We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ballyknocken House

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Ballyknocken House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ballyknocken House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 138: English reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2016

My self and my partner stayed in Ballyknocken House for a Birthday Treat on 20th August 2016. We call in on the Saturday at 12 noon to collect our picnic and then took a trip around the area. We visited National Botanic Gardens, Kilmacurragh as recommended by Sharon for a visit and to have our picnic, would highly recommend the...

Thank Joanne M
Catherine F, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we really do appreciate it. I must say it was our pleasure to welcome you here also and we genuinely look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Just stayed here for one night and it has been an experience we will always treasure. Had a picnic, dinner and following mornings breakfast. Everything was just perfect. You can tell this is catherine's labour of love as the food, service and accommodation was simply sublime. She took time out to individually go around and greet each guest. The location...

Thank c c
Catherine F, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we really do appreciate it and the picnic is a real treat there is nothing like sitting in the sun and enjoying some lovely food and company. It has meant so much to all the staff here to receive such a commendation as it really is...

Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

what a wonderful stay at a quaint wonderful place where a most lovely hostess gives you the warmest welcome on a wet afternoon with coffee and deliciously fluffy lemon cake. can only recommend staying and eating here! next to wicklow garden countryside and walks that help you prepare for that lovely meal. cookery school must be great as well -...

Thank Ulli H
Catherine F, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we all appreciate so much to hear that the work we put in is so warmly received. You will absolutely have to come again to visit us and this time do a class also, it is such fun and the you get to sit down and...

Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Just back from a night at Ballyknocken House and I would highly recommend it to everyone.Everything from the setting of the house,the food and of course Catherine herself was flawless and I will definitely be back to do a cookery course.Such a welcoming place to visit

Thank Gayle C
Catherine F, Manager at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you here and we look forward to welcoming you back to do the Cookery Course. Our Cookery course is complete up to year end !!

Reviewed 18 July 2016

My fiancee and I spent two nights here during our week long trip to Ireland and wanted to get away from Dublin for a few days. The environment was incredibly relaxing and peaceful. There are multiple hiking trails to the rear of the establishment that have you feeling like your the only people around for miles. Aside from that, there...

Thank Nicholas H
Catherine F, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, it was an absolute pleasure to welcome you both here and it means so much to all the staff to know that the effort and the pride we take in our roles here are appreciated. Of course if you are ever in Ireland again do please come and see us.

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Spent an afternoon in the Ballyknocken House. It is a really lovely farm with a stunning view of green landscape around. There was a demonstration when we got there showing how the farmer work with the dog to control the sheep crowd - the dog and sheep are really cute hahaha. We joined the cooking class conducted by a famous...

Thank Gloson
Catherine F, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review, it was such a pleasure to welcome you here, we are so proud of what we offer to our guests. I know Pat our shepherded and Jess his dog will be delighted to hear you enjoyed it!

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 July 2016

So, I'll start with the negative to get it out of the way.... I had booked a night here with the mountaintop picnic package as a birthday present for my boyfriend, who's a real foodie. Sharon called me a few days before to confirm our arrival to pick up the picnic and to confirm the remainder of our stay. She...

1Thank Gillian T
Catherine F, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I totally understand your disappointment that you did not get to enjoy the picnic which you had booked, on this all I can do is apologise and assure you I have now put in place a "double Check System" with regard service notes to ensure that this sort...

Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

Just back from what I could only describe as the perfect break away. We were blessed with good weather, on our first occasion visiting Wicklow. Ballyknocken house was ever so warm and welcoming, delicious food and I couldn't praise the hospitality enough! My partner and I were really made feel at home and we were sad to have to leave...

Thank Mtpockets_bug
Catherine F, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It truly was a pleasure to welcome you both here! Ballyknocken House really is like a little slice of heaven when the weather is like this but you will have to come down to us in the winter there is a different but equal beauty about...

Westmeath, Ireland
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights in March 2016. We were not impressed with the bedrooms or the service of food, it was just okay, we had expected a lot better. The room was very basic and cold, there was a plug in electric heater in the room and an electric blanket on the bed, both of them were needed to...

Thank 484Sue
Catherine F, Owner at Ballyknocken House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we will of course take all your points on board. I do feel it is worth pointing out for all the visitors that may review this that we are a 1850 7 bedroom Victorian Farmhouse and the we pride ourselves on serving fresh farmhouse style meals - with an Italian hint!

Tipperary, Ireland
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Went to the Ballyknocken House cookery school for a Business Team event. We had a good day cooking very accessible recipes, and then enjoyed the fruits of our labours with a meal afterwards. No skimping on the drinks, the wine fairly flowed. The location is beautiful, up in the Wicklow mountains. Catherine took time out from her family event to...

Thank Sailoil

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (46)
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Dining (12)
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (4)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Room/Suite (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenealy
5.5 km away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
16.6 km away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
984 reviews
18.4 km away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 km away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
1,956 reviews
17.3 km away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
4.6 km away
Glen na Smole Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ballyknocken House & Cookery School is scenically located on a 350 acre farm only a short drive from Dublin City Centre in County Wicklow, Ireland This charming four-star Victorian farmhouse boasts seven beautifully appointed rooms, all with period features in a picturesque setting on extensive grounds. This family-run operation has many amenities to offer both on-site and in the surrounding area and is home to award-winning Food Writer & TV Chef, Catherine Fulvio.Set up by Catherine’s mum, Mary, Ballyknocken house offers short and weekly walking packages, taking in the lovely Carrick forest and Mountain, just behind Ballyknocken and of course, the magnificent Wicklow Way Ballyknocken House prides itself on using the finest and freshest local produce. Ballyknocken House is the perfect getaway – whether for a romantic retreat, family vacation or foodie adventure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ballyknocken House

Address: Glenealy, Ashford | Co. Wicklow, Ireland, Glenealy, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Glenealy
Price Range: ₹ 6,986 - ₹ 7,932 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballyknocken House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ballyknocken House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyknocken House Hotel Glenealy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ballyknocken House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are similar and all have huge windows overlooking the property.”
KimmyP120, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ring ahead and chat with the staff to arrange the best option for your stay.”
reginadoheny, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had room 1, overlooking the front garden. No noise at all from the road leading to the Ballyknocken House”
EsterE707, 19 Aug 2015 | Read review
“We did not stay here, just enjoyed a beautiful dinner.”
PatL56, 16 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Didn't spend much time in the room, but it was beautifully appointed.”
L8638CIsusanm, 19 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates