We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mackay's Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mackay\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

377 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 364: English reviews
Start your review of Mackay's Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Four night stay, Urquhart tour. Basic facilities, but clean & comfortable. Food more than adequate from limited choice menu. Staff friendly and helpful. Good location in centre of village, convenient for touring the district.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
Debbie S, General Manager at Mackay's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Iain M, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am very pleased to hear you found your stay comfortable and the staff friendly they will be delighted to hear this. I do hope I have the opportunity to welcome you again. Kind Regards Debbie Scott General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just arrived back home from Mackays hotel a loved everything about this hotel and staff in the place made us very welcome and would like say big massive thank you Arran us it was so good best birthday a have had yet at this hotel if am to nip pick would be just toilet door lock but that's nothing a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
Debbie S, General Manager at Mackay's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Graham W, Thank you for such a lovely review. I am very pleased to hear you had a good birthday weekend and that you found Aaron and the staff very welcoming they will be delighted to hear this. I am delighted to hear you would return to the hotel, I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit....

Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My mother and I have just arrived back home after spending the weekend at this hotel.The hotel could do with a little modernisation, but you could not get any better staff. They are very attentive and go out of their way to help you. The food was very good and not forgetting our two free drinks. I've not seen a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maureenkinmont15
Debbie S, General Manager at Mackay's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear maureenkinmont15, Thank you for leaving such a lovely review. I am very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and found the staff very friendly and attentive they will be delighted to hear this as they work very hard to make your stay an enjoyable one. I do hope we see you again in the future. Kind Regards...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room dull and basic although spacious very noisy you could here the people in the next room. The shower did not work properly going from hot to cold . The television only had basic channels with a terrible picture one channel you could not watch at all. Missed my favourite Corrination street The bar lounge was dreary. The manager was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank krayman
Debbie S, General Manager at Mackay's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear krayman, I appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. All of our rooms are going through refurbishment unfortunately this happening one at a time due to how busy the hotel has been, I am sorry you did not get a refurbishment it won't be long till they are all done. Part of this refurbishment includes new tvs...

perth
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited in February 2017. Hotel was clean and well decorated. Old fashioned furniture but good sized room and bathroom. We were located in the lodge at rear. Breakfasts were OK, but dinner was disappointing. Limited choice, overcooked vedgetables, steak (as in pie) a little tough and tasteless. Although dinner was included, we visited an excellent local restaurant the next evening.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donbinchture
Debbie S, General Manager at Mackay's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear donbinchture, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am pleased to hear you found the hotel clean and your breakfasts good, I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your meal in the evening we pride ourselves on our good home cooking I am sorry this was not what your received. I do...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked this hotel as a cheap break. Hotel and food very basic . Hotel really caters primarily for coach parties. Staff friendly though. Needs money spent to update the furnishing and decor. Little/no character throughout the hotel. But for a cheap break I suppose it was ok. Does have a small pool,sauna etc. Here you get what you pay for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carol B
Debbie S, General Manager at Mackay's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carol B, I appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. The hotel is currently under refurbishment including our lounge area and nearby toilets, bedrooms and a treatment room, all of the above for the benefit of our guests. We are a budget hotel and claim to be nothing else, we pride ourselves in offering value for money,...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017

We arrived on a trip weekend it was really good. rooms clean , good food and friendly staff apart from older woman in restaurant {smile} she plonked my breakfast down before I finished cereal. Girl in pool area was so nice and helpful.Guy in reception friendly and helpful too.Need to work on seating area in bar as missed all entertainment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
Debbie S, General Manager at Mackay's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue M, Thank for reviewing your recent stay I am very pleased you found your stay really good and value for money and the staff friendly I will be sure to pass on your comments as they will be delighted to hear them. We currently have contractors in working on part of the lounge therefore part of the room...

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

This was part of a deal with a well know Scottish Tour Operator called David. The Hotel was nice, clean, cosy and comfortable, meals were good and filling. Staff were excellent went out of their way to assist, top marks to Debbie and her team. Entertainment was provided in the bar which was a few hundred steps from the main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barrowlad163
Debbie S, General Manager at Mackay's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barrowlad163, Thank you for such a lovely review. I am very pleased to hear you found the staff excellent and went out their way to be helpful they do work very hard to make your stay an enjoyable one so will be delighted to hear your comments. I do hope we see you again in the future. Kind Regards...

Glasgow,Scotland
Reviewed 1 February 2017

After numerous stays at Mackays this time did not disappoint. Booked the "Burns Bash" excellent value for £99. Saturday nights dinner included piper prior to addressing the haggis with a dram. All meals are very good quality and the staff work like a well oiled machine. We stayed in the lodge which was clean & warm, decor was freshly done,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank empeedee
Debbie S, General Manager at Mackay's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear empeedee, Thank you for such a lovely review. I am really pleased to hear you found your trip good value for money and the staff hardworking and pleasant, the staff do work very hard and I delighted to hear it has not gone unnoticed. Hopefully we will see you again in the future. Kind Regards Debbie Scott General Manager

Irvine, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

We don't like hotels that are too pretentious and too full of themselves, so we found Mackays just right......warm, cosy, a bit frayed round the edges, good food, things not always working quite as they should do but nice and relaxing.....a bit like going back to your mam's for tea. Debbie and her staff greeted us warmly on arrival, checked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fenaloni1
Debbie S, General Manager at Mackay's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fenaloni1, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Burn's Bash weekend and found the staff very friendly and helpful, they work very hard to make your stay an enjoyable one and I am very pleased to hear that it does not go unnoticed. Hopefully we will...

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.3 km away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
530 reviews
0.1 km away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
722 reviews
0.1 km away
Strathpeffer Hotel
Strathpeffer Hotel
#6 of 7 in Strathpeffer
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
732 reviews
9.4 km away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
122 reviews
22.2 km away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Mackay's Hotel

Address: The Square, Strathpeffer IV14 9DL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Price Range: ₹ 3,466 - ₹ 6,017 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mackay's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Mackay's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackays Hotel Strathpeffer
Mackay's Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mackay's Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Mackay's Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lodge spacious”
 of 5 bubbles krayman, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Bus service very good to Inverness. Better than sitting hours on a coach 30 minutes on local bus”
 of 5 bubbles 69SueM, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We needed three rooms and got them right next to each other staff did great job to do this as hotel was very busy....”
 of 5 bubbles , 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try and get a room on the ground floor of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Brigade02, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“room 10 has been upgraded”
 of 5 bubbles disapointedguest2014, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5