We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mount Edward Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Mount Edward Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 78: English reviews
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We are a group of 15 cyclists who thoroughly enjoyed a four night stay in this B&B. The B&B is set in a lovely setting with glorious views of the sea and hills around The rooms were of good size very clean with comfortable beds. The breakfast range was extensive to cover all our needs and was fantastic. The hosts... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike P
mountedwardlodge, Owner at Mount Edward Lodge, responded to this review

hello Mike great to see your lovely review and comments of your stay with me I am delighted you all enjoyed your stay and the weather was not too bad either...I was happy to organise your resturants and buses for you I hope you enjoyed the rest of your cycle trip and I hope to see you all back again... More 

Delavan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Great place- comfortable bedroom, surprisingly spacious en suite, amazing views, friendly owners (and dogs), inviting lounge area, and delicious breakfast. Only (slight) negative was that the wifi was a little spotty, but our room was on the very end and it wasn't a big deal. It always worked when we were in the lounge. Thanks for the great accommodations!

Helpful?
Thank Siobhan R
mountedwardlodge, Owner at Mount Edward Lodge, responded to this review

thank you for your lovely review of your stay with us yes the wifi can be in and out at times when a lot of guests are on at the same time it can happen I have no control over it ...I hope you had enjoyable holiday best wishes Maureen Gerry More 

1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

For our first trip to Ireland we were looking something more affordable than staying in a bigger hotel like the glass house in downtown Sligo, we weren't really expecting too much because we had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before. I do assure though, the 8 nights spent here were much more than we bargained for! From the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Erin G
mountedwardlodge, Owner at Mount Edward Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Erin and Naethan thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with me I am delighted you all enjoyed your stay at our home ...I hope all went well on your return ...I would be delighted to welcome you back again some time in the future best wishes Maureen and gerry More 

essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Beautiful panoramic views over the atlantic in a quiet mountainous setting .Maureen and Jerry are fantastic friendly hosts and provided a hearty breakfast . The room was clean with a great view . August 2016

Helpful?
1 Thank giggsywiggsy
mountedwardlodge, Owner at Mount Edward Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and your lovely comments Gerry is getting better than me now in the kitchin poached eggs is his specialty I hope you had a wonderful holiday best wishes Maureen and Gerry More 

Long Eaton Nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Maureen and Gerry were perfect hosts, Pauline served breakfast every day cheerfully. Breakfast one of the the best we have had since travelling round Ireland. Nothing was too much trouble. Room was always clean and fresh. As seasoned travellers we would recommend this B&B 100%. Thank you we will be returning. Tony and Pam

Helpful?
Thank Pam A
mountedwardlodge, Owner at Mount Edward Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Tony and Pam for your wonderful review it was a pleasure to have you stay and I hope you had a wonderful holiday I would be delighted to welcome you both back again when you are in the area best wishes Maureen and Gerry More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely stay here for one night in July 2016.Breakfast was very nice and plenty of choice.It is in a lovely location with great views of Benbulben mountain and only a 2 min drive to streedagh beach. Maureen was very accommodating, I would definitely recommend this B&B.

Helpful?
1 Thank joe s
mountedwardlodge, Owner at Mount Edward Lodge, responded to this review

many thanks for your wonderful review and I do live in a beautiful location sea / mountains and peace and quiet ...I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and I hope to see you again some time in the future best wishes Maureen and Gerry More 

Sheffield, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2016

This B & B is located in a beautiful part of Ireland, close by are some fantastic seaside areas with a farming background. The accommodation itself is good with a very accommodating host. If enough people want it there is a shuttle to a nearby pub which is operated by the licencee of the pub. We had a delightful meal... More 

Helpful?
Thank michaelloretta
mountedwardlodge, Owner at Mount Edward Lodge, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to review your stay and your lovely comments we do live in a beautiful area surrounded by nature sea and mountains I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and I look forward to seeing you again some time you are in the area again best wishes Maureen and Gerry More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2016

I've never stayed at a B&B and having seen the photos and reviews of Mt Edward Lodge online I thought it would be the perfect choice and I wasn't wrong. The signs to the lodge from the highway were perfect, and our early arrival to drop off bags was accommodated very graciously. We didn't have a car for the first... More 

Helpful?
Thank ShannynDowney
mountedwardlodge, Owner at Mount Edward Lodge, responded to this review

hello Shannyn and Sandy thank you so much for your wonderful review it was a pleasure to have you stay it was a pity it was so short but I look forward to welcoming you back again hope all is well with you all best wishes Maureen and Gerry More 

Whitchurch, Shropshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2016

Had a triple room for three nights, try as we might we couldn't find fault. Spotlessly clean, plenty of hot water, fluffy towels. Maureen is the ultimate hostess and runs the B & B with ease. As for the breakfast it was the best we've ever had during our trips to Ireland. If you're short of anything it's your own... More 

Helpful?
Thank tonyneville
mountedwardlodge, Owner at Mount Edward Lodge, responded to this review

hello Tony Pat and Amelia thank you so much for your wonderful review for your stay with me ...I was delighted to have you stay with us ...I look forward to welcoming you back again ...I hope you got back home safe ...enjoy the music ....... till the next time best wishes Maureen and gerry More 

toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2016

We recently spent two weeks in Ireland and this was our least favorite accommodations. We were very disappointed after having read its many good reviews. Our room was so tiny (no more than 18 inches on each side of the bed) that only one of us could move around at a time. The bathroom was likewise very small. There was... More 

Helpful?
Thank lucy37toronto
mountedwardlodge, Owner at Mount Edward Lodge, responded to this review

I was very disappointed to read your review and see you were not entirely happy with your stay ....lf you were not happy with the room with sea/mountain views I would have changed you into another room you only had to ask.......you had a choice of breakfast in the morning from a varied and full menu why did you not... More 

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange
11.2 km away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
13.0 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
292 reviews
9.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 km away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,472 reviews
12.6 km away
Clarion Hotel Sligo
1.0 km away
Ocean Heights B&B
Ocean Heights B&B
#1 of 2 in Ballinfull
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mount Edward Lodge is a luxury Fáilte Ireland Approved B&B located on the Northwest coast of Ireland.It lies nestled between Sligo's dramatic Benbulben mountain and the sea, and boasts panoramic views that overlook the Atlantic ocean, Innismurray Island and the Donegal Mountains. It is an ideal base for touring Yeats Country and the surroundings, suitable for both relaxing holidays or a business trip. Situated only 2km from Streedagh Beach, 14km from Sligo town and 5 minutes from the local village Grange, where you will find Traditional Irish pubs and Award winning restaurants.Your hostess Maureen McGowan has been welcoming guests to her award-winning, magnificently situated luxury bungalow near Grange, Sligo, for over twenty five years. You will receive a homely Traditional Irish welcome on your arrival and Maureen holds Fáilte Ireland Irish Welcome Award for her outstanding hospitality. Only the finest local ingredients are used for breakfast at Mount Edward Lodge with fresh meat from the local butcher and Maureen's own free-range eggs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mount Edward Lodge

Address: Ballinfull, Grange, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Grange
Price Range: ₹ 4,953 - ₹ 5,755 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mount Edward Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mount Edward Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All of the rooms were perfectly acceptable, the ones at the front had sea views”
 of 5 bubbles N5642TEmikep, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“ask for room 6”
 of 5 bubbles giggsywiggsy, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Just as Maureen or Gerry if one is available they will help you. Advise book early as they are always booked up.”
 of 5 bubbles 145pama, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We had room 4 which is at the end of the hallway, we heard no sounds from any other guests or the front door, and we had 2 windows.”
 of 5 bubbles ShannynDowney, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Corner room is great with fantastic views”
 of 5 bubbles tonyneville, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay