We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lomond Hills Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lomond Hills Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

529 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lomond Hills Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 521: English reviews
Newport-on-Tay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

Well. Where do I start?? I can't thank the staff and the owners of this wedding venue enough!! From the day me and my husband went to visit Ronnie at the hotel last year to view for a reception venue, we've been completely taken care off!! Erica is a diamond, in fact all the staff are!!! All our guests have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerri O
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks a million Kerri O for the lovely and kind review after your wedding day here at The Lomond Hills Hotel. Yet another happy Bride and Groom...........................nothing else I can add except thank you for choosing here as the venue for the most important day of your lives. Best wishes for a long, healthy and happy life together from all...

Yorkshire
Reviewed 16 October 2015

Stumbled across this place (thank you, Trip Advisor) on a tour of Fife. Strangely large and lively hotel in a strangely sophisticated village in the Back of Beyond. Lots going on, friendly locals, good food. Never had pancakes with cream and blueberries for breakfast before! First night was in a poor room with the dimmest lightbulbs I've ever come across,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TonyScarborough
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Hello there TonyScarborough and many thanks for your humorous review which appealed to my sense of fun! Appreciated from a senior Tripadvisor reviewer...... I have taken on board the comment about poor lighting in the first room you occupied......bulbs changed, just to prove that we act on such things. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed our alternative breakfast offering...

Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2015 via mobile

This was our second visit this year to stay at this hotel. My husband and i have visited many big hotels, but we feel this hotel knocks spots off the big boys hotels, because the staff are so lovely , friendy and helpful. The owners Ronnie and Faye ,and all the staff could not do enough for us . We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline P
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Mr & Mrs Peachy. Wow, what a wonderful review!!! Many thanks indeed. I think your comments cover every aspect of what our guests desire when they come to stay with us here at The Lomond Hills Hotel. I have pinned a copy of your review on our staff notice board as a well earned pat on the back to...

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2015

I would highly recommend this hotel ~ we had the pleasure of staying here for a weekend as guests for Andy & Kerri's wedding and the staff from all departments were so friendly and helpful, amazing service,lovely rooms, nice atmosphere,great location and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay with you. Thank you so much

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maxine F
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Maxine F and thank you for your "wonderful" review!!! So happy to see that you enjoyed the wedding and many thanks to you for your very nice review! We all hope to see you back in Freuchie again soon. Ronnie.

fife
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Stayed for 2 nights as our daughter was having her weddind reception at the hotel. We had a great time.. rooms were a bit basic but spotlessly clean. The staff were great.. very friendly, polite and cheery.. breakfast was always served with a smile.nothing was ever too much bother for them, The wedding reception was brilliant..Ronnie was a fab master...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cockerpony
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you cockerpony for taking the time to post a kind review. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us for such a special event as your daughter's wedding. I agree with you that our wonderful staff are something special and have passed on your thanks to Erica especially after your kind comments. Also great...

bedfordshire
Reviewed 11 October 2015

A friend got married at Freuchie church and had reception here. Staff were on the ball very helpful polite. Could not Fault any aspect of our visit here. The friday evening proir to the wedding we were welcomed in even tho we were not staying at the hotel again staff done all they good to make us welcome.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayley S
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks hayleystimson for your lovely kind review. We are all so happy that you enjoyed what was a great wedding and also your stay with us here at The Lomond Hills Hotel. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes from all the team.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015

I stayed here with my family during the week of The Open (July 2015) and we had a great stay. Everything was just perfect but what made the stay so good was simply the level of hospitality that was offered by Ronnie and his team. They could not have been more welcoming and they were only too happy to meet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ross G
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed Ross G for your very welcome and kind review. It was a pleasure looking after you and your family during The Open at St Andrews. We're just sorry that we could not provide better weather. There are some (only a few!!) things that our super staff members can't arrange..................... No matter how hard we try!!!!...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2015 via mobile

I stayed here this week and I must say I was disappointed. I read some of the reviews prior to staying here. After staying I am some what confused, it seems when anyone raises negitive comments they are put down and many people post very positive comments about this place. The room I stayed in was terrible and the shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelgo_visit
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Travelgo_visit. I am very sorry to read that you did not find the bedroom you were allocated to your satisfaction and duly take on board some of your comments. Apologies are offered. The room is only ever used for single occupancy so I don't understand the "privacy" part of your review. Also, heating is controlled in the room and...

South Queensferry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2015

Stayed for the weekend as my husband and I were attending a wedding nearby. I am coeliac and require a gluten/wheat free diet which wasn't a problem at all in this hotel.There was even a box of gluten free biscuits in our room,a really nice gesture! Spacious and very clean room,lovely breakfasts and evening meal. Overall a smashing hotel...cheers Ronnie.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolanne W
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks Carolanne W for your very kind review after your recent stay with us. I'm very happy to read that you enjoyed your visit and that we were able to provide the special diet requirements for you. I hope that we can welcome you back again in the future. Ronnie.

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2015

Whilst staying in the area and looking for a place to have dinner we called at the Lomond Hills and booked a table for that night (Thursday; Friday was fully booked!). On arrival we were seated in the bar area and provided with menus and drinks. We were then taken through to the dining room. Our meals were excellent and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snorkelpony
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much snorkelpony for your kind five star rating after your recent visit for dinner....from a senior reviewer too, which means a lot. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the service from our wonderful staff as well as the food we serve. Hope to see you again soon. Ronnie.

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freuchie
4.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Balgeddie House Hotel
21.8 km away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 18 in St Andrews
1,091 reviews
4.3 km away
Balbirnie House
Balbirnie House
#1 of 1 in Markinch
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
478 reviews
29.9 km away
Keavil House Hotel Dunfermline
24.6 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lomond Hills Hotel, established in 1733, is an eighteenth-century converted coaching inn situated at the foot of the Lomond Hills. This comfortable inn is an ideal place to stay when visiting the Kingdom of Fife, whether on business or for pleasure. The Old Inn has been extended over the years and has a candle-lit restaurant serving a superb A La Carte Menu, comfortable lounges and 24 well-appointed en suite bedrooms with full facilities, including free WIFI access using high speed FIBRE. The public bar is always well stocked and offers over 50 malt whiskies and quality Real Ales. Several rooms are available for meetings, conferences, parties, weddings and other functions, from 10 to 200 guests. Call to make an appointment to view what we have on offer. The well-equipped leisure centre is free for guest use comprising of a heated indoor swimming pool, fully equipped gymnasium, sauna and jacuzzi. The village of Freuchie is set amidst rich farming country and is situated in the heart of Fife where it lies within a 25 mile radius of 52 golf courses including St Andrews. Only 25 miles from Edinburgh Airport and 17 miles from St Andrews. Main Line Railway Station (Ladybank) 2 miles. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lomond Hills Hotel

Address: High Street, Freuchie KY15 7EY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Freuchie
Price Range: ₹ 7,005 - ₹ 7,267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lomond Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lomond Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomond Hills Freuchie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lomond Hills Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 month ago
5 months ago
Stowmarket, United Kingdom

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Lomond Hills Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had room17 overlooking the car park, I would be happy to have this room again.”
 of 5 bubbles sandrabY4ES, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I only seen rooms 2 and 3, both were great!”
 of 5 bubbles 111nicolam, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Honey moon suite is very sunny with a nice view . well equipped gym and swimming pool with jacuzzi and sauna . A wee surprise .”
 of 5 bubbles carolsteel36, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I think when booking to ask staff what rooms you get the best views from .”
 of 5 bubbles lorrainec612, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you're not from the UK, get a tutorial on how the shower works.”
 of 5 bubbles 38philipp, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5