We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Smuggler's Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Smuggler\\
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

383 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 382: English reviews
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

It was my partners bday we booked into this beautiful Oldy worldly pub,staff were friendly,food was fantastic.The rooms were very simple and elegant old cottage style.Being January obviously a little cold ,we managed to park our van opposite over looking the sea.It took us a few minutes to get to the beach were we walked and heard bagpipes plays Randomly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kattdiment
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Eight of us were out walking along the coast going from Lulworth to Weymouth. At about the half way stage we decided to look for somewhere for a rest. We found this place. Just below a car park, the view of the place is really great. It has a stream running close by with lots of wooded bridges crossing it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John W
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed visiting us. We hope you can visit again soon.

towcester uk
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We always call in over new years when we're staying in Weymouth for the new years celebrations.. we always walk from Weymouth to Lulworth & get a taxi back. Osmington in around half way so we always call in for light refreshments. We shared a soup which tasted great & seemed home made. I wanted the steak baguette but they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamesharris8
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed with our 2 dogs for one night. When we arrived we were show to a lovely room great for dogs wooden floors and a very comfy bed for us. We had supper, unfortunately the menu was limited due to the Christmas period however OK. The staff were very friendly and helpful after supper we relaxed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shona c
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We live locally and walked from Chaldon to osmington and thought we'd treat ourselves to lunch. They advertised lamb kebabs with cucumber and yogurt with pitta and salad and it was awful. Kebabs weren't lumps of lamb as expected but kofte kebab things which obviously came out of a frozen pack. The sauce tasted nothing like yogurt and cucumber and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anna T
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for giving you cause to post this review on Trip Advisor. We’d really like the chance to look into this matter further. We’d be very grateful if you could copy and paste your review, together with the Public House name and date of visit and email us at: guestfeedback@hall-woodhouse.co.uk

Ilminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great Traditional English pub! Mulled cider and very good food. Can't wait to return during spring or summer, to enjoy even more and drink a beer outside. Perfect location for a sunset with a view on Portland.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Romain07081991
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came for Sunday dinner bit late so sold out gavin recommended the ribs from specials board they were first class and the bitter badger first great great ambiance had Xmas party 14/12 22 contractors food 5star as was the service and staff 😘😘

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased we delivered great hospitality and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Called in for a few pints and a game of canasta after walking along the coast path. Good choice of ales and plenty of room for the pram. No pressure to buy more even when we were playing cards - relaxed friendly atmosphere Will call again this week for food on our next walk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John E
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

Charminster
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Dropped in for coffee after a walk along the coastal path. Ended up buying some food as the menu looked so good. Not disappointed. Dog friendly and warm atmosphere. Roaring open fire and attentive staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

Newark, UK
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Had walked from Lulworth Cove on the coastal path & just looking for a snack. Attractively done out interior. Having been directed to a table & got all our walking layers removed & ruck sacks deposited, we then had to be moved as the table was reserved ! We only ordered a sandwich & chips to share - so they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank XS-Baggage
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for giving you cause to post this review on Trip Advisor. We’d really like the chance to look into this matter further. We’d be very grateful if you could copy and paste your review, together with the name of the Public House and date of visit and email us at: anthony@hall-woodhouse.co.uk

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osmington Mills
8.9 km away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 3 in West Lulworth
399 reviews
3.1 km away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
943 reviews
22.6 km away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
9.9 km away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
137 reviews
10.0 km away
The Heights Hotel
The Heights Hotel
#1 of 1 in Isle of Portland
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Smuggler's Inn

Address: Osmington, Osmington Mills, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Osmington Mills
Price Range: ₹ 6,987 - ₹ 8,795 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Smuggler's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Smuggler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smuggler`s Hotel Osmington Mills
Smugglers Hotel Osmington Mills
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Smuggler's Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Smuggler's Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“front of house if possible as you have a better view and no kitchen noise”
  • Room 5
  • Room 5
  • complimentary toiletries
  • Room 5
  • en-suite
 of 5 bubbles 618karent, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try the Tanglefoot beer.”
 of 5 bubbles Christian_Briddon, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“pre book table for indoor eating. this place gets very busy as it's very popular for walkers”
 of 5 bubbles barty1961, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Best to book, you will be amazed as to the number of tables outside!”
 of 5 bubbles NigelG35, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We didn't stay here, we just had lunch, and waited ages for it.”
 of 5 bubbles Lainey65, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay