We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Exmoor White Horse Inn

Agoda.comUS$ 164*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 205*
US$ 164*
Great Deal
US$ 205*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Exmoor White Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

440 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 436: English reviews
Start your review of Exmoor White Horse Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for the first time on a two day trip to Exmoor. Absolutely brilliant time added to hugely by the stay at The White Horse. Friendly staff in a traditional English hotel. Room was very clean with nice view over the bridge in the village, very quiet as the village is so quiet. Traditional English breakfast. We will be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hereward T
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much and we really look forward to welcoming you back in te not too distant future!

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided to stop at the pretty village of Exford, stopping at the White Horse Inn for lunch. It was a beautiful day to sit outside by the river. The lunch was good with real ales available. Before leaving I used the toilets it was quite obvious nobody was keeping a check on things, no toilet paper and one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JSS49
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies re the toilets, it would appear that someone had removed the "Out of Order" sign off the door of the one broken toilet and we should have been regularly checking to make sure everything as ok, but as we are sure you can appreciate, we had been extremely busy and this check had unfortunately been delayed....

Surrey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The place looks very inviting - inside and out. We were a group of 14 travellers booked in for breakfast only. This was a help yourself affair although the staff did provide the teas and coffees and toast. There was plenty of choice of cereals and fresh fruit and juices. Fried eggs, scrambled eggs(unfortunately overcooked and more like a solid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oldbiddySurrey
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies about the scrambled eggs, we would happily have cooked you fresh if we had been made aware at the time. We do not like the thought of anyone leaving here dissatisfied in any way but were pleased to read that the rest lived up to your expectations.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed 7 nights in April and could not have been better. Staff could not do enough for you, they even arranged for no rain during our stay ! We booked half board in a superior double room. Large room, sofa, armchair and plenty of storage space. Well decorated and cleaned, could not fault it. Huge breakfast choice and well cooked....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! And you will be pleased to know that we have ensured that there has still been no rain! We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Bideford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited this Inn for the first time today and was very impressed. Lovely ambience good seating and excellent service. The food was very well presented and served quickly even though it was a busy lunchtime as it was a bank holiday. We will be back next time to stay and try an evening meal...very impressed

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JennyBideford
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

The Exmoor White Horse and Exmoor Hospitality go hand in hand and we place great importance on ensuring that all our visitors receive high quality in both food and hospitality. We hope to see you again in the near future

Orpington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our fourth visit in about 10 years. Lovely location for exploring Exmoor and the hotel's recommended car journeys took us to places we hadn't visited before. Comfortable accommodation, friendly staff and the place has a general buzz about it. Food in the main restaurant a bit variable - some dishes very good, others less so. Excellent breakfasts.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petergarrett
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

The amount of returning guests we welcome back on a regular basis is something we truly pride ourselves on and we hope that we have the chance to thank you personally on your next visit!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our second visit to Exmoor White Horse. Place still as nice as before same staff and surprising remember us both. Made our dog Tilley feel welcome on her first visit.. Room 15 very clean and tidy and comfortable. Staff very helpful. Nothing was to much for them. Food still as good as before. Good selection on both Bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne B
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

We really value our returning guests and thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Hopefully visit No.3 will not be too far away!

London
Reviewed 18 April 2017

There is so much to explore on Exmoor whether on foot, horseback, cycle or car. Either way, you will need somewhere central to bed down for the night and get some proper country food and drink. Where better than the White Horse, Exford, a traditional Coaching Inn complete with stables and somewhere for the Lycra mob to stash their cycles....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boarder_12
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much and we hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to The Exmoor White Horse Inn in the future

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Just had a short break in beautiful Exmoor. We stopped for a drink and lunch at the White Horse Inn. The location is a nice place to sit and have a drink. Our jacket potatoes were reheated, luke warm and soggy. The tuna was lost in a sea of mayo and vinegar, totally inedible. The salad consisted of a tomato...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank londongirl60
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Please accept our sincere apologies, your experience is definitely not the norm and we only wish you had raised the issue with a member of staff .Unfortunately we had a temporary relief chef covering some staff absence but rest assured he has now left us and normal service has resumed - quality food, excellent value for money and true Exmoor...

Reviewed 10 April 2017

We enjoyed our stay This is a Lovely place .Our room was comfortable and spacious, with very nice decor, it was clean and tidy throughout .the staff are very friendly and it's a very picturesque place. We enjoyed morning coffee Overlooking the stream enjoying the peace and quiet . we did not dine here in the evening although we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Talia121
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for the delay in replying to your review, we truly appreciate you taking the time to leave it and thank you for all your kind comments, it always please both management and staff to hear that all our hard work has been appreciated. Thank you again

188 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (105)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (27)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exford
14.9 km away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
665 reviews
22.7 km away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
541 reviews
8.0 km away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 km away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
317 reviews
9.0 km away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
155 reviews
17.1 km away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled amidst the scenic beauty of Exmoor National Park, this family run, historic coaching Inn offers luxury accommodation, free Wi-Fi, free parking, and is just 10 miles from both Minehead and the West Somerset and North Devon Coast. Dating back to the 16th Century, the Exmoor White Horse Inn is wreathed in Virginia Creeper ivy and sits majestically by a bridge over the River Exe. Oozing with rustic charm, the Inn celebrates the wonders of its historic past whilst providing a contemporary and sophisticated accommodation experience. Classic period features blend seamlessly with sumptuous soft furnishings and chic interiors to form an idyllic welcoming atmosphere in this spectacular part of the country. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Exmoor White Horse Inn

Address: Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Price Range: ₹ 9,237 - ₹ 13,604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Exmoor White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Exmoor White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor White Horse Hotel Exford
Exmoor White Horse Exford
Exmoor White Horse Inn Exford, Exmoor National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Exmoor White Horse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't think there are any bad rooms here!!”
HerewardT_13, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Can't advise as we only used restaurant”
oldbiddySurrey, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Choice of room size, I can only comment on superior double which was excellent. All seemed quiet.”
mikebY9228WP, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 15 their standard of Luxury”
VivienneB32, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Front for River view.”
boarder_12, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$ 164* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
HOTEL.INFOUS$ 205
Booking.comUS$ 205
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates