We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Innkeeper's Lodge Glasgow East

Save
Share
Strathclyde Country Park Hamilton Road Strathclyde Park Toby Carvery, Motherwell ML1 3WB Scotland
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (73)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (7)

About

#5 of 8 hotels in Motherwell
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Just a stone’s throw from Strathclyde Loch in the heart of Strathclyde Country Park, Innkeeper's Lodge Glasgow East is the perfect place for a quiet break away or an overnight business trip. Offering the best value accommodation, this bed and breakfast hotel in Motherwell will allow you to enjoy comfortable night's sleep and a delicious carvery, in traditional surroundings. Whether you’re travelling for business or pleasure, Toby Carvery Strathclyde Park, Glasgow will ensure that you dine, rest, and sleep in true comfort.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Non-smoking hotel
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Vending machine
Show more
Room features
Desk
Telephone
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family

Location

Full view
Contact
Strathclyde Country Park Hamilton Road Strathclyde Park Toby Carvery, Motherwell ML1 3WB Scotland
Getting there
Glasgow Intl Airport25 kmSee all flights
Turnhouse Airport46 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
276Reviews3Q+A56Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 117
  • 88
  • 49
  • 9
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Global37871738218 wrote a review May 2022
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom2 contributions
Friendly staff. Bathroom was clean with toiletries, Hairdryer worked. Hotel in appalling condition, room 23 was dark with a musty smell & dehumidifier containing substantial amount of water. Bed side light not working. We were told they having refurb in august so would avoid till it happens .
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at Innkeeper's Lodge Glasgow East
Responded 16 May 2022
Hi Global37871738218 thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback. We are due a full refurbishment in August so I do hope you will visit us again then. Kind regards Donna
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GeoTheScot wrote a review May 2022
Uddingston, United Kingdom19 contributions4 helpful votes
During a home bathroom refit, we used the hotel for 4 days, handy for us, but in general, hotel is in a pretty good location Close to Glasgow, but ideal for all other directions, Strathclyde country park is literally a few mins walk away
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at Innkeeper's Lodge Glasgow East
Responded 4 May 2022
Hi Geothescot, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at Innkeeper's Toby Carvery Strathclyde Park. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you; we are more than happy to help! Kind regards Donna
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Johnny H wrote a review Apr 2022
Houghton Conquest, United Kingdom13 contributions14 helpful votes
Yet again from arriving to departure the staff have been brilliant as we started early finished late meals kept for us heated n served to us late nothing is a problem could not thank them enough I will not stay any were else when I'm in the area alloys been spot on rooms are clean tidey nothing I could complain about here
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at Innkeeper's Lodge Glasgow East
Responded 29 Apr 2022
Hi Johnny, it's experiences like yours that really keep us motivated! Thank you so much again for your feedback! We hope you have a great day! Kind regards Donna
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
frankbmrd wrote a review Apr 2022
York, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
Rooms are in need of urgent attention and refurbishment. Since the Covid pandemic it seems that a fast reduction in breakfast choices has been necessary as the choices now are minimal including the option of using tongs to pick up bread! It appears covid can't be spread by using your hands to pick out bread from a plastic bag! If only the scientists had know!!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at Innkeeper's Lodge Glasgow East
Responded 13 Apr 2022
Hi Frankbmrd, we regret to hear that you are displeased with your recent experience with us and thank you for your honest feedback. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure that tongs are available for bread. As for our breakfast, our choices remain the same as before covid and the only product we have an issue with is Haggis from our supplier. Kind regards Donna
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lke87 wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Receptionist rude, wouldn’t allow us to pay with cash as it ‘didn’t suit her’ room very unkempt. We were told the Pull out bed was made up with sheets etc. it wasn’t. It’s a bit of foam and the most uncomfortable bed we have ever lay on, we could feel the wooden frame due to the mattress being so thin. Complete waste of money. Would not recommend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at Innkeeper's Lodge Glasgow East
Responded 6 Apr 2022
Hi Lke87, We regret to hear that you are displeased with your recent experience with us. Our receptionist was correct when advising you that we do not accept cash as this is not our policy as per our terms and conditions. I'm sorry if this caused you problems. As for your bed, if we had known we could have changed your room or rectified the problem immediately. Kind regards Donna
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
reg b wrote a review Mar 2022
Gravesend, United Kingdom45 contributions44 helpful votes
The hotel is in a very good spot next to the motorway ana a Toby Carvery. The room needed a good paint up and the bathroom needed a clean. We had room 2 which was next to a internal door to the Carvery.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at Innkeeper's Lodge Glasgow East
Responded 2 Apr 2022
Hi Reg, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at Innkeeper's Lodge Toby Carvery Strathclyde Park! We are due a full refurbishment later in the year and I hope you will visit us again in the future. Kind regards Donna
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dance4lynne wrote a review Nov 2021
Lanark, United Kingdom72 contributions81 helpful votes
Everything was clean. However the bathroom was a disgrace. Shower tiles were black and needed regrouting. Floor tiles were the same. No plug for the sink. Door was all rough and in need of paint. The bulbs from the entrance light were lying on a shelf. The fire alarm went off twice through the night. I honestly wouldn't want to go back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ally wrote a review Jul 2021
Maryport, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
The location is lovely, on the edge of the amazing Strathclyde Country Park, with its big loch and miles of walks through trees and across grass. I enjoyed a nice walk at sunset, watching the geese settling down for the night. The hotel seems to be an offshoot of the Toby Carvery next door. (Don't confuse it with the Holiday Inn on the other side.) You check in at the Carvery, which shuts at 10pm, after which there don't seem to be any staff on the premises. It's quite a small hotel with maybe 18 bedrooms. The place is reasonably clean, though I was a bit put off by the sticky windowsill (possible a result of being sprayed with some sort of anti-virus spray? But it shouldn't be left sticky.) The view from the window on to the mucky rooftop was less than inspiring though it was interesting watching the juvenile herring gulls poking about for food. You can only open the window a small amount (for health and safety reasons apparently, but it looks safe enough with the big flat roof outside.) However, when the window's open, you hear the constant roar of the nearby motorway. There's still a noise when it's closed though - I think it was something to do with the air conditioning. You get used to it. One of the wall lights wasn't working, and looked as though someone had tried to wrench it off the wall. If there'd been any staff around I'd have told them about this. I only needed the place as somewhere to put my head down for one night, and it did that job reasonably well. However, I discovered to my horror that there's no WiFi, and I couldn't even get a decent phone signal, so couldn't access the internet at all. I had to go out and down by the loch for access. Thought I'd watch a bit of telly instead, but for some bizarre reason there are NO BBC CHANNELS at all. I didn't know it was even possible to set up a TV not to receive the Beeb. What's going on here? There's a kettle and a selection of hot drinks, but only very basic ones. Twinings Everyday Tea (Rich and Full Bodied) or basic Nescafe. Oh well, better than nothing. On the plus side, the towels were clean, the shower worked well, the bed was really comfy, and it was cheap. If you're not interested in BBC programmes or the internet, you'll be fine.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at Innkeeper's Lodge Glasgow East
Responded 12 Jul 2021
We appreciate all reviews, and appreciate you giving us the chance to improve by providing us with this feedback. We will take on board your comments regarding WiFi. We will make sure in future that the relevant WiFi info is provided in our rooms for our guests. thank you again for your valuable feedback. King regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Puntomad1496 wrote a review Aug 2020
Sheffield, United Kingdom11 contributions
+1
We booked to stay for just one night in the family room (room 10) At first glance, the room looked nice and clean with plenty of tea and coffee facilities. But, after a closer inspection you could tell this room had seen better days. Some of the lights in the room didn't work, there were fingerprints all over the walls and parts of the bathroom needed some attention and when we went to make up the sofa bed there was rubbish underneath it. During our stay there were a number of false fire alarms which was fun getting our child out of bed for! Don't get me wrong,i know this is a budget hotel so i wasn't expecting perfection, but with a few tweaks it could have been a much more pleasant stay!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
MANZARA2011 wrote a review Aug 2020
Stranraer, United Kingdom5009 contributions259 helpful votes
+1
Overnight stop on way home to Stranraer and what a find. Not far from the M8 and not far from the M74 either . Fantastic location for those travelling on either one of these motorways . The place is basic but provides all you need for a good nights sleep and a wash and the Toby next door for somewhere to eat. So easy to find too. We have passed here many times but never stayed before but can’t say that again . Yes it’s a bit tired but think it’s been around a while , but it’s clean and the room we had was a family room with plenty of space . The staff in the Toby where you check in were so helpful and obliging and worked like trojans as it was busy... obviously very popular and that was nice to see as covid has had a big impact on the industry. We sat outside as we wanted to take advantage of the dry warm August evening . Yes we would stay again and highly recommend you give this place a try.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$71 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandNorth LanarkshireMotherwell
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Innkeeper's Lodge Glasgow East
What are some of the property amenities at Innkeeper's Lodge Glasgow East?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Innkeeper's Lodge Glasgow East?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Innkeeper's Lodge Glasgow East?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Is Innkeeper's Lodge Glasgow East accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.