We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Alona Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Alona Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

409 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 405: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We had a great weekend at the alona hotel. Rooms were clean and bed was very comfortable. Excellent service. Staff couldn't do enough. The food was amazing. Will definitely be back again in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annette J
Reviewed 1 week ago

just back from an overnight in alona hotel for wedding. must say our room was excellent very spacious and clean we were on ground floor and very handy for everything breakfast was good and plenty of choice. staff very helpful bar prices bit steep but normal for this type of hotel would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Agnes M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the third time at this venue for a family celebration. The food is poor ,the alcohol is way overpriced and of a very poor selection and quality, Now I have booked a different venue for another family party. N The venue itself is in a good location the staff are pleasant and helpful and that made the night...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael M
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fabulous. Celebrating my partners 60th Birthday with a meal at the Alona, from start to finish couldn't fault it. The staff were great Louise the manager ensured everything ran smoothly, the staff serving the meal Emma and William also very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Have a jazz band on a Saturday night and they sung Happy Birthday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the Alona for 4 nights whilst in the area on business. Room was massive and very clean, bathroom much the same. Food at breakfast was very good and the restaurant in the evening was top class. Well done to all staff. I will return when next in the area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017

My Husband and I stayed at the Alona for 3 nights between Christmas and New Year, whilst visiting family. Our room was ground floor, quiet, spacious and well presented, with clean quality linen and towels, the bathroom was immaculate. 'Customer Service' from Housekeeping, Reception and Restaurant staff was excellent, everyone was very friendly and helpful with nothing being too much...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tagmeg50
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

I took my wife for an over night let me start by saying front of house were great were things went pear shape is the restaurant 1 hour before food was served I complained the manageress spoke to me like rubbish I will not be back she made you feel like your where a competitive winner I sent an email...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James D
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for staying with us at the Alona Hotel and I am pleased that you found the staff to be helpful and pleasant. I regret very much that you had to wait on your dinner in the restaurant however I believe the wait to be 35 minutes form the point of order to the meal being served...

Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Took my autistic son for a wee hotel break over the Christmas period. The best thing about this hotel, is that they are very autistic friendly and very welcoming towards him, and accommodated for his dietary peculiarities. That said, the online site I used to book the break, stated that this was a four star hotel. It wasn't. 1. While...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IndraJoyce
cambridge
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

We spent 1 night here while visiting family nearby. Our room was clean, comfortable and well equipped. We were on the ground floor next to the car park and didn't hear any noise despite a couple of functions being on at the hotel. Staff were friendly and polite and breakfast well set out with lots of choice. Especially liked the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spice01
Bridge of Allan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

Despite being given 6 month's notice, the Alona hotel cannot cater to dietary requirements or maintain any agreements. After confirming a menu via email, an entirely different, substandard meal was served. The chef appears to have no imagination and no understanding of how to prepare a menu without animal products (i.e. Melon for starter and dessert, tomato couscous for a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JakeEnhader
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest I do thank you for your comments and I can assure you that we do cater for all dietary requirements wherever possible. We have had many varied requests regarding diets this festive period and the chef waits to a few days before the event to decide on the ingredients for the menu. The menu you have quoted was...

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motherwell
3.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
5.3 km away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
776 reviews
6.2 km away
Dalziel Park Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bothwell
593 reviews
0.6 km away
Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park
3.9 km away
Avonbridge Hotel
Avonbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hamilton
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Alona Hotel

Address: Strathclyde Country Park Hamilton Road, Motherwell ML1 3WB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Price Range: ₹ 5,646 - ₹ 11,291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alona Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Alona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alona Hotel Motherwell
The Alona Hotel Motherwell, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Motherwell
#5 Business Hotel in Motherwell
#5 Family Hotel in Motherwell
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Alona Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Alona Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are decent!”
 of 5 bubbles AviemoreScotland, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the park/road. On the other side there is a wedding hall, which may be noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles amosp955, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Great location, questionable service, overpriced.”
 of 5 bubbles bellissimomare, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the river”
 of 5 bubbles Janet3197, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the front of hotel if you want a quiet night and if you know in advance a wedding is going on”
 of 5 bubbles fysit, 6 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5