We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Caledonian Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stornoway
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Caledonian Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 20: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Went there at 11h40 hoping to get lunch. The ladies at the restaurant were chatting away and appeared to ignore us. We then asked if we could have lunch and were told that they do not serve until twelve but were offered a table alongside the statement "it's only going to be 20mins. You can have coffee and scones in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We used to go to this hotel regularly for dinner. The hotel itself is a bit run down, particularly the bar areas, but the upstairs restaurant was always of a high quality, if expensive. This time however the experience was totally different. It took ages to get served, and although the staff were OK, just poorly trained, the management were...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Neil1972551858
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Sitting on the toilet seat and discovering there is no toilet paper (the stuff of nightmares). Let's gloss over what happens next, except to say the nice young man on reception and the (completely empty all night) bar, apologetically provides a roll from (bizarrely) behind the bar. Just the start of a last ever, ever night at the Caley in...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank celticlegendltd
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We ate in the steakhouse last year and it was lovely. However we went to go to the steakhouse the other night and found it to be in darkness, so we thought we would eat in the lounge bar instead but there was no-one about to serve us. It was very strange, the main hotel doors were open but there...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank SunbeamPinky
Western Isles
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We would definitely go there again. The waitress for very pleasant and attentive and made the effort to go and find out what she didn't know, though I do think she should have known a bit more without having to keep having to go and ask. She checked with each course that we were happy and if we needed drinks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dealande
Wiltshire
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in September and couldn’t wait to leave, I was in room 201 and it was in need of a lot of work. I was expecting a small room as it was sold as a single room and let’s just say I wasn’t disappointed it was tiny. The carpet was worn out, it was cold and...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank AJW123
Marie T, Front Office Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry you didnt enjoy your stay with us. With regards to your concerns we can only apologize, however you didnt bring any of your complaints to the attention of the staff giving us a chance to resolve them. Regarding the stained bedsheets, we can assure you that we have housekeeping staff that...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We ate here recently for our anniversary meal and it was lovely. Had salmon pate & Scallops to start which were divine, husband had a bison steak and i had lasagne - both nice. The restaurant is modern with nice views of the harbour, the service from the waitress was fine. We will definately be eating here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SunbeamPinky
Marie T, Front Office Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate all comments good and bad. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I went to the steakhouse on September, the 8th, and I had a very bizarre evening. Definitely not a place I can recommend. The food was okay. I had mussels as a starter, price and quality were acceptable. As a main, I had a rump steak. I have had better steaks in my life, I have had worse stakes in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TravelPhilAB
Marie T, Front Office Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable meal in our Steakhouse Restaurant. We are shocked by the behavior of the waiting staff and can only apologize to you that it ruined your evening. On this date due to sickness we had to use agency staff whom dont usually work...

Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I had excellent cod meal in the bar. Nothing outstanding elsewhere its a hard working commercial hotel on the harbourside of stornoway ,i had a single room 201 with a view of roofs, tv reception very poor on bbc channels not a tourist hotel

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Donald m
Marie T, Front Office Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your meal in our lounge bar.

Reviewed 13 July 2012

Only book at a last resort, needs updating, corridor stinks and one of our rooms stinks of urine. Breakfast is okay but doesn't make up for the horrible rooms. Staff are great though and friendly. Only staying because there is nowhere else available.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank nmilne
Marie T, Front Office Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you didnt enjoy your stay with us. The rooms are a little outdated but we are refurbishing the bedrooms this winter. We are sorry that you think the room smelt of urine, this is very unusual and had you brought it to our attention at the time we would have sorted it...

3 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stornoway hotels
0.0 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 7 in Stornoway
153 reviews
0.3 km away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#3 of 7 in Stornoway
245 reviews
1.3 km away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#2 of 7 in Stornoway
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#5 of 24 in Stornoway
164 reviews
0.5 km away
Hal O' the Wynd
Hal O' the Wynd
#6 of 24 in Stornoway
110 reviews
0.5 km away
Cuanna House
Cuanna House
#8 of 24 in Stornoway
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Caledonian Hotel is a 10 room hotel, all en suite. Our beautiful Steakhouse & Seafood Restaurant is located on the 1st floor and our Lounge Bar which also serves bar meals and Caley Public bar is located on the ground floor.LOCATION: Our hotel is situated on the harbour front of Stornoway. Our comfortable Lounge Bar, beautiful Restaurant and a number of our hotel rooms provide stunning sea views. We are a 5 minute stroll from the ferry terminal and a mere 10 minute drive to the airport.FREE PARKING: There is parking to the front of the hotel, though limited, but we are situated next to a larger car park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel

Address: 4-6 South Beach, Stornoway HS1 2XY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Price Range: ₹ 4,427 - ₹ 5,313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Stornoway, Isle Of Lewis
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Caledonian Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A table by the window is nice even when it is dark.”
 of 5 bubbles Dealande, 17 Feb 2013 | Read review
“I was not a resident at the hotel but only came for dinner.”
 of 5 bubbles TravelPhilAB, 17 Sep 2012 | Read review
“Ask for a table near the window.”
 of 5 bubbles InvernessSarah2011, 8 Jul 2012 | Read review
“A room to the front will give you a nice view, beware views of brick walls to the rear”
 of 5 bubbles Weaniewotsit, 11 Nov 2011 | Read review
“Right next to the ferry terminal at the front, so ask for a room to the rear.”
 of 5 bubbles KMakins, 25 Jul 2011 | Read review
5 of 5