We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Thurlestone Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

517 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Thurlestone Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 517: English reviews
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We spent two enjoyable nights at the Thurlestone Hotel with all of our family. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We made use of all the facilities over the 2 days and the indoor pool was very popular with the children. The service was a little slow in the restaurant but it was a very busy evening with lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NormanHaddon
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NormanHaddon Thank you for writing to TripAdvisor, I was very glad to hear that you and all your family enjoyed your recent stay. But I am sorry you don’t like the new paintings in the lounge – it is becoming apparent that this type of modern art is not to everybody’s taste! Thank you for mentioning it and rest...

Falmouth, Cornwall
Reviewed 31 August 2014

On the basis of a one night stay in June I must heartily commend the owners of the Thurlestone. They have had it in the family since the late 1800s, which usually is a recipe for complacency and slipping standards: on the contrary this is everything you want of a quality hotel in 2014. It looked to me as if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank booksearch22
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Booksearch22 Thank you for such a wonderful review! As you say, the hotel has been owned and run by the Grose family since 1896 and is the oldest family run hotel in the UK. We certainly try not to be complacent and we listen keenly to the comments made by our guests, whether during their stay and on forums...

London
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Expensive hotel. However I'm happy to pay the price if quality and service match. In this case it did not. Customer service very bland, no personality to be seen anywhere. Room furnishing is worn and dated. Would have been better off booking into a Travel Lodge, would have paid a fraction of the price or less! Won't be in a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RobstaLondon
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robstal I am very sorry that the Thurlestone Hotel did not come up to your expectations. We try very hard to provide an enjoyable experience for our guests and we clearly failed to do this in your case. Your comment about the customer service was particularly disheartening, especially since a large number of our TripAdvisor reviews make a point...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We have been staying at the hotel for a number of years and find the facilities good, the staff welcoming and the rooms improving. Like all large seaside hotels, peak occupancy is seasonal and so re-investment can only be gradual. The refurbishment of the bedrooms is certainly work-in-progress but those completed are very good indeed. Much improved bathrooms and attractive...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brian M
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brian M I am so pleased that you and your family continue to enjoy your holidays at the Thurlestone and I am delighted that the recent refurbishment meets with your approval. As you know, we have an ongoing programme of renovation and redecoration as we make every effort to keep up with the changing requirements of our guests. However...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We were staying here in a larger group and enjoyed it also for its suitability for children. The room was very comfortable and in good condition although not up to date compared with other more modern hotels. But this is not as important because you start feeling you are on vacation immediately and the staff do their best to help....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark39
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark39 Thank you very much for your review and I am delighted you and your group enjoyed your stay. I can’t understand how our umbrellas had somehow disappeared when you asked for some, but rest assured that I will be looking into it and making sure there are enough available in the future. Thank you for bringing it to...

Cambridge
Reviewed 18 August 2014

An excellent hotel with a great range of facilities. Bedrooms very comfortable and thoughtfully equipped. Very good food. Staff welcoming and helpful. I especially enjoyed the peace and quiet of the gardens during my stay this time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anne M I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. The gardens are a wonderful haven, aren’t they – I am glad you were able to relax there. Thank you so much for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you next time. Best wishes Julie Baugh, Hotel Director

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My mum and I went to Thurlestone hotel for a spa afternoon and had a fabulous time. We had lunch on the terrace first and the food was excellent. Really tasty, great service and great views. The menu isn't huge, but they have it on their website so you can check it before you go. We had salads and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WickedWanderers
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear WickedWanderers, I am so pleased you and your mother enjoyed your Spa Break. They are a very popular gift, especially with mothers and daughters, both getting to enjoy a relaxing and pampering day with ‘quality time’ together. Thank you for writing about your visit and we look forward to seeing you both again soon. Best wishes Julie Baugh, Hotel...

Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here for 5 days as a large family goup celebrating a golden Wedding anniversary. The rooms were superb, we had a suite for us and our 2 children. Views were excellent. the food was amazing too. Great facilities with Spa and indoor pool and a heated outdoor pool. Lovely pub attached to the hotel as well.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andy b
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear andy b, Thank you so much for your review. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed the Golden Wedding celebrations. I do hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the not too distant future. Best wishes Julie Baugh, Hotel Director

Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I visit this hotel at least 4 times a year often on my own as I like to visit Kingsbridge where I grew up. I always enjoy this hotel maybe preferring it off peak. I would like to say that I am always treated well when travelling on my own and would like to especially mention Luigi the restaurant manager...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 494Traveller
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 494Traveller, It was so nice of you to contact TripAdvisor after your recent stay. We readily welcome single travellers and I am very pleased to hear that you enjoy your regular visits. I do hope your comments will encourage any lone travellers who might be undecided and reassure them that they will receive a warm welcome here at the...

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Family of 3, stayed in July 2014 for 1 night. Fabulous room with balcony, and very tastefully decorated. The hotel is superb, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The indoor pool and spa facilties are exeptionally clean and beautifully designed. The outdoor pool was lovely, and the poolside bistro was good, the chef was very accomodating, and nothing was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucylexis
JulieBaugh, Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lucylexis I am so glad you and your family enjoyed your night’s stay. I do apologise for the lapse in service at the Village Inn. You are right to bring it to my attention and I have passed your comments on to the manager. I hope we will see you and your family again soon. Best wishes Julie Baugh,...

439 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (152)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (68)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (275)
Viewed
Amenities (61)
Viewed
Double Room (Changeable to Twin or Family) (37)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (11)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
Seaview Balcony Double or Family Room (40)
Viewed
Seaview Balcony Double Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurlestone
7.7 km away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
5.9 km away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
713 reviews
7.5 km away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
385 reviews
20.1 km away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
2.6 km away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Thurlestone Hotel

Address: Thurlestone | Nr Kingsbridge, Thurlestone TQ7 3NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Thurlestone
Price Range: ₹ 13,652 - ₹ 21,228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thurlestone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Thurlestone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thurlestone Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Thurlestone Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Balcony rooms offer stunning coastal views”
  • Room 166 balcony
 of 5 bubbles WheelyP, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sea View rooms are fab”
  • Sea View at Night
  • Hotel from Grounds
  • Sea View in the moring
 of 5 bubbles MaunConsulting, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with a balcony over looking the coast are a must!”
 of 5 bubbles saloncalledfish, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Sea view a must!”
 of 5 bubbles peterwO2241CB, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“we were not staying at the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 171JanetC, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5