We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Skye Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Skye Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Skye Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 106: English reviews
Tallinn, Estonia
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

We had an amazing holiday discovering Skye and Scotland overall and if there is one thing we should have done differently is not book the caravan. Unfortunately when booking you are given the option "dorm" which doesn't really warn you for staying outside away from all facilities etc. In hindsight we double checked and should have read the fine print...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pille H
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2016

The dorm was in a glorified caravan that smelt demp and made our clothes smell damp. It had no toilet, you had to head outside for a toilet in a shed. Confusing which doors they lock after 10pm. The showers light sensor turned off every 15-30 seconds. There are only 4 showers so exspect long ques. The hand soap was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DearTobizzle
Chard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Good views to the sea and good living room. The room was a little smelly because was mixed but the rest was ok for one or two nights. the best is the localization. But the staff was very nice and was quiet in the night even with no vacances. The wi fi doesnt work properly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YolandaGomez
manager026, Manager at Skye Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Yolanda. Fab to know you had a good time here. We are very lucky indeed, gorgeous views from the house! Sorry your room was a wee bit smelly..... lot of people hike during the day and clothing left in the room can be the problem. We just had a great update to fibre optic so...

Reviewed 17 June 2016

We stayed in the caravan, midges were a massive problem, and resulted in me getting bitten extensively. Tried to move rooms but there were no free beds inside, beware of this as i still got attacked despite wearing a lot of repellent. Only book in the summer if you are staying inside. Otherwise, staff were friendly and facilities were fine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
manager026, Manager at Skye Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Good evening, Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. We're happy to hear you enjoyed oiur staff and our facilities. Midges can be very bad sometimes, luckily weather it's been very good so sadly they show more. We would have allocate you in the main house, but unfortunately it was full. We hope you enjoyed the...

Moray, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2016

Hostel has rooms in the house or in the caravan outside. We stayed in the house. Nice big bright kitchen and cheap breakfast in the mornings, free tea and coffee. Cool comfortable lounge room with fireplace and good wifi connection. The dorm bunks had flat and saggy mattresses that could be better... but it was clean and slept okay anyways....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fiona07
manager026, Manager at Skye Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Good to kow you have enjoyed your stay with us : ) Our mattresses can be a wee bit thin for some but is good that you had a good sleep! Wee tip for next time you come..... there´s another toilet outside, by the caravans, we always end up using them hehe Save travels

Quimper, France
Reviewed 29 May 2016

Lovely place. Hostel Booker as messed up our reservation, but the perky brunette at the reception found us a room in the second location. Ideal on your way to or from Skye. Bus stop is right outside of the hostel. Great views

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire_in_Edin
manager026, Manager at Skye Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We´re glad you had a ncie time here and you could enjoy both our houses. Toni was very happy to know you guys had a great time here : ) Have a nice trip!

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 May 2016

Awesome location... next to the skye bridge. Can get a little noisy during the dinner, else its very peaceful offering great views. It is easy to find, located close to the Sausy Mary bar. After a long day you can spend a relaxing evening sitting next to the sea or the river that flows behind the hostel. On a clear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ananya K
manager026, Manager at Skye Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Great to know you had a good time! We are indeed very lucky, the views around here are stunning : ) Our kitchen is quite busy but we must say we love when people gather around in it, cook food from all over and met each other. We haven´t had a great sunset since a wee while as weather hasn´t...

Reviewed 10 May 2016

It is a nice place to stay. The kitchen is furnished well ant it's a cozy place to spend a bit of time. Stayed in the yellow caravan, was clean and comfortable. Very good place, with great, helpful and friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
manager026, Manager at Skye Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Love to hear you ha a nice time with us : ) Thank you for your review

Reviewed 12 April 2016

Skye Backpackers is a cosy and friendly place to stay. The staff is 5 stars, very helpful and assures that you get a warm welcome! The dorm where i stayed isn't the best i've seen but it's clean, warm and cosy. Toilets and shower were also clean. The hostel also has a kitchen available for guests and a nice community...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nuno N
manager026, Manager at Skye Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! You made all of us smile for the whole day : ) : )

Motherwell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2016

I paid £11 for a berth in one of the caravans in the garden. It was spotless and the bed basic but absolutely fine when it's just somewhere to put your head after a long day. The Spanish girl on reception (whose name I shamefully didn't ask) is a delight. Friendly, helpful and perfect for this kind of place. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
manager026, Manager at Skye Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your fab review David! Glad you had a good time in the hostel and all along your trip. Is always good to hear our work is appreciated : ) Aye... Saucy´s can be like that...., so I´m guessing after meeting Hemmy ( the cat) and having a few drinks in town you got a complete Kyleakin experience!!...

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyleakin
11.0 km away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
469 reviews
0.4 km away
White Heather Hotel
White Heather Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyleakin
449 reviews
14.7 km away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 km away
Toravaig House Hotel
31.9 km away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portree
191 reviews
0.1 km away
Saucy Marys Lodge
Saucy Marys Lodge
#2 of 2 in Kyleakin
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Isle of Skye is situated on the west coast of mainland Scotland, and is the largest and best known of the Inner Hebrides. One of Europe's most dramatic and haunting lands, words can do little justice to describe Skye's awesome beauty. You simply have to see it for yourselves. Skye Backpackers sits in the picturesque fishing village of Kyleakin, skirted by mountains and sea. It's a small, cosy and friendly hostel with loads of character and great staff who are committed to ensuring you make the most of your time on the island. Our accommodation is comprised of 2 Double Rooms, 1 Twin Room, 1 Triple Room & 5 Dorm rooms that vary in size between 4-8 beds per room. We also have 2 caravans in our garden which can accommodate up to 20 people. All of our beds come complete with full bed linen and 2 pillows so there is no need to bring your sleeping bag. We have a great fully equipped self catering kitchen, a sunny dining area and the famous Groove Lounge with a real coal fire, loads of books and games and spectacular seaside views. Take some time to explore the island's haunted castle ruins; feel the mysterious presence of the legendary faeries in tranquil glens, waterfalls and mountain pools; visit whiskey distilleries and sample local beers and ales; take a relaxing stroll through the countryside or boldly ascend a mighty mountain. There’s plenty to see and do around the Isle of Skye so come and ask us for ideas – we’re a friendly bunch!We will give you all of our ‘Top Tips’ on our fantastic island and will even give you a FREE MAP. Possibly the BEST way to explore Skye is onboard our magical, mystical day tour with MacBackpackers. You can experience all of the best parts, learn all about the history & mythology and even hike up the dramatic hills for amazing views. Day tours start & finish from our hostel, cost £29 and can be booked at reception.(subject to availability) There are endless Cycling, Walking & Kayaking Routes literally on our doorstep. If you have your own bike or kayak with you it can be stored in our shed and we have bike wash facilities in our garden. If the weather catches you out, you can hire a pair of wellies and buy waterproof ponchos from reception. The hostel reception is open from 7am - 12 noon and then from 5pm - 10pm. If you arrive in the afternoon feel free to leave your bags, help yourselves to a cup of tea and we will check you in between 5pm-10pm. We look forward to welcoming you to Skye and to our cosy wee hostel! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Skye Backpackers Hostel

Address: Village Green, Kyleakin IV41 8PH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Price Range: ₹ 1,765 - ₹ 3,055 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Skye Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skye Backpackers Hostel Kyleakin, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Skye Backpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Skye Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My room was tiny. I chose the room to myself.”
 of 5 bubbles nenegoose2005, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask not to be in the caravan”
 of 5 bubbles DearTobizzle, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the caravan!”
 of 5 bubbles sammS7562FR, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Yellow caravan was very nice”
 of 5 bubbles annapC4504FB, 10 May 2016 | Read review
“If you're going for the caravan try getting the lower bunk bed, it's roomier than the top bunk.”
 of 5 bubbles Hidayu2014, 6 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay