We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Millslade Country House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brendon
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Millslade Country House
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

20 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 20: English reviews
Start your review of Millslade Country House
 Click to rate
Alicante, Spain
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were a family of 7 and Anna was so helpful in sorting us out with our booking and arranging where everyone would sleep so as we would all be close by. We could not have had a lovelier welcome from Simon and Anna when we arrived pleasantly shattered after a lovely long day spent at Lynton and Lynmouth and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry F
Management response:

Thank you so much Kerry for your very positive review. We love having families to stay who enjoy the beautiful outdoors around Brendon and it shows how there really is something for everyone here on Exmoor. We do hope you saw some ponies. The foals are now appearing too, so we hope you will be back!

Measham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017

This is the third visit to Millslade since Anna and Simon have been owners We are treated as old friends and nothing is too much trouble.The breakfasts are divine and so varied and Simon your soda bread is excellent especially the darker one.Ozzy our dog is made as welcome as us The beds are very comfortable.So all in all would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
Management response:

It is always a pleasure to see you both. Thank you so much for your positive comments about Simon's breakfasts. We look forward to you trying out the next additions to the menu!

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2016

As you descend into the valley where Brendon is situated you are immediately struck with the charm the small village. We received the warmest of welcomes from Anna and Simon and immediately felt at home. Millslade is clean and tidy throughout, the bedrooms and bathrooms are well appointed and the property is beautifully situated with gardens. There's ample parking and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick D
Management response:

Thank you Rick for your highly complimentary review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and delighted that the venison ragu went down so well. Thank you for pointing out our varied breakfast menu as this is something we take particular pride in. We feel privileged to live in such a beautiful part of the country and...

Reviewed 10 October 2016

I stayed at Millslade last week (with my doggy) for a short break with the intention of having a relaxing break and hiding away from the stresses of everyday life for a little while. I was not disappointed as the Millslade was everything I expected and more! It was a real haven where I managed to forget about the outside...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma B
Anna M, Owner at Millslade Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review Emma and are delighted you enjoyed your stay. It is always lovely for us to have guests staying who get on well with each other as you did with our regulars. Simon is very pleased you enjoyed your breakfasts; you must come again to try the pancakes, which is a breakfast special at the...

Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

What an amazing stay! Very friendly welcome, excellent breakfast- would really recommend the pancakes. Very relaxed atmosphere. It was just what we needed for a chilled two night family break. We did lots of walking and a coasteering trip in Ilfracombe to keep us busy. Overall good value for money and big success!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Esmie W
Management response:

Thank you Esmie W for your kind words and we are glad you enjoyed the pancakes so much. We look forward to welcoming you back to Millslade in the future.

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016

I approached Brendon via Porlock and was simply gob smacked by the surroundings, if you have never been to this part of the world you should. If you follow my advice to visit Exmoor then there is no better base than Millslade. What do you want from a B&B? - a great bed and great breakfast - Millslade has both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cowshepard
Management response:

Thank you Cowshepard for such a great review. Like you we are continually 'gob smacked' by the beauty of Exmoor - we feel so lucky to live and work here. We are delighted you enjoyed our breakfasts and hope to see you again soon.

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016

A warm welcome from friendly but not at all intrusive hosts, Anna and Simon. Happy to chat if you want to but equally happy for you to get on and enjoy your holiday. Beautiful location. Relaxed atmosphere but nothing too much trouble. Great food, all carefully sourced. Definitely take up the supper option if its available. Friendly pub just down...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Onpoint5
Management response:

Thank you for your thoughtful review Onpoint5. As you quite rightly point out each guest is different and we try our best to ensure we provide the kind of environment everyone will enjoy and feel comfortable in. Food is very important to us and we appreciate you pointing out the 'carefully sourced' ingredients that go into all our meals. We...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We arrived at Millslade cold and wet after walking the Coleridge Way from Porlock but the minute Anna opened the door we were made so welcome and soon sitting in front of the wood burning stove in a very comfortable lounge with a cup tea. A lovely stay, great breakfast and Anna so helpful with arranging a taxi for us....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew B
Anna M, Owner at Millslade Country House, responded to this review

Thank you both for your lovely review and taking the time to write after only a one night stay. I do hope you enjoyed the final stretch of the Coleridge Way and were rewarded this time with your certificate! We very much hope to see you again when perhaps you will be able to stay to enjoy an evening meal...

Reviewed 20 June 2016

Just stayed hear for three nights. And I would recommend this little gem to all of my friends and family. Anna is the perfect host ,nothing to much trouble. Such a beautiful and peacefully setting. I and my partner will definitely be going back again. Fran and Ian

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fran M
Anna M, Owner at Millslade Country House, responded to this review

Thank you Fran and Ian for such a lovely review. I am delighted you both enjoyed your stay. We would love to see you again.

Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2016

If you don't think you are going to make it to Heaven try the Millslade instead, it's the next best thing! A gracious house in a lovely position with wonderful hosts, Anna & Simon, who definitely win "hosts of the year" in my book. I have stayed in many hotels and guest houses over the years and I know I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lawrence N
Anna M, Owner at Millslade Country House, responded to this review

Thank you so much Lawrence for your lovely review. It is really helpful to see the details which made your stay special. It was a pleasure to meet you both and to learn from you, not least of which was how to respond to a TripAdvisor review! We both look forward to welcoming you again.

9 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brendon
0.0 km away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
0.0 km away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
315 reviews
0.0 km away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
648 reviews
0.0 km away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
137 reviews
0.0 km away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Millslade Country House

Address: | Lynton, Brendon, Exmoor National Park EX35 6PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Brendon
Price Range: ₹ 2,885 - ₹ 7,007 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Millslade Country House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are equally as good”
920leslieh, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“all rooms looked pretty good to me”
Cowshepard, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
2 of 2