We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bowmore Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowmore
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Bowmore Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bowmore Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 114: English reviews
Lanark, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Dropped in for a light lunch as our 'usual' eating place in Bowmore was crowded out. So pleased it was, because the lunch we were served was very tasty. In fact, we were so impressed with just about everything in this cosy little hotel that we'll definitely be back for more. The lunch order was taken quickly and the drinks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scotswahae2014
Canada
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Stayed for 5 nights. Loved the hotel. Really loved the bar. Great whiskey selection. Place always packed with locals. Really good vibe. Rooms are small but where isn't in europe? All rooms recently renovated. We had room 8. Noisy some nights out front for sure but the window opens! Breakfast was great (poached eggs, cheese omelete, full scottish, oatmeal). Supper...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SirTav
Mumbai, India
Reviewed 5 July 2016

We stayed through the Bowmore Hotel for a week and absolutely loved our time there. Linda and Peter are great people. Breakfast cooked to order. Dinner menu is extensive with great fresh food and more vegetables than your 5 a day require! Younger Peter is the master of the whisky bible and we got to try some amazing islay whiskies...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AOO_13
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 5 July 2016

We had a bedroom that would accommodate 6 although we were only 4 (one double, 2 sets of bunkbeds). Everything new. Beautiful wood. Luckily we had only brought one small suitcase as we only stayed one night, as there was barely room to fit that in! The bathroom was beautiful but not very functional-toilet at one end, shower in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kaisa31
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2016

This must be the worst bedroom I have ever stayed in. Access to the shower was almost impossible and so was using the toilet. No bin in my room for the first two days and only when I left something on a chest of drawers did a bin appear the next day. Breakfast was average but poorly organised. Quite nicely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stewart C
lindalucci, Owner at Bowmore Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, I did respond to your email but really if you were not happy with the room, the time to say was when you arrived and not four days later. These six rooms are being refurbished in November 16 and thereafter all the rooms will be upgraded.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2016

Whilst we did not stay at the Bowmore Hotel, we did use the restaurant for dinner one evening. It was so good, we returned two evenings later and found it to be of the same excellent standard. Messrs Peter McLellan, senior and junior, are excellent hosts and nothing is too much trouble. The menu is extensive and covers every taste...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate D
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 16 May 2016

My wife and I had dinner here on a recent trip to Islay. We were very impressed by both the food and the decor. The dining room is very comfortable and quiet, but can have a buzz at dinnertime. My wife had the pasta bolognase and I had the lamb stew which was incredible. We will definitely go back here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrianGoldberg
lindalucci, Owner at Bowmore Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your dinner. Hope we see you again.

Darvel, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2016

We stayed on 9th April for one night. We had a beautiful family room which was a refurbished room. Amazing wet room. We had dinner on the Saturday night which was to the usual standard expected from food at the Bowmore - we are frequent visitors to Islay and always eat in the hotel at some point. Breakfast was more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine R
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2016

A quick one night stay in this beautiful family run hotel and I didn't want to leave! Recently refurbished and to a high standard - the wood around the estalishment is beautiful and the handcrafting was wonderful. The children loved the wee bits of heather etc hidden in the wood - a really lovely local touch. A lot of thought...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CridheGhabhsainn
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2016

We have eaten in both the bar and restaurant on previous visits to Islay. On this visit we went straight to the bar for our evening meal. Sadly the food was not nearly so good and far too many extra veg and potatoes. A waste. Still a fun place to be in and hopefully the food quality will return to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jalogs

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowmore
6.1 km away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
241 reviews
0.1 km away
Lochside Hotel
Lochside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowmore
60 reviews
15.4 km away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Ellen
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
An Cuan
An Cuan
#10 of 13 in Bowmore
81 reviews
4.0 km away
Skerrols House
Skerrols House
#1 of 7 in Bridgend
114 reviews
3.7 km away
Islay House
Islay House
#1 of 1 in Bridgend
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Bowmore Hotel

Address: Jamieson Street, Bowmore, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Bowmore
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Bowmore Hotel Islay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bowmore Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Renovated rooms very cozy. A little small but fine for 2.”
 of 5 bubbles 991stacieg, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The attic views great and hand made beds from wood from the island.”
 of 5 bubbles dougietwo, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms to the rear overlook lochindal and are quiet”
 of 5 bubbles tomh83, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“3rd floor quieter. Front is noisy because of bar. Back has the better views.”
 of 5 bubbles SirTav, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If they are fully booked ask for recommendations, they may have additional options”
  • Stunning sunsets
 of 5 bubbles AOO_13, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5