We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sandaway Beach Holiday Park

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

531 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Showing 530: English reviews
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Thank you Zoe, Kayleigh and Lee for making a bad start to our holiday turn good and enjoyable. From the moment we arrived Zoe was warm and friendly and made us feel welcome. The caravan was warm and amazing views. Kayleigh is great allways willing to help and very friendly. Lee great barman nothing was to much trouble and getting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tinkerbell73593
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello Tinkerbell Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the reception and bar teams, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts on the customer service. We would hope that you will come back to see us again very soon. Our returning customers...

Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

I find it very surprising reading through these reviews on how diverse they can be so I felt it necessary to write a review which I practically never do. When we arrived everything was set to go our keys were ready, we had expected an older caravan due to taking our dog with us and we got exactly what was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Masadies G
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic 5 star review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed on to all departments. Once again our Stripeys have been singled out for extra praise and there is no doubt that they deserve it. They are all doing a brilliant job this year and work extremely hard to...

Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Very nice holiday site would recomend to everyone. Entertainment, restaurant And a bar.Childrens amusments. Great place to be.The caravans on site are very well looked after, clean and tidy There is also a shop on site that is well stocked.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michael h
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello Michael Thank you for awarding our park 5 stars following your recent visit, we really appreciate it. We try our best to cater for everyone and your review shows that we are getting it right. Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable....

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Terrible state!!...stayed 30th sep for 3nights....sofa bed was not good enough for a dog to sit on..forget two people sleeping on it!!....we did not have a dog!...no shower...minimal hot water for small bath...luckily it was only my wife and I who stayed there...NOT good for family summer holiday....people work hard for a week in this beautiful part of Devon....in summer...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nigelbj
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello Nigel I am very sorry that the accommodation provided during your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. This is a very popular holiday park and the chalets are in constant use. I wonder if you told the park manager or head office of your displeasure while you were there, it is always so difficult to deal...

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2016

My family booked 3 caravans for 6 adults, 1 four year old, 2 dogs and three cars (three couples) for 1 week for mine and my wifes anniversary. Arrival on site and booking in was simple and site was clean and tidy. Upon close inspection, there were a couple of niggles and damaged bits in our caravan but guessed there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello Robert Thank you for your five stars. It is satisfying to hear that you had a great time on our park. We are happy that you thought the staff were helpful and we will pass your comments on to them. Your review shows the importance of letting management know when there is a problem. You would be surprised just...

Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

So...where do i start.. check in... we're told caravan is being cleaned and cant have keys.. finally 4.15pm caravan keys. 4 adults, 1 baby (yes pat 4 not 5 adults). Caravan was dirty clearly not been cleaned. Dead daddy long legs on beds, cobwebs in the window, half a chewed dog chew in between the sofa, rusted fridge freezer, dusty...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sasky87
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello Sasky No sarcasm, I promise. It is extraordinary just how diverse these reviews can be about the same subject. One review is 5 star the next is just one – obviously we need to find out why. I cannot deny that occasionally we let a customer down and it is imperative that we make a full investigation into what...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Myself and my 5 year old went to Sandaway on a Groupon deal. We were given a 6 berth older style caravan which was perfectly adequate. It provided a fire, tv, microwave and hot shower along with plenty of kitchen equipment. The park is equipped with a heated outside pool which we used even when it was a chilly day....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saffydaffy
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and how helpful and friendly the staff were. We take great pride in the standard of all grades of accommodation and our customer care. It’s brilliant that this isn’t going unnoticed. Your comments will be passed on...

Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

We arrived on friday 23rd of september for a 3 night stay when we arrived we were told our accomodation was not ready however everyone else were checking in early, eventually at 4-15 pm we got our accomodation however it was dirty, mosquitos and dead daddy long legs on the bedding even found a dog chew which was a pigs...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank albion1978
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. It is extraordinary just how diverse these reviews can be about the same subject. One review is 5 star the next is just one – I think I know why. This holiday was booked through the Sun newspaper offer for 4 adults and 1...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

We were booked to stay for 3 nights at Sandaway Bay (caravan 133). However, we could only cope with staying for 2 and even that was a struggle. Now, I don't usually complain, but I feel compelled to do so on this occasion. I booked the 3 night break as a treat for my dog, my partner and I wanted...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank samcourt
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello Sam Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. I have been in this industry for almost 40 years and I still do not understand why, when there is a problem with anything, no approach is made to the reception, or head office or the manager. I find it quite extraordinary...

Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Me and my family 6 adults 1 child 2 dogs rented 3 caravans, they put all three together which was perfect we stayed at the end of September until the begining of October. The caravans we stayed in are on the older side but they're reasonable for the price. We stayed in 58, 59 and 60 with amazing sea views...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reecegw
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello Reece Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic 5 star review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed on to all departments. Once again our Stripeys have been singled out for extra praise and there is no doubt that they deserve it. They are all doing a brilliant job this year and work extremely...

412 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (403)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (40)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (266)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Martin
0.6 km away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
533 reviews
5.0 km away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#12 of 20 in Ilfracombe
297 reviews
32.9 km away
Bideford Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#2 of 26 in Ilfracombe
390 reviews
1.6 km away
Grattons Cedar Lodges
Grattons Cedar Lodges
#9 of 26 in Ilfracombe
107 reviews
2.0 km away
Watermouth Lodges
Watermouth Lodges
#4 of 8 in Berrynarbor
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park stands on a low cliff at the very edge of the ocean with breathtaking sea views. Three minutes walk down a picturesque stepped path brings you to Sandaway Beach, privately owned by us, a rocky foreshore and a sprinkling of sand but a real sun trap and haven of peace and quiet, but beware of the tides. A short scramble over the rocks takes you to our secret spot, Mermaid's Cove, this is truly a place of magic and tranquillity for that really quiet swim or sunbathe. Relax with a cool drink in our Smuggler's Bar, take in the superb sea, and Exmoor views. Enjoy excellent pub grub, and basket meals from our Chef's Corner, and view our nightly family entertainment in our clubhouse. A feature of Sandaway is our lovely kidney shaped swimming pool. There is a well stocked shop, take-away meals, pool table, amusements, a special indoor children's soft play area and an outdoor playground. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandaway Beach Holiday Park

Address: Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 9ST, England (Formerly John Fowler Sandaway Holiday Park)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Price Range: ₹ 1,503 - ₹ 8,105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandaway Beach Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and PitchUp so you can book your Sandaway Beach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park Combe Martin, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandaway Beach Holiday Park staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Sandaway Beach Holiday Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try and get one right on the edge for the best sea view”
 of 5 bubbles JamesH09, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I would rather stay in a cardboard box”
 of 5 bubbles 513freddiet, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book the most expensive caravan you can afford”
 of 5 bubbles BeckyE755, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Caravans near the reception have the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles LoveVegasBabyYeah, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“When advertises sleeps 4-6, think very carefully about the ages.”
 of 5 bubbles 96ehoh99, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5