We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Fregate Hotel

Hotels.comUS$ 224*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
La Fregate Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

254 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 245: English reviews
Start your review of La Fregate Hotel
 Click to rate
London, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is a perfect haven and cannot be faulted. From the very warm welcome that was maintained by every single member of staff throughout the stay, to their care and attention to detail - simply....faultless. The quality of cleanliness, furnishings, design and food are very high. The views offered must be some of the best on the island and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tinarussell
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

La Fregate is very expensive for a 4 star hotel but worth it. The view of the bay is lovely and our spacious room had a roof terrace outside to enjoy it. The staff were all helpful and very friendly although one of the young waiting staff was a bit over enthusiastic in clearing stuff away the moment we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meddprivate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for business for 2 nights. The hotel rooms (the deluxe double room) was very spacious and all new (incl. the bath). The balcony with the big windows give a great view over the port/city and the channel. Breakfast starts at 7.15, but due to the island path it was ok. The variety was more on the side...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank erlenbach_zh
Simon D, General Manager at La Fregate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted you had an enjoyable time with us and particularly enjoyed the breakfast. I am afraid 'what goes up must come down' coming up from the town is not so easy, but the return journey is a lot more pleasant. I do hope we will see you back in Guernsey sometime....

Uckfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been to Guernsey on many occasions, and having had an excellent Sunday Lunch at La Fregate last year, we decided to stay for the first time; we were not disappointed... We paid extra for a deluxe seaview room (Room 110). This was very spacious, with an elevated view over the harbour. This included a lovely balcony with sun...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roger b
Simon D, General Manager at La Fregate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roger, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that your stay was an enjoyable one and that the staff looked after you. We are so lucky to have that amazing view, it's one you never tire of. I do hope we will see you again soon. Yours sincerely Simon Dufty General Manager

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Never before have I felt compelled to write a hotel review whilst still being there. However, having just awoken from the best nights sleep I have had in a very long time, I feel that La Fregate is the perfect time to change my usual habits. I have visited Jersey many times but never before have I ventured to Guernsey....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CVM_83
Simon D, General Manager at La Fregate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. Our location is very special and it is a view that you never tire of, no matter how long your stay. I am delighted the team looked after you and that you also enjoyed the restaurant. I am not sure when your next stay is, but, we look forward to having you back....

Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2017

The food served in the restaurant is beautifully cooked and presented. The staff and service is impeccable and the views stunning. Well worth going for a special occasion. Book to avoid disappointment. We are local so didn't stay overnight.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JulieFuse
Simon D, General Manager at La Fregate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julie, Thank you for your review and i am delighted you enjoyed the food and service in our restaurant. For your information we do offer a special rate for locals if dining with us, to stay overnight so perhaps you might like to consider this next time. Yours sincerely Simon Dufty General Manager

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed at La Fregate from Friday 31 March to Tuesday 4 April. The location is ideal - in the town centre, with terrific views over the harbour and bay of St Peter Port. Our Deluxe Room 304 was well furnished and spacious, with doors onto balcony seating area. Bathroom excellent Complimentary waters and biscuits plus tea and coffee Breakfasts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Micheil G
Simon D, General Manager at La Fregate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Gibson, Thank you for your very swift review of your recent stay with us. I am naturally delight that you found all aspect of the hotel agreeable and that your were looked after professionally by the staff. I hope you will find time to visit us again soon. Yours sincerely Simon Dufty General Manager

Lymington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Was fog bound for a few days in Guernsey. Stayed here one night accommodated at short notice. Staff very friendly, Great location for walking into town. Fantastic food both for dinner and breakfast. Will return,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
Simon D, General Manager at La Fregate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted we were able to accommodate you over your disruption with fog, I hope it was a haven of sanity after the frustrations of delay. I hope we will see you again when next visiting Guernsey. Yours sincerely Simon Dufty General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

I have stayed here a couple of times on business. I can endorse the favorable reviews of previous reviewers, especially about the food, which is very good (try the kippers for breakfast).. There is round the clock room service and a pleasant bar. Being a short uphill walk above the town is not perfect, from the point of view of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Virginian18
Simon D, General Manager at La Fregate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. I am delighted you continue to returns, and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Simon Dufty General Manager

Hartfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2017

There is nothing fancy or fussy about La Fregate. It is simply a very welcoming, friendly 4-star hotel, with great staff and really exceptional food which seems as popular with the local business set as it was with us. The position is good, offering views out over the harbour to Herm and Sark. Our room had everything we needed for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave R
Simon D, General Manager at La Fregate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dave R, Thank you for your review. I am delighted your 3 day stay was an enjoyable on and that you enjoyed the restaurant. We feel that our location suits all with the amazing views. I hope to see you returning to La Fregate sometime in the future. Kind regards Simon Dufty General Manager

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.2 km away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
1.1 km away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
748 reviews
0.4 km away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
0.4 km away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
603 reviews
0.5 km away
La Piette Hotel
La Piette Hotel
#12 of 19 in St Peter Port
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
La Fregate Hotel, Guernsey's latest four star hotel, combines the charm and character of an 18th-century manor house with the amenities of a modern business and leisure hotel. Whatever your reasons for visiting Guernsey, a weekend break, short stay, business meeting, we offer the highest 2 rosette standards of cuisine and four star hotel service on the island of Guernsey. A 2.5m refurbishment in 2006 has meant that the hotel has grown in size to 22 bedrooms together with the addition of the Orangery catering for parties up to 24 people and a new terrace. These enhancements have been designed to enhance the reputation of the hotel and to build on a thirty year reputation of one of the islands favourite hotels. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Fregate Hotel

Address: Beauregard Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1UT
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Price Range: ₹ 10,299 - ₹ 37,457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fregate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your La Fregate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fregate
La Fregate Hotel Guernsey/St Peter Port
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#6 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Fregate Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from La Fregate Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms face easterly so the balconies will enjoy morning sunshine.”
Tinarussell, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“pay for a bay view room or go somewhere else”
Meddprivate, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“110 is lovely”
rogerb329, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you check out the restaurnat, great seafood”
JAMHampshire, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a large room with a good view of the main harbor.”
  • Our room at La Fregate overlooking the harbor.
K1522YBrogers, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$ 224* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 224
Booking.comUS$ 224
Hotwire.comUS$ 224
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates