We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hamnavoe Hostel and Apartments

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stromness
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hamnavoe Hostel and Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hamnavoe Hostel and Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 31: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed here for one night early Autumn 2011 on our trip through Scotland. The hostel itself is in a convenient location to catch the ferry at Stromness, this is one reason we chose this one on our last night in the Shetlands. The owner was friendly and helpful showing us our room and telling us about places to see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J2012UK
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I thought it was great - really welcoming and allowed me to make myself at home. Granted, it helped that it's pretty quiet at the moment in terms of tourists but I really liked the place, great views out over the water from the kitchen and lounge, very handily located for everything there is in Stromness, and George was a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wonderstevie
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Didn't have any problems here, stayed for a long weekend, all rooms spotlessly clean, kitchen with all the facilities, and a rest room with tv, great. It isn't a 5 star hotel, but neither is the price, this is cheap by Orkney standards. Stayed in many hostels around Scotland, and this is easily the cosiest, well done George.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dairsieman
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2012

The place was not very clean, had to clean out drain and not as advertised. Manager unhelpful and did not fulfill conditions relating to rental, but was however happy to take the money. For example drier was broken and accomodation so limited in layout and proportions that drier was essential in the property. Definately not four star as it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 61travelled
HamnavoeOrkney, Owner at Hamnavoe Hostel and Apartments, responded to this review

This review does not belong on trip advisor. This "guest" was housed in our apartment as a tenant not as a traveller. Unfortunately we are given guidelines by trip advisor that, should we choose to ignore, would allow me to attach a scripted account of the difficulties we endured at the hands of this tenant.

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Promoted as 'The only Visit Scotland 4 star graded hostel on mainland Orkney'. When my partner called visit scotland to enquire he was informed that this hostel is not even registered with them! I'll leave it for your readers to decide what sort of establishment would need to lie about their standards!!! Do like the subtle placement of a refuse...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank JJA A
HamnavoeOrkney, Owner at Hamnavoe Hostel and Apartments, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to thank the reviewer for pointing out that we have no registration with Visit Scotland. We cancelled our quality assurance grading for our Apartments and it would appear, inadvertantly cancelled for the hostel. As of today (30.07.12) this has been reactivated and we will be re-graded. I would like to point out that the hostel still...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 30 June 2012

On our arrival we were greeted by George, who made us feel comfortable and welcome. We received the tour of the amenities and he was ready to provide any local information we might want to make the most of our stay on Orkney. The accommodation was very clean and tidy, well-kept with everything at hand for cooking. The location across...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank The-Highland-Pair
California
Reviewed 1 June 2012

This was a horrible experience for my husband and I. We traveled 5 weeks thru France and Scotland on the cheap...this hits our top 3 list of places NOT worth going cheap! I still have over 10 bug bites 2 weeks after our stay, the bathroom was filthy, you have to pay to heat your room, the drier didn't dry...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank CharlotteAnn
HamnavoeOrkney, Owner at Hamnavoe Hostel and Apartments, responded to this review

Firstly we must apologise for not meeting this guest on arrival, this was indeed entirely our fault and was down to an error in our records. As we are at the hostel several times daily we did try to catch these guests but were not able to. We can only offer our sincere apologies for being such poor hosts. We...

Trinidad
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I stayed 2 nights in the Hamnavoe Hostel. The hostel is how every hostel should be - cheap, clean and comfortable! Bedding and towels are provided, the kitchen is stocked with tea, coffee, sugar and other various items. The bathrooms are very close to the bedrooms. The owner, George, was very accommodating when it came to my check-in and check-out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CoolDudes2011
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed several nights in the Hamnavoe Hostel while travelling around Orkney, and I would certainly go back there if given the chance! George was absolutely brilliant and made it very easy to arrange a booking, check in, and find my way around. The hostel itself was clean and spacious, with very nice rooms and a large, well-kept kitchen. Just...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank fireontheriver9
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed in the one bedroom apartment on the ground floor. As a family of four, it gave us cheap accommodation for the week, with 2 year old in a cot, and 6 year old on the sofa. They provided the extra bedding required. This is not the place to go to sit outside and survey the unspoilt Orcadian countryside....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank doctorclifford

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stromness
0.3 km away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
175 reviews
19.2 km away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
232 reviews
19.3 km away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Ferry Inn Stromness
Ferry Inn Stromness
#3 of 11 in Stromness
129 reviews
0.9 km away
Burnside Farm
Burnside Farm
#1 of 11 in Stromness
204 reviews
1.4 km away
Lindisfarne Bed & Breakfast
Lindisfarne Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 11 in Stromness
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hamnavoe Hostel and Apartments

Address: 10A North End Road, Stromness KW16 3AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stromness
Price Range: ₹ 1,296 - ₹ 2,592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Hamnavoe Hostel And Apartments Stromness, Orkney Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hamnavoe Hostel and Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have one fof the front facing rooms there are some amazing views”
 of 5 bubbles gleniceB_13, 31 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Room 3 was great for couples, private with own bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles The-Highland-Pair, 30 Jun 2012 | Read review
“don't get the first floor apartment with young children - stick to the ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles doctorclifford, 21 Oct 2011 | Read review
“The en-suite room was good value at an extra £2 per head!”
 of 5 bubbles JHBM, 3 Aug 2011 | Read review
4 of 4