We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shieling Holidays

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Shieling Holidays
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Shieling Holidays
See the most recent reviews
Showing 182: English reviews
England
Reviewed 30 June 2016

We stayed here on our last day before departure as it is within minutes of the ferry terminal at CRAIGNURE. We paid £25 per night (motorhome/2people/EHU) but the site is immaculate and worth every penny! There are drying tents for wet gear and toilet and shower block are clean and heated. All facilities are clean and well thought out. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Minkykins
DavidGracie, Owner at Shieling Holidays, responded to this review

Many thanks for your very reassuring review. We hope we will see you back on Mull often in the future.

Telford, Shropshire
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

For the price I would at least have expected a level pitch and the awning belonging to the vehicle on the next pitch came right across the grass to the edge of our pitch. The chemical toilet disposal facility is only suitable for people who have a cassette toilet as it is set too far back to be used with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter J
DavidGracie, Owner at Shieling Holidays, responded to this review

We are naturally sorry that you were disappointed with our site. Road Equivalent Tariff has reduced Mull ferry fares by 65%, with a great increase in campervanners, who like to be along the shore to watch the sea otters. Had you talked to us we would have tried to find you another pitch. The WiFi was bad luck. We have...

Errol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Just back from a week's stay. Beautiful location and such a well kept, clean site. No silly rules, except for late night noise. Easy to visit various places around Mull, and so near to the Ferry Terminal when towing a caravan. Great place, would definately visit again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank edgey
DavidGracie, Owner at Shieling Holidays, responded to this review

Thanks for your very encouraging review. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 19 June 2016

We came to this site after reading their website and reviews. Unfortunately the site was nothing like it's description. We stayed in our motorhome not the shielings ( tents ) but all the facilities were shielings. The showers, bathrooms, toilets and kitchens all built on concrete base which were crumbling away at the edges and weeds coming through, white plastic...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ian t
DavidGracie, Owner at Shieling Holidays, responded to this review

We're sorry you were unhappy with our site, and left us and Mull after one of the three nights you booked. Had you talked to us, we hope we would have resolved some or all of your problems, and could certainly have corrected some misapprehensions of fact.

Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

Great place to stay. Staff friendly and helpful and the island is a great wee break away from the hussle and bustle of daily life. Shielings are a great way to camp for the infirm, older people who find it more difficult to set up tents either way it's a great idea and we will be back next year

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David S
DavidGracie, Owner at Shieling Holidays, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mull.

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2016

Not sure why everyone raves about this site. The pitches are far to close together and there are not enough facilities for the number of people on the site. The owners are over charging and taking advantage of people arriving on the ferry.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bubblywoozle
DavidGracie, Owner at Shieling Holidays, responded to this review

We're sorry you did not enjoy your night with us. You did not give us a chance to solve your problems, so we could not agree to the refund you demanded.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Another perfect stay at the Shielings. This time round we hired an en-suite Shieling which is great if you are travelling with young children! The views across the water are great and a lovely beach to walk on from the site. Staff is very friendly and helpfull and next time in Mull I know where we will return....The Shielings!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JHolliday186534
DavidGracie, Owner at Shieling Holidays, responded to this review

Thank you for these encouraging words. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Nethy Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Another stay at The Shielings with our old campervan thoroughly enjoyed! Weather brilliant - hot and sunny for a good 10 days on the trot! Amenities clean and well cared for as usual. Loos well stocked with loo paper and showers with hot water every time - all kept spotlessly clean by staff - thank you you're hard work is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
DavidGracie, Owner at Shieling Holidays, responded to this review

Thanks for these kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back yet again.

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

This campsite is situated 200m from the ferry terminal at Craignure so if you want you can go over as a foot passenger. The site is on 2 levels. We were fortunate with the weather so benefited from being up on the upper level as the view was fantastic. Maybe if the weather was less kind the lower level would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iron0109
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2016

shieling clean and fitted out as described. Fantastic location, friendly and helpful staff. toilets and showers clean and never had to queue! 2nd visit and aim to go back. lots of room, only noise was the ferry coming in - but not a problem at all - shielings very weather proof for all that Mull can offer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kwhipp60

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (91)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
5:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craignure
1.3 km away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
28.4 km away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
357 reviews
28.3 km away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 12 in Oban
395 reviews
34.8 km away
Glengorm Castle
Glengorm Castle
#4 of 28 in Tobermory
287 reviews
0.0 km away
Arle Lodge
Arle Lodge
#1 of 6 in Tobermory
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Right on the sea, with views to Ben Nevis. We've a warm welcome for you and your caravan, camper or tent. Or try our unique self-catering Shielings, 8 ensuite. Or our delightful Cottages, or budget beds.Small friendly and spotlessly clean. Super facilities: lovely hot showers, hook-ups, hard standings, laundrette, games, kitchen, dishwashing, common room with multifuel stove, and campfire. Bike hire. Free wi-fi. Sea otters actually live on site, and there's a wildlife trail. Stroll to ferry, pub, bistro and buses for Tobermory and Iona (for Staffa). Walk to swimming pool, golf and Torosay and Duart Castles. A perfect base for all Mull. You don't really need to bring a car. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shieling Holidays

Address: Craignure, Craignure PA65 6AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Craignure
Price Range: ₹ 3,024 - ₹ 3,159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Shieling Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shieling Holidays staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
8 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Shieling Holidays staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book a pitch looking out over the bay if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles carrie_winger, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid pitch 19.. its just a parking space in a car park”
 of 5 bubbles garyf822, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Pitch 1 was fairly private”
 of 5 bubbles Minkykins, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Obviously not a hotel with rooms but can recommend trying to book the front parking if you have a motorhome or campervan ....”
 of 5 bubbles paulinem607, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
“we thought Owners cottage was the best accommodation on site, as it was a lovely cottage with everything we needed and ideal location.”
 of 5 bubbles jian44, 30 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5