel bar "MacNab's Inn" was famously the location where Bonnie Prince Charlie bode farewell to Flora Macdonald before making his way to France escaping the English army. With our rich history, convenient location and excellent rooms we are the perfect base for any visit to the beautiful Island of Skye. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Royal Hotel Bank Street, Portree IV51 9BU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Price Range: ₹ 5,594 - ₹ 10,915 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Portree, Isle Of Skye
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room overlooking the harbour if possible.”
  • The morning view from our room at the Royal
 of 5 bubbles 547vandap, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No lift so ask for accessible room if in doubt.”
 of 5 bubbles AlasdairM192, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for harbour view”
 of 5 bubbles macham162, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose first or second floor overlooking the harbour”
 of 5 bubbles picman7096, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“overlooking the bay”
 of 5 bubbles fasttourer, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay