We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down

TravelodgeUS$ 65*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down
See the most recent reviews
Showing 201: English reviews
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We planned to stay at the hotel 2 days initially whilst we helped family move into a new house in North Tawton, a few miles away, and then stay there, but the removal company couldn't deliver for two days so we ended staying 4 days/nights, which was no problem. The staff were helpful, and very friendly, and nothing seemed too...

Thank Langers90
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Comfortable bed and spacious double room. No air conditioning but fan provided. With windows open there was noise from car park outside. On-site eatery had limited menu and looked quite pricey! Much better value at the Post Inn only 500 yards down road. Unusually rooms still have key locks rather than electronic.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank r0nam70
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016

A little out in middle of no where, no shops near by if you want a snack, other than petrol station prices & we all know how expensive them places are. The Hogs Hedge next door to get a meal was really good, very pleased that was next door, that should be a Hotel rather than cheap Travelodge, considering we...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank U7377VPcb
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down, responded to this review

Please allow us to thank you for sharing your review of our Okehampton Whiddon Down Travelodge. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal locally. We will be sure to pass your comments onto the hotel team and we do hope you stay with us again.

Reviewed 31 August 2016

I stayed in this hotel with my family, the bedroom was clean and the beds were really comfy. However, the bathroom could have been a bit cleaner. The staff were really polite and very helpful. We all slept well and enjoyed our stay...Thankyou.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank mariakR227AM
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

I stopped here for one night with my partner and young son while travelling down to Cornwall. We arrived at 3am and after checking in we found the toilet wouldn't flush in our room. We informed reception who offered another room, without a cot bed as the lodge was fully booked and this was the only room left available, or...

Thank don85c
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night while travelling around the area. The staff were friendly & welcoming upon arrival. The room was clean & tidy and served the purpose well. Please Travelodge put some plug sockets next to the beds! The room was very warm but there was a fan provided which helped a bit! Would highly recommend the Post Inn...

Thank Mark P
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2016

I stayed for 3nights with my daughter and mother. We had a family room, clean and spacious. Would recommend. Please note the Hog and Hedge restaurant closes at 7 in the evening, this caught us out but subway saved the day. The Post Inn was lovely for a drink, you need to book for meals.

Thank Trina P
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here last night with two kids on way back from Cornwall. Super friendly, helpful staff. Clean room with nice sheets. Clean bright bathroom with an actual bath, which my son was very pleased with after only having a shower on holiday. Good restaurant for breakfast next door.

Thank montaguvilla
Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Was ok for what we wanted it for but as it is a services it gets really busy in high season and parking was a problem and the noise from the people using the services bathroom wasn't very clean and smelt like a dirty toilet smell wasn't one of the best travel lodges we have stayed in

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank missminty2016
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down, responded to this review

Your feedback is very important to us and thank you for submitting your review. We strive to offer our guests a good night’s sleep and an enjoyable experience whilst staying with us. That is why we are sorry to hear that you were not positively impressed by your last stay in our Okehampton Whiddon Down hotel. We will make the...

Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Clean and basic accommodation. Good pub food nearby at the Post Inn. Parking can be difficult because it is shared with the services rest stop. I would stay here again if I was in the area and needed a nights sleep.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Englishfilipino
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down, responded to this review

We are committed to providing our guests with the best experience possible whilst staying with us and we are pleased to hear of your positive feedback with regards to your stay at Okehampton Whiddon Down Travelodge. We're thrilled to learn your room was clean and comfortable and you found our hotel to be an ideal location for your needs. We...

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (5)
Room/Suite (3)
Hotel & Grounds (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (6)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Room/Suite (2)
Bathroom (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okehampton
10.8 km away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 4 in Okehampton
167 reviews
4.2 km away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
3.9 km away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,039 reviews
24.1 km away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
468 reviews
9.0 km away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down

Address: Exeter Road | Merrymeet Junction, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 2QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton
Price Range: ₹ 3,888 - ₹ 6,618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down 1.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down Hotel Okehampton
Travel Lodge Okehampton
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down Dartmoor National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a mattress topper for the put-you-up bed!”
745suec745, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“rear rooms very quiet.”
mesrine, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“First floor and someone upstairs decided to rearrange their furniture in the middle of the night!”
N2980YVfionam, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had a room overlooking the carpark and there was no noise at all.”
Nesto69, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The hotel is in a quiet location to start with”
PhotobugsUK, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$ 65* /night
View Deal
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates