We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay Grand Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Bay Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

438 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 438: English reviews
Start your review of Bay Grand Hotel
 Click to rate
Chatham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel itself is lovely, comfortable and clean, we paid extra for the room with a sea view, rather disappointed with the bathroom , i am a big lad and was unable to use the shower as i could not shut the door as it was too small, and the water pressure was bad other than the shower we could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peter f
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that you had a problem with the size of the shower. Just to let you know for the future we do have rooms with double size showers which one can ask about on booking. However I am pleased that overall you found the break to be good...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a 5 day trip with shearings at the end of february. As usual with shearings, excellent value for money. The hotel is very clean and comfortable, with very helpful and pleasant staff. We were in room 74, at the back, but view not too bad (next doors cat & a lovely garden!). Again, with shearings, you don't spend a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moira g
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Pleased to see that you were happy with your break and felt it good value for money. Generally speaking all the hotels in the group are in excellent locations and give a good value for money base in which to relax and see the surrounding areas. Many...

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room number was 54,which had a sea view, the room was spacious, very clean,and the decor was good,the staff was very efficient & helpful,the dining room was well equipped, the choice at breakfast was perfect, everything you could want, the evening meal also had good choice. All the staff had time for you, also we were given drinks vouchers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James M
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

I am pleased that you enjoyed your break with us. 54 is a lovely large superior room with splendid views from the bay window of the sea, estuary and across to Dawlish warren, it certainly is worth the extra cost. Perhaps we will welcome you back sometime in the future, I certainly hope so ! Regards Kenny sharp

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My hubby and İ have just returned from a 4 day break with Shearings at The Grand Hotel Exmouth. Lovely hotel , clean and comfortable, modern bathrooms.The staff were great.The breafast was buffet style hot varied and plentiful so just about perfect. Evening meal was varied and well cooked but not as large as breakfast. Entertainment was very good especially...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank romarin50
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for the very positive review of your stay with us. I am happy to see that you seemed to enjoy every aspect of your break, this is great for us to hear as it shows that all the hard work and effort put in by the staff has been worth it. I hope that we can welcome you...

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came here on a Shearings 5 day trip. Got an updated room that needed a bit of finishing off, nowhere to put towels or toiletries in bathroom. Had to sit down to use hairdryer as mirror low down over dressing table. But room at back and very quiet entertainment every night extremely hard working staff giving excellent service. Food acceptable...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank izzyw6
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are still finishing little things in some of the refurbished rooms but all will be completed very soon. Always good to receive feedback from guests as this helps enormously. I am pleased that the staff gave you excellent service, as you say they do work extremely hard. We do try our best to give...

Surrey
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We have just returned from a weekend away with Shearings Coaches to the Grand Hotel Exmouth. From the moment the enthusiastic Manager stepped on board the coach to advise us of the arrangements for our stay I could tell this was going to be one enjoyable break. I was certainly not wrong. We collected our key and found our seaview...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JP1Surrey
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

It is always great to see a 5* review so I thank you for taking the time to write it. I am pleased to see that we came up to your expectations especially as you have always been satisfied with your visits to other shearings hotels. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the near future Kind...

Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Full review. **Room 79** Twin beds which were so uncomfortable, and needed to be updated. The Kettle just carried on boiling and the handle was so hot you needed a sock to hold it. The View was rubbish.. a fan came on every 20 mins or so when had the window open. The room was clean but really needed updated....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shelly192004
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a detailed review of you stay. I shall investigate some of the comments regarding your accommodation but thank you for bringing them to our attention. We have just had 12 units refurbished as we do every year and very soon they will all have been completed and the whole process will then...

Fenton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We have just got back from our weekend break at the Grand Hotel all l can say is it was GRAND. We had a really lovely time. Hotel was warm and welcoming. The staff all very helpful and very efficient. The next time we go with Shearings we shall go to the services where they pick up. That was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vivienbrindley
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your AMAZING review, it is very much appreciated when guests take the time to tell us what a fantastic time they have had whilst staying with us. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Kenny sharp

BRADFORD ENGLAND
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Visited on three night trip with National Holidays in February.The hotel is right on the seafront with some rooms with very good views but my room was at the back overlooking the street to the rear. the hotel is very clean and my room was spotless but the bathroom was on the very small size. When having a shower not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EXGRANGE
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for writing a review of your stay with us. I do fully agree with you in that if possible it is always worth paying the extra for a sea view especially in this hotel, however we do have wonderful views from all our lounges and the gardens at the front. I am pleased that you found the hotel...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017

For what I paid for a five-day break this was definitely a brilliant deal. I wasn't looking for 5 star service for my budget deal. The standard room we were in was just as expected and has all the necessities we needed. The breakfast was more than we anticipated - full of selection from fruit to hot full English breakfast....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank L4nyp
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. So nice to hear you had a great time and found your holiday excellent value for money. I will pass on your kind comments to the rest of the team, and we hope to see you in the not so distant future.

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.2 km away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
1.6 km away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.4 km away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#7 of 10 in Exmouth
307 reviews
0.0 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#6 of 10 in Exmouth
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bay Grand Hotel enjoys a superb position on the seafront opposite Golden Sands Beach. The hotel benefits from fantastic views across the Exe Estuary towards Dawlish Warren. The Hotel is set in a Crescent of elegant houses - the first crescent of its kind to be built in Devon with every house facing the sea. Panoramic views across Lyme Bay and the estuary can be seen from all front facing rooms along with Drakes Bar, lounges and our relaxing gardens. The Regency entertainment suite and bar provide the perfect place to unwind. Exmouth is the gateway to the World Heritage Jurassic Coast stretching as far as Dorset and is renowned for its red cliffs and sand dunes. An ideal resort to explore the rest of Devon, it also boasts an old fashioned promenade and stunning Georgian architecture. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Grand Hotel

Address: 5 Morton Crescent, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Price Range: ₹ 2,448 - ₹ 7,345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Grand Hotel Devon/Exmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Grand Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Aylesbury, United Kingdom

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 51 sea view”
 of 5 bubbles 984peterf, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Premium Room / Sea View Number 54.2nd Floor”
 of 5 bubbles R4047JKjamesm, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We certainly found the seaview room was well worth the additional cost.”
 of 5 bubbles JP1Surrey, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room didn't have a view but it didn't matter .”
 of 5 bubbles vivienbrindley, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room with a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles EXGRANGE, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5