We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay Grand Hotel

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Bay Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

442 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 442: English reviews
Start your review of Bay Grand Hotel
 Click to rate
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed on a Shearings weekend break. I booked a sea view single room which was a reasonable size and clean. The wind was very noisy through the gap in the edge of the window but it was fixed for me very quickly. The bed seemed to be lopsided and i felt that i was going to roll out of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eileen b
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We've been to quite a few Bay Hotels now and we know just what to expect.The public areas of the hotel were clean and comfortable with great views of the estuary. Our room (73) was on the back of the hotel with quite an open view of the town. It was small, but with enough storage space for our clothes,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bow-legs
grandhotelexmouth, Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad to hear the hotel clean and comfortable and had a good weekend. We shall take on board your comments regarding the breakfast. Regards David Bourne Assistant Manager

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel clean & staff very friendly & efficient. Rooms ok but ensuite very small. Toilet so close to wall that toilet roll holder dug into arm & ended up with bruises all down arm!! Went with Shearings, always good value. 4 free drinks per day with quiz,bingo & entertainment every evening. Hotel on front & close to town centre. Breakfasts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill137
grandhotelexmouth, Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your nice review. Regards David Bourne Assistant Manager

Redruth
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room 63 in my opinion really could have done with privacy glass in the bottom half of the new window. Yes room and bathroom is small . Food was Ok , some very lean bacon ..., staff all good . £30 a night dinner B and B good value... enough said .... and we both had 4 free drinks Saturday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
grandhotelexmouth, Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We shall take on board your comment regarding the window. We are glad you found the holiday good value. Regards David Bourne Assistant Manager

Chatham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

The hotel itself is lovely, comfortable and clean, we paid extra for the room with a sea view, rather disappointed with the bathroom , i am a big lad and was unable to use the shower as i could not shut the door as it was too small, and the water pressure was bad other than the shower we could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank peter f
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that you had a problem with the size of the shower. Just to let you know for the future we do have rooms with double size showers which one can ask about on booking. However I am pleased that overall you found the break to be good...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Had a 5 day trip with shearings at the end of february. As usual with shearings, excellent value for money. The hotel is very clean and comfortable, with very helpful and pleasant staff. We were in room 74, at the back, but view not too bad (next doors cat & a lovely garden!). Again, with shearings, you don't spend a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moira g
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Pleased to see that you were happy with your break and felt it good value for money. Generally speaking all the hotels in the group are in excellent locations and give a good value for money base in which to relax and see the surrounding areas. Many...

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017

The room number was 54,which had a sea view, the room was spacious, very clean,and the decor was good,the staff was very efficient & helpful,the dining room was well equipped, the choice at breakfast was perfect, everything you could want, the evening meal also had good choice. All the staff had time for you, also we were given drinks vouchers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James M
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

I am pleased that you enjoyed your break with us. 54 is a lovely large superior room with splendid views from the bay window of the sea, estuary and across to Dawlish warren, it certainly is worth the extra cost. Perhaps we will welcome you back sometime in the future, I certainly hope so ! Regards Kenny sharp

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

My hubby and İ have just returned from a 4 day break with Shearings at The Grand Hotel Exmouth. Lovely hotel , clean and comfortable, modern bathrooms.The staff were great.The breafast was buffet style hot varied and plentiful so just about perfect. Evening meal was varied and well cooked but not as large as breakfast. Entertainment was very good especially...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank romarin50
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for the very positive review of your stay with us. I am happy to see that you seemed to enjoy every aspect of your break, this is great for us to hear as it shows that all the hard work and effort put in by the staff has been worth it. I hope that we can welcome you...

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Came here on a Shearings 5 day trip. Got an updated room that needed a bit of finishing off, nowhere to put towels or toiletries in bathroom. Had to sit down to use hairdryer as mirror low down over dressing table. But room at back and very quiet entertainment every night extremely hard working staff giving excellent service. Food acceptable...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank izzyw6
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are still finishing little things in some of the refurbished rooms but all will be completed very soon. Always good to receive feedback from guests as this helps enormously. I am pleased that the staff gave you excellent service, as you say they do work extremely hard. We do try our best to give...

Surrey
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We have just returned from a weekend away with Shearings Coaches to the Grand Hotel Exmouth. From the moment the enthusiastic Manager stepped on board the coach to advise us of the arrangements for our stay I could tell this was going to be one enjoyable break. I was certainly not wrong. We collected our key and found our seaview...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank JP1Surrey
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

It is always great to see a 5* review so I thank you for taking the time to write it. I am pleased to see that we came up to your expectations especially as you have always been satisfied with your visits to other shearings hotels. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the near future Kind...

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.2 km away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
1.6 km away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#4 of 11 in Exmouth
329 reviews
0.1 km away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.0 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#8 of 11 in Exmouth
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bay Grand Hotel enjoys a superb position on the seafront opposite Golden Sands Beach. The hotel benefits from fantastic views across the Exe Estuary towards Dawlish Warren. The Hotel is set in a Crescent of elegant houses - the first crescent of its kind to be built in Devon with every house facing the sea. Panoramic views across Lyme Bay and the estuary can be seen from all front facing rooms along with Drakes Bar, lounges and our relaxing gardens. The Regency entertainment suite and bar provide the perfect place to unwind. Exmouth is the gateway to the World Heritage Jurassic Coast stretching as far as Dorset and is renowned for its red cliffs and sand dunes. An ideal resort to explore the rest of Devon, it also boasts an old fashioned promenade and stunning Georgian architecture. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Grand Hotel

Address: 5 Morton Crescent, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Price Range: ₹ 4,648 - ₹ 7,220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Grand Hotel Devon/Exmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Grand Hotel staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Aylesbury, United Kingdom

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2nd floor sea view was quiet”
eileenb196, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Very quiet hotel”
Gill137, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 51 sea view”
984peterf, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Premium Room / Sea View Number 54.2nd Floor”
R4047JKjamesm, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We certainly found the seaview room was well worth the additional cost.”
JP1Surrey, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5