We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
101 Linrigg Road South Lanridge Farm, Motherwell ML1 5UE Scotland
Priceline
Lol.travel
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
SuperTravel
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (29)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (2)

About

#1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Motherwell
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Ridgeland House is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Motherwell, offering a romantic environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

National Shrine of Our Lady of Lourdes, Carfin Grotto (2.4 mi), located nearby, makes Ridgeland House a great place to stay for those interested in visiting this popular Motherwell landmark.

Ridgeland House is a romantic bed and breakfast offering a flat screen TV, a seating area, and extra long beds in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free wifi is offered to guests.

The bed and breakfast features outdoor furniture, baggage storage, and a picnic area. Plus, guests can enjoy free breakfast, which has made this a popular choice among travellers visiting Motherwell. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

If you like Asian restaurants, Ridgeland House is conveniently located near Shalimar Indian Restaurant.

If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out Dalzell House, which is a popular historic site amongst tourists.

Enjoy your stay in Motherwell!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Special diet menus
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Desk
Seating area
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
91Reviews2Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 88
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Explore wrote a review Feb 2020
16 contributions6 helpful votes
We loved our weekend stay at Ridgeland House. Margaret was a fabulous host and the room was so spacious and comfortable. The house is stone's throw from the motorway, but surrounded by attractive green fields and pure golden silence apart from the wind. A terrific refuge from Storm Dennis!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Margaret Lawson, Owner at Ridgeland House
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Glad you enjoyed your stay at Ridgeland House. Sorry I can't do anything about wind. Hopefully when you return to this area the sun will shine. Hope you had a good journey home.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ashleyrollings wrote a review Sep 2019
Ainley Top, United Kingdom3 contributions3 helpful votes
An amazing place. Very clean, spacious. Hosts are nice nothing is to much trouble. wonderful breakfast they do cereals full fry up, fresh fruit & toast. Would recommend this bed & breakfast. i was not able to get to Ridgeland House until late and was concerned that i would not be able to access my room upon arrival. After contacting the owners they was most accommodating and allayed my fears. i regularly have business local to this bed and breakfast and this would be my first choice every time.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Margaret L, Owner at Ridgeland House
Responded 27 Sep 2019
Thanks for taking the time to leave a great review. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in this area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hemblys wrote a review Jun 2019
Halifax, United Kingdom3 contributions13 helpful votes
Unfortunately only had 1night at this wonderful place .The rooms are amazing large and spotless. Margaret the owner goes all out to make sure everything is perfect .I made a bit of a mess with the booking but she sorted it out no problem. I would definitely go there every time we go to Glasgow. What a gem of a find. Thank you Margaret The Hammond family
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Margaret L, Owner at Ridgeland House
Responded 25 Jun 2019
Thanks for taking the time to write a great review. We loved having you all stay and look forward to your return.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew H wrote a review Jun 2019
Halifax, United Kingdom95 contributions65 helpful votes
What a find! We booked this place as a group of 8, and initially there was a booking error with the type of rooms we requested (our fault not there’s) however this was not an issue with the owner, Margaret, who did a bit of magic and made enough room for us all. Apart from he quality of the house, the one quality that really makes your stay are the hosts, Margaret and Jim. They really can not do enough for you, and really do make you feel at home. Perfect hosts. The actual house is like a tardis, the rooms are very big - the pictures do not do the place justice, as a group we ended up with 2 double rooms, a twin and the external lodge. No complaints from anyone. There was a very good breakfast - Margaret and Jim were still cooking for us even after the 10.30 checkout that’s in place! The last thing to mention is the location, you’re 20/25 mins from the centre of Glasgow, yet you feel like you could be in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by fields and a very peaceful spot.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Margaret L, Owner at Ridgeland House
Responded 25 Jun 2019
You were all very welcome and I am glad we could sort out the beds. We hope to see you all again to thank you in person for the great review. We hope you had a good journey home
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lorraine D wrote a review Jul 2018
Lincoln, United Kingdom32 contributions6 helpful votes
This was the 3rd visit over 3 years The accommodation is first class spotlessly clean. Spacious rooms. Breakfast is always lovely. Margaret and James are so warm and friendly. We stay here on our journey to the Isle of Mull but this year we also stopped on our way back so we could visit Edinburgh zoo. Ridgeland house is ideally placed for visiting other areas. You could stay here as a couple or a family or a lone traveller you would find the accommodation so comfortable. Hopefully see you again next year thank you once again for a lovely stay
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Margaret L, Owner at Ridgeland House
Responded 18 Jul 2018
Thanks for taking the time to write us a great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you had a good trip home and hope to see you both next year.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Debyou8 wrote a review Jun 2018
Swansea, United Kingdom44 contributions14 helpful votes
We stayed for one night in this fantastic b and b. The bedroom was large with a very comfortable super size bed. Chocolates in the room were a lovely touch. The whole place was clean and welcoming. Breakfast was fresh and tasty. The hosts very friendly. Would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Margaret L, Owner at Ridgeland House
Responded 24 Jun 2018
We are please to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again when you come up to visit your son.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vashantpattni wrote a review May 2018
Wellingborough, United Kingdom4 contributions
Wonderful location, view, rooms, service, friendly hosts and I can go on and on. First stayed in early March 2018 and this has became my first choice ever since. I just can't fault it whatsoever. Love staying here and hope to stay for may more visits. Very popular during summer and that's the only regret that can't get the bookings sometimes.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: All rooms are great but also has wood lodge. Superb all way round
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Margaret L, Owner at Ridgeland House
Responded 5 Jun 2018
Thanks for taking the time to leave a great review. We look forward to your return soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jay D wrote a review May 2018
21 contributions18 helpful votes
I stayed at Ridgeland House for 2 nights whilst I competed in a martial arts tournament at the nearby Ravenscraig sports centre. The location was a short drive away from the venue and nicely tucked away from the main roads, peaceful and with nice countryside views. The hosts were truly lovely people and made me feel at home straight away. The room was spacious and clean with good facilities, the raincloud shower was particularly special! The breakfast was quick and good quality, I was just disappointed I couldn’t have gone for the full breakfast given I had to practice martial arts a few hours after! I would recommend anybody staying in the Motherwell area who wants an excellent quality, homely stay and peace and quiet at a very reasonable price to choose Ridgeland house!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Margaret L, Owner at Ridgeland House
Responded 27 May 2018
Thanks you for your kind words and great review. We hope you did well at your tournament and that you return next year to tell us all about it
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carol B wrote a review May 2018
Orillia, Canada18 contributions7 helpful votes
We stayed at Ridgeland House on the first night of our vacation. We could not have had better hosts or accommodations if we had hand picked them. Margaret and Jim welcomed us into their beautiful home like we were family. They joined us for drinks in the lovely sitting area and we were thrilled to have them. We had lots of laughs and learned lots about Scotland. Our bedroom was EXCEPTIONAL!!! It was HUGE and the bed was so comfortable...just what we needed after a 7 hour flight. Personally, I was thrilled to be able to visit their dairy farm as it brought back many of my childhood memories of growing up on our dairy farm. Thank you Margaret and Jim, you two are very special. I would HIGHLY recommend this beautiful B & B.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Margaret L, Owner at Ridgeland House
Responded 5 Jun 2018
Thanks for taking the time to leave a great review. We enjoyed you company and hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dcarr825 wrote a review May 2018
Ottawa, Canada14 contributions17 helpful votes
We were just beginning our Scotland Ireland trip and were so lucky to start off staying at this lovely BnB! Margaret and Jim were absolutely lovely and welcoming! I tried haggis for the first time and surprisingly a liked it! They have a beautiful spacious home that was very comfortable! The farm is surrounded by beautiful land and their dairy farm which Jim works at. Thanks to Margaret and Jim for starting us off to a wonderful vacation. You set the bar high! I would without a doubt stay at their home again. Definitely recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Margaret L, Owner at Ridgeland House
Responded 5 Jun 2018
Thanks for taking the time to give us a great review. We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope you enjoyed your trip to Ireland.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandNorth LanarkshireMotherwell
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ridgeland House
Which popular attractions are close to Ridgeland House?
Nearby attractions include Tinto Hill (5.1 km), National Shrine of Our Lady of Lourdes, Carfin Grotto (3.8 km), and DinoM8 (2.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ridgeland House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Ridgeland House?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and extra long beds.
What food & drink options are available at Ridgeland House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Ridgeland House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ridgeland House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tripti Indian Restaurant, Dakota Bar and Grill, and The Mad Batter Bakery and Coffee Shop.
Are there any historical sites close to Ridgeland House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hartwood Hospital (4.8 km) and Bellshill Academy (7.0 km).