We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Hunters Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Hunters Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

386 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Hunters Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 383: English reviews
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2015

We always come here when we visit Exmoor. After a nice walk to Heddons Mouth with the dogs we come and have lunch here. In chilly weather you can go indoors for home made soup and crusty bread or on a hot day sit outside and enjoy the peace and quiet. You won't be disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boatjude
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of the Hunters Inn. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the walk down to Heddon's Mouth and returned to sample one of our lunches. As you say, on sunny days it is lovely to be able to sit outside and soak in the peace and quiet whilst on chillier days enjoy the new...

Grassington, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2015

Started fine as staff was very accommodating, we called to warn we'd be late for our meal and our friends didn't turn up at all as they had broken down on route. We ordered a minute steak and main of the day which took a good 40 minutes to arrive. Steak was hot and ok but chips were cold and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hanne B
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Hunters Inn. We apologise that your experience was not a good one. Unfortunately with large groups of over 20 it can be very difficult when half the party arrive close to kitchen closing time on an already extremely busy day. However we take on board your comments which have been passed on to...

Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2015

a bit of a booking mix up initially ,but all sorted in a friendly and easy way ! An excellent family reunion weekend commemorating our parents honeymoon in 1945 ! Very friendly and helpful staff ,very comfortable beds, absolutely beautiful gardens and amazing walks all round . A very special place , totally recommended , and great own brewed beers...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mike b
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I have passed on your comments to the staff who were extremely concerned to make sure that your stay was memorable for all the right reasons! The weekend that you stayed with us was extraordinarily busy, the weather amazing and the Hunters Inn did look at its best. We were so pleased to be...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2015

Last stayed at Hunters Inn approx 7 years ago with my Husband. This week I was with my sister and apart from refurbishment, it was exactly as I remember. The staff and Dave, the owner, were yet again extremely accommodating, and very helpful. Felt like home from home. Food was gorgeous, and plentiful. Will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ched Q
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

Still here after all these years! Thank you for posting such a kind review of the Hunters Inn and the staff. Its good to know that you want to come back and hope you will repeat this soon. The recent refurbishment has opened up the ground floor and we have had very positive feedback from hotel customers and locals alike....

Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2015 via mobile

We came upon The Hunters Inn whilst visiting the Heddon Valley and decided to book dinner the following evening. We weren't disappointed. The whole experience was excellent from the quality of the food to the friendly and helpful staff. I can recommend the sharing starter of the roasted camembert cheese. Nothing was rushed and the whole evening was enhanced by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andyandkaths
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

When people stumble across the Hunters Inn they are amazed to find a Swiss style building set in such a glorious location - just the experience that you had. Thank you for the lovely comments that you made about the quality of the food and service. We do try to ensure that customers are made really welcome and have a...

Bournemouth
Reviewed 17 May 2015

We visited last week, walked or dogs at nearby Heddons Mouth. The weather was really hot and sunny and we sat down at the front of the pub, we had a couple of sharing platters between us, and it was very nice. I thought the food was very reasonably priced and was of a good quality, I would certainly eat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Hunters Inn. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the food, the location and the price! The weather was particularly kind on the day that you visited but even on less clement days the Hunters looks stunning at this time of year. We hope that you will be able to return at some...

Devon
Reviewed 4 May 2015

Large pub, food average. Slow service and inadequate staffing. Avoid the beefburger, it was truly awful. Complaint not taken seriously. Nice situation in the valley with lovely walks all around. Be prepared for a long wait at busy times though. Would suggest that the frying oil is changed more frequently!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fitzies48
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

We welcome your comments about your experience at the Hunters Inn and we apologise that you experienced a long wait for your food. I have fed back your comments as we always want to improve our service. As you say, the gardens are looking amazing at this time of year and are a great place for children to play and...

Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2015

My partner and me went to a wedding reception and oh what a beautiful place set in the Heddon valley on Exmoor.The narrow road leads down to the most amazing setting to this swiss cottage style building.The staff were friendly and laid back.A fantastic choice off real ales at very reasonable prices.Inside every thing has been updated and the toilets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vinny191252
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

The weekend of the wedding was truly lovely - the bride and groom looked radiant and everyone had a wonderful time. The weather was overcast but no-one seemed to notice. So thank you for taking the time to post a review which we do appreciate. Hopefully we will see you again in the near future.

Farnborough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 April 2015

Staying nearby we persuaded friends to eat here on Saturday 18th as we'd had good food here previously. When we arrived, having booked, we were ignored. Even when you're busy it takes nothing to say we'll be with you in a minute. It then took ages to get menus, the waiter was helpful, checking items for us. I ordered mussels,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jacqui G
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take very seriously your comments and can only apologise for the poor service that you experienced. As you inferred in your review this is not our usual standard and we will undertake to improve in the areas that you highlighted.

Reviewed 26 April 2015 via mobile

Had a pretty poor experience at the hunters inn on Saturday 18th of April at around 2:00pm after a drive up from dorset we decided to stop off at the inn, first impressions were good, beautiful location but that's all I could say. We went to the bar to see if they were still serving food, yes until 3pm so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christophiso
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you feel that you had a poor experience at the Hunters Inn. Your complaint is centred around the issue of a cheese Panini which you ordered at the bar. You were disappointed that the Panini was not hot and therefore re-ordered. It has to be pointed out that the Hunters Inn does not and never...

104 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinhoe
6.9 km away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
422 reviews
33.9 km away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
616 reviews
5.9 km away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
860 reviews
6.9 km away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
219 reviews
9.3 km away
Blue Ball Inn
Blue Ball Inn
#1 of 2 in Countisbury
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hunters Inn pub is blessed with the most magical setting, tucked at the bottom of the exquisitely beautiful Heddon Valley on Exmoor. The narrow road from the moor descends beneath a canopy of ancient trees. Sun-dappled leaves glitter and gleam. The river runs past the inn and a short walk takes you to the beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hunters Inn

Address: Heddon Valley, Martinhoe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Martinhoe
Price Range: ₹ 5,875 - ₹ 11,583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Hunters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hunters` Hotel Exmoor National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Hunters Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No lift, rooms on 4 upper floors, not suitable for disabled, ask for a large room with a bath and shower, room 3 recommended”
  • Four poster bed, room 3
  • my bathroom, the bath was to the side of the toilet, quite a large room, bedroom 3
  • The view from my room
 of 5 bubbles Serendipity2210, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The Sunflower Lodge”
 of 5 bubbles jimmyp88, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Lovely quiet location”
 of 5 bubbles manda147, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try to get there in daylight, it's a challenging drive in the dark.”
 of 5 bubbles Cjg59, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 8. East facing up the valley.”
 of 5 bubbles 883alanr, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay