We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Glendalough International Youth Hostel

Orbitz.comUS$ 56*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Glendalough International Youth Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 91: English reviews
Start your review of Glendalough International Youth Hostel
 Click to rate
Dresden, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

My Girlfriend and me booked two beds in a mixed doorm on hostelworld. When we arrived they told us, that the hostel has a policy saying that they online offer male and female doorms. So we were forced to sleep seperated even after showing the confimation from hostelworld and offering to pay more for a private room. On the top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank haukeheuer
Roy M, Head of Marketing at Glendalough International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Mr Haukeheuer, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. I would like to apologise to you and your girlfriend for the way that you were treated in the hostel. You were correct in expecting that you could book a mixed dorm in Glendalough. I have spoken to the manager of the hostel and he has...

Sopot, Poland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friend and me spend wonderful time in Ireland. This hostel is a great place to stay. The surroundings is fabulous, you are embraced by mountains and Glendalough Vally. The stuff in Hostel is very helpful and pleasant. Rooms are clean, I can't complain about anything, maybe it is a little problem to get there if you don't have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulinagol95
TN
Reviewed 19 March 2017

I do not know about anyone else who stayed here. But for my stay, all I can say is this; The mattresses are nothing more than fabric over springs! I am one of those kinds of people who would overlook inconveniences if the price is right. However, I discovered that I draw the line when I have to sleep on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank darkcyeote
Roy M, Head of Marketing at Glendalough International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi darkcyeote, Thank you for the review. It will help us to improve our facilities for people who want to explore Ireland further. We are in the process of replacing all the mattresses so we must apologise that you had a poor nights sleep. We only have Wifi in the lobby and dining room so I do not understand why...

Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

This hostel is unlike any other I've stayed in. Absolutely wonderful place in the beautiful Glendalough. It overlooks St Kevin's Monastic site incl the Round Tower which for me is a personal highlight. We checked in & the 2 ladies on reception were friendly and accommodating. The hostel was quiet for the time of year understandably which suited us well....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RabbitWithAttitude
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Had a lovely stay at Glendalough youth hostel, great location for walking, cycling and close to all amenities, the forms were comfortable and we had our own shower and toilet in the room, it was very clean and warm. The breakfast was nice too and catered for vegis.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Stayed Dec 2016 as a couple. We payed for a private room so naturally were disappointed that the private bathroom we payed extra for we couldn't even use. This was because the shower water was cold (freezing, really), and the toilet did not flush. Unfortunately, even the common toilets had problems flushing. This was really disappointing. A more minor setback...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
New Hampshire
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Hiked the Wicklow Way in September. After hiking 19 miles we reach the Hostel in Glendalough. Paid the extra money for a private room. Other then our own space, wasn't worth the extra money. The beds were not comfortable but after 19 miles we slept anyways. The shower had a push and hold for the water, the water never got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SS-NH-603
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016

I stayed here for 2 nights with a group of 6 people in November, as a base to climb Lugnaquilla and the surrounding peaks. The hostel is quite big with a decent sized car park and kitchen/eating areas including a self-catering section which has everything you need and you can access the it 24hrs a day which was perfect for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 11 November 2016

I suppose, the hostel has such a high rate for the location and views (in the middle of heritage center and the village). Well equipped kichen,nice staff but rooms are very poor. Only beds, 1 chair and one side drawer in quadruple room, linen didn't look fresh ,dirty walls and ensuite with stuck shower. But the room was warming up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Respus_12
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Impressive from online booking right through to farewll, Glendalough YH was a special place. Private room was clean and comfortable, multilingual staff welcoming and helpful. Wifi was rather patchy, but worked, breakfast was good value, facilities were clean and generous. Location was stunning. Even the weather was good. We'll be back for more, esp for all the walking routes that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terali

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendalough Village
0.3 km away
Glendalough Hotel
Glendalough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glendalough Village
466 reviews
19.0 km away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
1,932 reviews
19.9 km away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
482 reviews
0.9 km away
Riversdale House
Riversdale House
#1 of 2 in Glendalough Village
166 reviews
2.0 km away
Pinewood Lodge
Pinewood Lodge
#3 of 12 in Laragh
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Glendalough International Youth Hostel

Address: The Lodge, Glendalough Village, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Vale of Glendalough > Glendalough Village
Price Range: ₹ 2,316 - ₹ 6,497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Glendalough International Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Glendalough International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendalough International Youth Hostel Vale Of Glendalough, County Wicklow, Ireland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Glendalough International Youth Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Glendalough International Youth Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Private room was quiet, comfortable, and good value. Bedding supplied”
terali, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“corner rooms quiet”
jackiemccartan, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Check in early if you can”
983stevey, 5 Sep 2015 | Read review
“good budget beds so unless you are looking for a bit of privacy or want a room to accommodate your group numbers you are as well just going with the cheapest rooms”
DublinBarb, 19 Jan 2015 | Read review
“I stayed in an 8 bed dorm with 5 other people, I didn't mind at all as I was staying with family members, but there are smaller dorms & even 2 bed dorms.”
Trekkieboots, 1 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$ 56* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 56
Expedia.comUS$ 56
TravelocityUS$ 56
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates