We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Alona Hotel

Booking.comUS$ 128*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Alona Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

419 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Alona Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 415: English reviews
Blackmore End, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2015

I have stayed at this hotel on 4 seperate occasions......I have always found the staff very welcoming and friendly....the rooms are very nice with a good comfortable bed, nice en suite and tea making facilities, I found the restaurant acceptable for an evening meal and the buffet breakfast is very nice, plenty of parking which is always helpful....it's a business...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SunshineGirl958
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2015 via mobile

I went to watch the boxing last night in the alona hotel with my friends. The venue was pretty, spacious and the event it's self was great. The drinks were reasonable for a hotel, however we did not know what our two course meal would be and I did not like the soup that was served. There should be choices...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shannoncxo
Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2015 via mobile

The restaurant was freezing, complained to staff who begrudgingly moved us still too cold so we left half way through mean nobody cared. Expensive for no food really feel services would be tree choices. Would not recommend. to to enjoy our meal

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank florencedean
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments and I regret you did not enjoy you experience when recently dining in the restaurant. I am surprised that you found the restaurant cold as it has been rather warm this year working in the Glasshouse restaurant. I can only think it was an evening when we had a large function in the...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 19 September 2015 via mobile

I had to check out my room at 23:30 due to the noise. I had attended a lovely wedding at the Alona but being pregnant I decided to get to bed early. When I went to the room I would have been a swell standing on the dance floor the noise from 301 was terrible. I called reception and asked...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank ashleyg61
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments regarding your experience when you were attending a wedding recently. Unfortunately we have some rooms which are quite close to the wedding venue and suffer from some noise disturbance. It is the hotel policy to allocate those rooms to the wedding party as it is anticipated that the wedding guests will be attending...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2015 via mobile

Got a very spacious room, good location. Nice park with beautiful evening walks. Staff was very friendly, warm welcome and complimentary glass of wine was a lovely touch. Breakfast was served in a nice conservatory.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Slims8y
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

dear Guest Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you found our bedrooms to be spacious and well equipped. All our bedrooms are the same size and the housekeeping staff are very thoroughly keeping them in good order and very clean. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again should you...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2015

Motherwell is not necessarily an obvious destination for a long weekend away! However, the Alona Hotel is set in Strathclyde Park with hundreds of acres of grassland and a massive lake that must be at least half a mile long. The rooms are spacious and spotless, the staff are attentive and the food in the dining room excellent. In short...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel F
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your very kind comments that you recently posted on our review. The Hotel is very well located in the middle of Strathclyde Country park making it an ideal base for walks around the loch or days out to Glasgow or Edinburgh. The staff are very attentive and you will receive a warm welcome when you...

Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2015

Have used the hotel as a base on several occasions. Great location to get onto motorway and get about. Lovely people especially the reception and restaurant staff. Very good accommodation and food. Funfair nearby that doesn't affect on hotel noise but good for kids. Nice walks in Strathclyde country park opposite hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your very kind comments. The Hotel is well situated close to the Motorways but far enough away to make you feel you are in the countryside. The ambience of the Hotel lends to the relaxed feeling and the warmth of the welcome form the staff. Kind regards Ian Donnachie, General Manager Alona Hotel

Reviewed 14 August 2015

Spectacular surroundings ideal if you have children plenty to do and see.Hotel clean and very helpful, room spacious and comfy. News papers in reception and bar for your use. WiFi very poor ,nearly non existent in room Breakfast poor compared to other hotels I have stayed in. In Scotland and don't serve porridge. They do serve Haggis though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimimk
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your comments and I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at the Alona Hotel. The wifi has always been a problem however we have instructed our consultants to do a review to remedy this problem. I am disappointed that you did not get any porridge for breakfast. We serve this on demand and...

Campbeltown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Stayed here for 3 nights in August as we were a family visiting M & Ds park and the Time Capsule . The location was perfect and staff and rooms top class . The only negative was the fire alarm going off early one morning then again during breakfast this did spoil it that day but I think it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsteen R
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your very kind review. The hotel staff are very good and work very hard. I am sorry about the fire alarm but it is there for a reason and unfortunately most of the activations could be prevented by our guests being a wee bit more aware of the smoke detectors. Thank you again for your...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

This hotel is confidently located between Glasgow and Edinburgh. Friendly staff, big comfortable rooms with an equally big bathroom. While most people will use this hotel as a touring base, the area is actually very interesting. The hotel is just across the road from an international standard water sports area and the M&D amusement park. For history buffs there are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I do agree the Hotel is an ideal location for touring central Scotland. There is a lot of history in the area and many places of interest to visit. Thank you again for your kind remarks Kind regards Ian Donnachie General Manager Alona Hotel

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Other (14)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motherwell
0.6 km away
Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park
3.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bothwell
608 reviews
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
5.3 km away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Alona Hotel

Address: Strathclyde Country Park Hamilton Road, Motherwell ML1 3WB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Price Range: ₹ 5,843 - ₹ 13,035 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alona Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alona Hotel Motherwell
The Alona Hotel Motherwell, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Motherwell
#5 Romantic Hotel in Motherwell
#5 Family Hotel in Motherwell
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Alona Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Alona Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front facing rooms have beautiful outlook”
157ws, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Some 1st or 2nd floor rooms have French balconies for a great view of Strathclyde Loch”
bobsG9894ZM, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“View on to the lake is lovely”
caral463, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Hotel in Strathclyde Park with Olympic Lake but next to M&Ds Amusement park.”
PrincesMargaret, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are decent!”
AviemoreScotland, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 128* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 128
Hotels.com
Priceline
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates