We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bay Grand Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Bay Grand Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

426 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 426: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed December just before xmas 2016 ,the hotel is on seafront but at this time of year the area is deadand I wouldn't go back to exmouth ..the hotel evening entertainment was good bingo quiz and singer, lounge comfortable but no heating on so very cold, the breakfast was good and plenty of choice, the evening meal was ok...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda O
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am happy that you found the break good value, and also the staff efficient and friendly. I will look into a couple of the comments which you raised, all comments are useful in helping us improve the service we give our guests. kind Regards Kenny sharp

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Food good but breakfast could be warmer but price paid great if you want 5 star pay for it staff great manager top notch some people are never happy and moan about everything we had one very nasty man nasty to staff not needed

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 771jenwal
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your break with us and I agree that for the prices charged these breaks are excellent value for money. Hope to see you again. Kind regards Kenny sharp

Repton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Not my usual holiday but a coach trip with 4 friends. Good basic food, excellent staff. Entertainment could be improved. Good base to explore the area. Draught through newly fitted double glazing. We were given a radiator which was a pain in the smallish room. Action promised, but no repair done. Also low pressure on shower was a nuisance. Water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolina359
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I will investigate if we have not already done so the problem you encountered with the new window. We hope that you will return for another stay with us as many others do. Regards Kenny sharp

Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a fantastic holiday here, one of the best ever. We were put in a sea view room, which was absolutely perfect, no complaints whatsoever. The food was lovely and tasty and meant at lunchtimes all we needed was coffee and cake in the lovely town of exmouth. Entertainment was exactly as expected, sometimes good sometimes awful but entertaining...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sammiejj34
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review all feedback is welcome, it is really pleasing when we get such a fantastic review like yours, it gives the team a terrific boost. Thank you once again hope to see you again soon.

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On arrival I was given room 75, unfortunately it smelt as if a chain smoker had occupied the room previously so I could not possibly have remained . The staff being unaware of the state of the room was rather disturbing given the fire risk. Surely the smoke alarm should have alerted them, or even the cleaning staff! However, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

I do apologise for the fact that the first room allocated to you smelt of smoke, however I am pleased to see that you were promptly moved to another room. We do have guests who ignore the rules, and some do continue to smoke in the rooms, We make every effort to ensure they don't smoke in their rooms, the...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The staff at the hotel are lovely and could not have been better ... The food was fair and always well cooked and presented...our stay was awesome and the best break we have been on... full value for money and got more than expected 😀

 Report
Helpful?
Thank baron28
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Its great to read that this was your best trip yet, this really gives the hotel team a big boost, We do try to give all our guests a great experience when staying with us here at the Grand. From myself and the Team have a great Christmas and a very prosperous New Year.

Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I were on a 5 day midweek break with Shearings, and everything went swimmingly well. Good choice of food at dinner and breakfast, excellent waiting staff, very efficient and patient bar staff. The icing on the cake was the four drinks vouchers a day, a real bonus! The room though smallish, was adequate, particularly as we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnnyno3
grandhotelexmouth, Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your honest and lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and will look forward to welcoming you back sometime. Merry Christmas and happy New Year David Bourne

Ripon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel recently with a group of people (not on a coach tour). I have mobility problems and had requested a room with a walk- in shower. Unfortunately, this was not provided and we were given a room with a very small bathroom, containing a bath with a shower over it, which I was unable to use,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SueMMarshall
grandhotelexmouth, Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

I feel it is rather unfair to give a 1 star rating as this does not give a true reflection of the situation. If people make specific requests; such as walk in shower due to mobility, we will try our very best to allocate a room with a walk in shower. As this is a request we can not guarantee...

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

We have just returned from a 4 day holiday to this hotel in a party of 8. We all had a good time apart from the driver to the resort called Tony. He was constantly complaining about everyone not putting their seat belts on saying how many times do I have to tell you. He complained because no one wanted...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barbara-harding1
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The wearing of seat belts on coaches is a legal requirement, and is for the safety of our guests. I am sorry if the driver was a little over zealous but he was only doing what he is required to do by law. We do offer very good value for the monies paid and we...

blackburn
Reviewed 11 December 2016

We arrived with shearings on a 5 day mon to fri mid week plus deal costing 378 including front seats and 4 free drinks each every night. Room 5 on the ground floor has a strange layout Quite a large room clean and tidy spotless bedding carpets etc. However only a small window in one corner with no view except...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gill w
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. I am pleased you found our housekeeping to be of a good standard and I will deal with the bathroom comments which you raised. We do have some lovely staff here who generally try to ensure guests receive a warm welcome and have an enjoyable break. I will pass on your kind comments regarding the...

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.2 km away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
1.6 km away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.4 km away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#7 of 10 in Exmouth
285 reviews
0.0 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#6 of 10 in Exmouth
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bay Grand Hotel enjoys a superb position on the seafront opposite Golden Sands Beach. The hotel benefits from fantastic views across the Exe Estuary towards Dawlish Warren. The Hotel is set in a Crescent of elegant houses - the first crescent of its kind to be built in Devon with every house facing the sea. Panoramic views across Lyme Bay and the estuary can be seen from all front facing rooms along with Drakes Bar, lounges and our relaxing gardens. The Regency entertainment suite and bar provide the perfect place to unwind. Exmouth is the gateway to the World Heritage Jurassic Coast stretching as far as Dorset and is renowned for its red cliffs and sand dunes. An ideal resort to explore the rest of Devon, it also boasts an old fashioned promenade and stunning Georgian architecture. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Grand Hotel

Address: 5 Morton Crescent, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Price Range: ₹ 2,494 - ₹ 7,483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Grand Hotel Devon/Exmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Grand Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Aylesbury, United Kingdom

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front sea view”
 of 5 bubbles 771jenwal, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Sea view at front of hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Sammiejj34, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't worry about getting a sea view you're never long enough in your room to justify the extra charge.”
 of 5 bubbles johnnyno3, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't go if you have mobility problems.”
 of 5 bubbles SueMMarshall, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“front room is always best but others are fine but you must ask for low floor or near lift if you have mobility problems”
 of 5 bubbles jessie06, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay