We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western Royal Hotel

CancelonUS$ 155*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 328*
US$ 155*
Great Deal
US$ 173*
US$ 173*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

792 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 687: English reviews
Start your review of Best Western Royal Hotel
 Click to rate
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Yet another lovely stay at a Best Western Hotel. Staff are so very pleasant and helpful. The hotel has an excellent restaurant where it serves a full continental buffet breakfast cooked very well and hot. You should never go hungry at breakfast! The bar is a tad small for the size of the hotel but even so, it has lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lulie H
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Check in was quick and easy for this hotel that is located about 5-10 minutes walk from the main shopping area of St.Helier, Queen Street and King Street. Room was a double room although it had both a double bed and single bed. The room was clean and all the bedding was clean and of good quality as was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nickB_London_UK
ManagerJersey, Manager at Best Western Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your custom and feedback following your stay at our town centre Best Western Royal Hotel. All our TV's meet the size requirements set within our Brand and we have upgraded many bedrooms within the hotel to even larger TV units this past winter. We are a town hotel and many bedrooms face over our large internal terrace...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We had a lovely stay here and for the price we couldn't have been happier. The staff were very welcoming and the breakfast was available most of the morning which meant there was no rush to get up. The parking was good as the hotel has its own private car park and we were never unable to get a space....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
ManagerJersey, Manager at Best Western Royal Hotel, responded to this review

We are so pleased that we met your needs so well at the Royal. Our team of staff will be delighted with your comments and it is a great encouragement that you would have no hesitation in returning. Thank you once again.

Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Although quite small, our room at the Royal was well laid out and appeared to have been quite recently decorated. It was fresh and clean and, perhaps because it was at the end of a corridor, we heard no noise at all from within the hotel. However, with the window open due to the warmth, there was a fair bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CWW190763
ManagerJersey, Manager at Best Western Royal Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted that you found our town centre hotel to be an excellent base for your stay. The Royal is proud to announce that we have recently been awarded an hotel Silver Star award by the AA following an unannounced inspection. We believe that we are the only AA Three Star hotel in the Channel Islands to have had...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff very pleasant, helpfull, breakfast was very good. It is well situated however we felt the hotel, as a whole, was a bit tired / dated. Our room was rather basic, very noisy both from inside (other guests) and outside (complete lack of secondary glazing and busy road) Weather was fairly muggy and feel the whole hotel could have benefited...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank garylynn44
ManagerJersey, Manager at Best Western Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments on our staff, breakfast and location. These are appreciated. We are a traditional hotel dating from 1842 and some parts of the building are listed by the local Planning authority. We have secondary glazing in almost all listed areas (double glazing elsewhere to all areas) and we are actively looking at secondary glazing for...

Worcester
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well situated hotel allows easy access to St Helier attractions. Narrow roads make parking and stopping difficult, our taxi had to pull up some distance away. We were lucky enough to be upgraded and this did improve the quality of our room which has an added four poster bed. Room was small and congested. Bathroom was a good size but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WGRS
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is on a fairly busy road but traffic noise was not too bad after 11pm. It is ituated about 25 minutes walk from the bus station which was good.The room was bright and clean, staff were friendly and the breakfasts were good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bbhscamp
ManagerJersey, Manager at Best Western Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are a very popular well established town centre hotel and hold an AA Rosette for our catering. This AA Rosette has just been retained once again following our regular annual inspection from the AA. Our established team are very pleased to have maintained this accolade over the past decade. Your comments and review...

gloucester
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were on a 5day/4night coach package. Lovely room, clean and outside terrace space (which we didn't expect). with plenty big enough bathroom. Unfortunatly it did seem a little noisy with what we thought maybe air conditioning and the heating coming on made a bit of noise to but after the first night/morning did not notice so much and understand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JANE B
ManagerJersey, Manager at Best Western Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments following your stay at our town centre hotel. These are appreciated. It is not always easy to meet all needs within a group stay. We did facilitate that some members of your tour group dined separately as they made a request to do so and we were able to accommodate their wishes on this...

Nuneaton
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights in April. The location is good, a reasonable short work into the heart of St. Helier. The check in procedure was friendly and efficient and the staff were all very professional throughout my stay. My single room was clean and tidy if a little "compact", and serviced every day. Excellent tea tray with plenty of packets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrewclaridge
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Looks good from outside, and reception/bar/lounge area but room left a bit to be desired. Old sash windows didn't shut properly and the 'secondary glazing' was as much use as a chocolate teapot. Tv didn't work, signal kept going. Ate in the bar , food was good, and not too expensive.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Snakeydee
ManagerJersey, Manager at Best Western Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and custom. This is appreciated. We are pleased that you like the hotel exterior and public areas. The Royal is an 89 bedroom town centre hotel first established in the 1840's and its structure is Listed by the local Planning Authority in certain areas. It should be noted that much of the accommodation faces internal...

365 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (118)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
2:13
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (211)
Viewed
Double Room with Extra Bed (35)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Standard Double Room Blue Carpet (24)
Viewed
Standard Double Room Striped Carpet (28)
Viewed
Suite (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,825 reviews
0.8 km away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
1,452 reviews
0.8 km away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.8 km away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
716 reviews
0.4 km away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#6 of 32 in St Helier
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Seasons Restaurant
Seasons Restaurant
Cuisines: British, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the principal hotels in Jersey, the Best Western Royal Hotel is ideally located only minutes walk from the quality pedestrian shopping areas of St Helier. Equally suited to the leisure or business traveller, this attractive 89-bedroom hotel also boasts suites and executive bedrooms; AA Rosette restaurant and informal bar; Large rooftop terrace. Graded 3 stars by the AA. Parking is available but is limited to 16 spaces. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Hotel

Address: David Place, St Helier JE2 4TD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Price Range: ₹ 8,305 - ₹ 14,950 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Helier
St Helier Best Western
Best Western Royal Hotel Jersey/St Helier
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#11 Business Hotel in St Helier
#14 Family Hotel in St Helier
#14 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Royal Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you hate noise, try and get a room that does not face onto the main road.”
  • Room showing double bed
  • Room showing beds and tiny TV
  • Bathroom with tub and shower
nickB_London_UK, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing in (ie on to the terrace and car park), are probably quieter in terms of street noise.”
CWW190763, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Include breakfast”
WGRS, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“Probably best not to face onto the street (David Place).”
awb_11, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for quiet rooms.”
IsabelleDH76, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$ 155* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$ 173
Expedia.comUS$ 173
TripAdvisorUS$ 173
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates