We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Royal Beacon Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Beacon Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

286 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Royal Beacon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 284: English reviews
London
Reviewed 12 July 2015

Beautiful historic facade. Room (budget double i.e, no sea view) was immaculate and unscrupulously clean, white is an extremely unforgiving colour for bed linen and towels, both of which were spotless (trust me, I watch four in a bed!)! Staff were friendly and accommodating, allowing us not only to check in early (normally 3.00pm but we had arrived at 6.30am...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pollywally2412
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Polly Thank you for your feedback, via this very popular website. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay here and were pleased witheverything throughout your stay. Your comments are passed onto everyone at our team meetings, which is always pleasing when we receive positive comments. John E. Pye Hotel Manager

Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2015

Had stayed at this hotel before so was happy they had availability. Ate in the restaurant where on a previous visit the food was excellent and the staff friendly. Though staying two nights after our experience in the restaurant on the first night we were determined to eat elsewhere on the second night. The food served for one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Merle O
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Merle O I was sorry to read of the disappointment you experienced with the quality and service of your potatoes and drinks, please accept my apologies. As you will be able to see from all the other favourable comments below and from your previous experience this is not to our normal high standards. We are grateful for your feedback...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed two nights here, for a wedding which took place in the hotel. It's quite a traditional hotel, clean and well run. Good breakfast. The staff deserve a particular mention, really friendly and very professional. Heartily recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ivor_K_13
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ivor K It is always pleasing to read such nice comments after guests have stayed with us, so thank you for your kind words. As you have mentioned our hotel team work very hard to ensure all our celebration events run smoothly and are joyous occasions. I always pass on copies of the comments we receive, to our staff,...

Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed here on a business evening night out as a group of ten. We were made to feel very welcome and the service and rooms were brilliant. Location is grwat.Thanks for having us we will return. Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirstymiles
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kirsty We are extremely grateful that you have taken the time to provide some valuable feedback after staying at our hotel, as part of a group. As you will have experienced we have terrific group rates and our hotel has excellent dining and meeting room facilities. Thanks again and we look forward to your return. Yours faithfully John E....

Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2015

What can I say about this hotel,public rooms and food are very good and most of the staff are friendly and accomdating. Let's now talk about the rooms ours was a twin room at the front of hotel great view but the room was so tired and the carpet was appalling which is such a shame because the position of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barbara C We are grateful to receive your feedback, as you are a regular contributor to this very popular website, it was pleasing to read you enjoyed our food and the service of our staff. I am sorry that the age of our building gives way to creaky floors and hopefully our next upgrading will include new carpets. It...

Sutton Coldfield
Reviewed 26 June 2015

We had a pleasant stay in the Royal Beacon Hotel, Exmouth for a three day break. Room 111 on 1st floor had great views over the Estuary with large windows. The evening meals were good in main Restaurant. See notes below. Some TLC required we felt in several places such as in the room the shower cable is too short...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gary S
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Saunders Many thanks for taking the time to provide some valuable comments after your recent short break, at our hotel. We're delighted that, overall, you have had an enjoyable time. Please be assured that we shall use these remarks as part of our staff meetings, thus assisting in staff development and improving of our standards. We are fortunate...

Somerset
Reviewed 20 June 2015

We arrived with no booking at 10.15pm on 15 June and the night manager was most helpful in finding us a room..This was very comfortable , well lit and it had all the modern conveniences that one might expect. Breakfast was excellent with very good service. All staff were most helpful and quickly responded to a concern we had .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SomersetBustle
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Somerset Bustle Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at our hotel. We were delighted to read that our Night Manager provided you with excellent service. All comments we receive are shared with our staff, as this will help us monitor our standards. Thanks again. Yours sincerely John E. Pye Hotel Manager

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2015 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend Stephen booked here for a week in devon ! And what a little gem we found ! I am very impressed with the cleanliness, location of the hotel and customer service from the staff.... Anything we asked for they were more than happy to accommodate us! I even rang for some fresh milk around 10pm and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky H
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Becky H We were very pleased to receive your positive feedback after your recent stay at our hotel. It's always nice to hear when when our guests have enjoyed our facilities, meals and the friendly service by our staff. Thank you and we hope you return again in the not too distant future. Yours sincerely John E. Pye Hotel...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2015

I did stayed here few times during my business trips with my friends. Fantastic sea view and good location with lovely quality service. very good quality breakfast and drink.easy to walk down to sea side and get in the Exmouth centre ,located top of the prime point of the city.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nigel Necdet K
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Necdet K. Thank you for leaving a review on this popular website. We were delighted to read of your enjoyment, everything you have said is a very accurate description of both our location and service levels. Yours sincerely John E. Pye Hotel Manager

Tiverton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 May 2015

We had a get together as ny sister was over from Canada and staying at the hotel, the meals were good and good menu to pick from and holt the table for us as one couple were held up come down from the Lake District service was excellent

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PatrickP383
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Patrick We were delighted to read about your enjoyable stay with us. It is pleasing to be able to pass on your complimentary remarks to our team here, as we use these remarks to monitor our standards. Thanks again for using this popular website to provide valuable feedback. Yours sincerely John E. Pye Hotel Manager

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
0.1 km away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
1.2 km away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.5 km away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.4 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#6 of 10 in Exmouth
162 reviews
13.6 km away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel is situated in a quiet, elevated position on the Exmouth's finest Regency terrace, once home to Lady Nelson and Lady Byron. Visitors are provided with breathtaking views over well-tended gardens of the Devon coastline; from the River Exe to Lyme Bay and the red cliffs of Orcombe Point. For over two centuries, this elegant hotel has offered guests a tradition of genuine hospitality - a tradition that has continued in its present role as Exmouth's finest hotel. Whether you are a business traveller or staying just for pleasure, the Royal Beacon Hotel will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Beacon Hotel

Address: The Beacon, Exmouth EX8 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Price Range: ₹ 4,920 - ₹ 8,839 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Beacon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Beacon Exmouth
Royal Beacon Hotel Devon/Exmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Beacon Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Langley, Buckinghamshire
1 month ago
Toronto
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Beacon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A seaward facing room is the best, but I had a rear facing room overlooking the Estuary which was still pretty good.”
 of 5 bubbles 956stephenj, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 304 is at the rear of the build but has a great estuary view”
 of 5 bubbles MrsA28, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Probably best not to book a budget room if you are looking to impress or relax in comfort. Upper rooms at the front would have a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles D8390LBpeterh, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“sea view are the best but in need of attention”
 of 5 bubbles Oyster545, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you are staying for more than a couple of nights go for the main building, front facing rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles N0rahB, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5