We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Old Loans Inn

Show Prices
#4 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Old Loans Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

439 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 437: English reviews
Edinburgh
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Have stayed at this hotel before and loved it so when we were in the area again this was our first choice of hotel. The staff and food are excellent and so is the price. Wifi in the room was disappointing as I had to work during my stay so with wifi going on and off and slow it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank E14McK
scotland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed at the old loans inn near troon.the room was very good with a huge bed .everything was clean,breakfast was very good,we had 3 nights there dec 24 25 and 26 2016 price was £251 which was ok .we booked this with booking.com.didnt have xmas dinner there as we went to relatives in troon.but the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rabgail
SimpsInns, Manager at Old Loans Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed it. If you are coming again please book direct with us for the best available rate. 01294 204040

Glasgow
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was our first time to the Old Loans Inn and we weren't disappointed. On arrival the staff were very welcoming and helpful. We had a lovely room which was well planned out and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. Overall a very enjoyable overnight stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CatherineCat
SimpsInns, Manager at Old Loans Inn, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Lombard, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a very nice surprise. I knew the place had good food but the room we got was very nicely done with plenty of space and a great bed. Our room faced the back and was very quiet which meant a great night`s sleep. Breakfast and dinner were both excellent and overall this place is fantastic value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian220859
SimpsInns, Manager at Old Loans Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for review and we hope to see you again soon.

Lanark, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food could do with a bit more pizazz and some of the staff could have been a little quicker. The parmesan fries were very tasty and the portions were a good size for lunch. Maybe some more toppings on the sandwiches to justify the price. Overall it was worth the visit and if I was in the area again I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NooTooNoo
SimpsInns, Manager at Old Loans Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we do hope to see you again soon.

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived to a lovely welcome for our Hogmanay Package stay and shown to our room. Our room was just great. Very comfortable bed, bathroom was spotless and a goodie bag of treats to set our stay off with a bang ! Our meal was very good considering the hotel were catering for a very large number and the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scotmac1
SimpsInns, Manager at Old Loans Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

dumbarton
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is excellent and we have stayed here before and brought the family for Christmas dinner this is why we returned this year .On arrival at reception we were booked in by a member of staff who was frosty and not very helpful later I found out this was the manager.Not once over the 2 days did he ask...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karendumbarton
SimpsInns, Manager at Old Loans Inn, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you both again soon.

Billingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for two nights and got a great deal. When I saw the very small cottage type frontage on a busy road I dreaded my stay. What a surprise. I had a disabled access room as I'm in a wheelchair - everything I could want - huge wet room bathroom. Nice big comfy bed. Breakfast was beautiful. As...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine W
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Arranged a business dinner for a few colleagues and had a lovely time . Excellent service and good food. A very cozy Resturant so lovely on a winters day. The menu was extensive and had s lovely festive set menu on offer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
George P, Manager at Old Loans Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

I often get emails from Simpsinns so when the dinner, bed and breakfast offer for December came up we decided to book. The welcome at reception and the room we were given, started a great overnight stay. The food at dinner was exceptional and the wine list complimented it. The wifi was the only disappointment, very patchy in parts of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caroline S
SimpsInns, Manager at Old Loans Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed it. I have looked into the issue with the WIFI and hopefully it has been resolved. We hope to see you again soon.

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
2.7 km away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 6 in Troon
1,911 reviews
2.4 km away
Piersland House Hotel
2.3 km away
Lochgreen House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
2.4 km away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
216 reviews
9.5 km away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The award winning Old Loans Inn was named 'Small Hotel of the Year 2014' at the Scottish Golf Tourism Awards and continues to be one of the popular choices when staying in Ayrshire. Situated in the quaint village of Loans on the outskirts of Troon, this former Coaching Inn is the ideal base from which to explore everything Ayrshire has to offer. Owners SimpsInns transformed the Old Loans Inn by introducing 20 stunning new bedrooms, complete with full mod cons and some of the finest bedrooms in Ayrshire. At the same time, the owners were careful to retain the charm of the traditional Coaching Inn as the the Old Loans Inn remains a popular country pub and restaurant where customers return time and time again for the great menu choice. Relax by the real fire in the lounge area or take advantage of the sunken beer garden in the summer months. Guests enjoy complimentary Wifi throughout the hotel and in all bedrooms, where tea and coffee making facilities are available. Championship golf such as Open venue Royal Troon, Western Gailes, Glasgow Gailes, Dundonald Links and many other great courses are all close by. The busy towns of Troon and Ayr are nearby, Prestwick Airport is five minutes by car and Glasgow International Airport is 40 minutes away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Loans Inn

Address: 31-33 Main Street | Loans, Troon KA10 7EX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Price Range: ₹ 4,901 - ₹ 9,054 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Loans Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Old Loans Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Loans Hotel Troon
Old Loans Inn Troon, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Troon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Loans Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Liverpool, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
20 days ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Old Loans Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want a sleep get a room facing the back of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles E14McK, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“our room was on floor 2 loved it”
 of 5 bubbles rabgail, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get a room facing the back”
 of 5 bubbles Ian220859, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I had a room ground floor at the front and was worried about busy road just feet away. No problems and had a great sleep”
 of 5 bubbles Q7888YMelainew, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The Accessible Room has a perfect "wet room".”
  • Very comfortable and clean
 of 5 bubbles ezy_cruising, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay