We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Somerville Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

690 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Somerville Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 672: English reviews
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

This is such a lovely hotel. From the moment you step inside to the moment that you leave you are made to feel welcomed and looked after. A relaxed atmosphere all through the hotel with well kept decor. We will definitely be returning. A true credit to Jersey.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Somerville Hotel, we are delighted that the atmosphere that we try to create here at the Hotel was achieved. We look forward to your next visit. KInd regards

Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017

As part of my Christmas present, my daughter had booked us an overnight stay at this Hotel, with its magnificent views across St Aubin's Bay. The food was excellent, the staff polite but not particularly friendly and the furnishings looked a little tired and in need of some refurbishment. Not quite up to our expectations of a pleasant break. Great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monty L
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, your comments are all noted and will be acted upon where appropriate and possible. Kind regards

ipswich
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

I have to say that the location is great, staff good, especially Joe the concierge who is a diamond. I booked through premier holidays and eventhough I specifically requested not to be given room 201 again this is what I got. The room in itself is good, though the bathroom gloomy. Huge problem, never ending sound of footsteps from above...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank sophie0408
Alex D, Owner at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sophie0408, First and foremost thank you very much for your recent review and for your kind comments regarding the location and the team. In regards to your room request I have checked with the reservations team and as is sometimes the case when booking through 3rd parties we unfortunately did not get the message passed on. The installation of...

Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed at this hotel and were overwhelmed by the hospitality, service, accommodation and food. Our room was beautiful with an outstanding sea view. We would highly recommend this hotel for a wonderful holiday in Jersey.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kroberts17
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your very kind review and for recommending the Somerville Hotel.

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We stayed for a three night short break and had a lovely, relaxing time. We had a super room with a sea view on the first floor, supremely comfortable bed , fluffy dressing gowns and nice elemis toiletries. Nothing is too much trouble and we were particularly well looked after by Adrian, Bethany and Veronica in the dining room. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Themadhenlady
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and recommendation for the Somerville Hotel. The staff will be delighted to read your comments and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon. Kind regards

Reviewed 5 March 2017

A most wonderful vantage point overlooking St Aubyns Bay once compared to the Bay of Naples by Queen Victoria. The building is fine and rooms divine, The staff friendly & fantastic. Expertly managed seamless efficiency. Food is super & absolutely no rush. What is remarkable is that great value deals can be found in this marvellous hotel. Half board too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron L
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your wonderful review and recommendation, the staff will be delighted to read it. We look forward to seeing back here again soon. Kind regards

Broseley
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Stayed at the Sommerville Hotel - St Aubin. What a lovely hotel. Great staff, fantastic food, comfortable bedroom and well stocked bathroom (bath robes!!). Lovely views across the harbour from the dining room. Although the lift was being refurbished our bags were taken up to the 2nd floor without any fuss. Well done Sommerville - we will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine B
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review and delighted that you will be returning to see us, we look forward to it. The brand new lift will be installed by the end of this week, our Porters and of course guests I'm sure will be pleased. Kind regards

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Booked a 3 night mid week break, very impressed with this hotel, we had lovely sea view from our room, the staff are lovely & very helpful, the breakfasts were great, the evening menu was small but well balanced with something for everyone & beautifully cooked & presented. Ideally placed to go off to explore the island but with a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jane M
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and kind words, the team will be delighted to read it. Kind regards

Lincoln
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Back again at the Somerville, this time we stayed in an inland classic room. The room was well decorated and very warm. I have to say, I did miss the beautiful harbour and sea views from the sea view rooms we have previously stayed in. Hope they are available next time we come because I have no doubt there will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review and regular visits. The brand new lift will be back in action on March 10th and Joe will be back on holiday in a few days time as will many other regular long term members of staff who have recently being taking a well earned rest after a record breaking 2016 for the hotel....

Reviewed 27 February 2017

Myself and my husband stayed here after it was gifted to us for Christmas. Firstly, our room wasnt the best, very old fashioned, but it was clean and the bed was comfy. The food however, was on point... We had a set menu & every course was equally as good as the next. The following morning, the breakfast was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky D

453 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (211)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (70)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (210)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Classic Inland Room (29)
Viewed
Classic Seaview Room (27)
Viewed
Pool (35)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Superior Garden Suite (36)
Viewed
Superior Seaview Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestling on the hillside, overlooking the yachting harbour the village of St. Aubin and the bay beyond, the views from the Somerville hotel are breathtaking. The hotel is one of the Island's finest country house hotels and is well know for its warm welcome and excellent reputation with guests appreciating its discreet location and emphasis is on indulgence and style. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Somerville Hotel

Address: Le Mont Du Boulevard, St Aubin, St Brelade JE3 8AD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Brelade > St Aubin
Price Range: ₹ 7,460 - ₹ 17,656 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerville Hotel St Aubin
Somerville Hotel Jersey/St Aubin
Hotel Jersey Somerville
Somerville St Aubin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Somerville Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Somerville Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2nd floor and above facing the bay for lovely views and beautiful sunrise.”
gidgeord, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Worth upgrading to standard sea views as they are good value for money”
PRGH, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade from what I believe is called a Classic room. The see facing rooms are probably the best.”
briancQ8545SZ, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view.”
TDS8, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room was 109 which had great sea views”
509spencerw, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5