We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Killeshin Hotel

Hotels.comUS$ 73*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 75*
US$ 73*
US$ 75*
US$ 75*
US$ 73*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Killeshin Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

640 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 628: English reviews
Start your review of The Killeshin Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Travelling to Cork we booked and overnight stop in the Killeshin, a few miles out of Portlaoise our car broke down, we manged to make it to the hotel, explained our situation when we were checking in and the staff couldn't have been more helpful,. trying to contact local garages and car hire for us, as this was Easter Sunday...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rbell_744895
Sligo, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I paid 14euro for a bowl of leaves of iceberg lettuce and a tiny shaving of cheese. This was all they could offer for coeliac/vegetarian lunch. It was business lunch so couldn't leave to go anywhere else.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 107Emily
Ian F, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 107Emily Im terribly sorry to hear of your recent experience at the Killeshin and I must admit some what surprised. Our kitchen team are very adept at preparing dishes to comply with many dietary and allergenic controlled diets. I will certainly look into where our systems fell down and I would love to speak to you in person to...

County Kildare, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited the killeshin in January. Wasn't impressed to be honest. Reception Staff were rude and our booking wasn't even recorded. We addressed the issue with Ian Finan who more than compensated us for our embarrassing experience at the killeshin. I don't think I'd ever consider staying at the hotel again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mandab73
Ian F, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mandab73 Thank you for taking the time to forward on your feedback on your January stay. I believe we have already spoken on the issues with your stay and Im delighted to hear that we have restored your faith in the Só Hotel Group as mentioned in your recent email below. "Dear Ian .......My wife and I had a...

Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely bright clean modern room with all the normal facilities to hand. Excellent Wi-Fi coverage in our room! Very clean and warm pool which had a very safe childrens area. Jacuzzi was delightful and was the perfect way to unwind. The bar food was so good we went back for each of our 3 nights .... i loved the steak...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Helen S
Ian F, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Helen S Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback on your recent stay I really appreciate it. Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that the kids enjoyed the pool. Our refurbishments are almost complete and the lobby looks so much bigger and brighter we hope to be able to show it to you...

Ashford
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On arrival we were initially taken back at the appearance of the main lobby but then saw the signs they are undergoing renovations. To be fair this did not impact upon our stay in the slightest and it is impossible for a hotel to improve without doing works at some point. Check in was fine. Perhaps not quite enough explained...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sarah1305
Ian F, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sarah1305 Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay. I thank you for your understanding and apologise for the noise issues which wee caused by the unruly guests during your stay. I am investigating the issues you raised and I will get back to you in due course. I am surprised that you...

Dundalk, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Myself & my friend both wheelchair users stayed recently in The Killeshin Hotel. The room accessible room was a great size and the bathroom was very convenient also. The staff could not have done enough for us during our stay without being invasive. We will definitely visit again. would highly recommend this hotel for people with disabilities.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank janiemac1983
Ian F, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear janiemac1983 Thank you for your lovely comments on your recent stay at the Killeshin. The Team and I really appreciate it Kind Regards Ian Finnan General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Love the food here... but unfortunately the service is terrible. We have just waited 25 minutes for someone to take our desert order... there are 5 members of staff and approximately 30 customers! Very disappointing considering the standard of food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank realts
Ian F, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear realts I have sent you a private message and would appreciate your making contact with me so I can go through your experience and we can learn from it and put a retraining plan in place for the bar team. Kind Regards Ian Finnan General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was in today at front desk. A bit of maintenance work underway and lovely smiling lady behind reception. I got speaking to a guy which I presume was the manager which I found to be very rude and not interested in what I had to say. Definitely won't be recommending work colleagues to stay there in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkRoseman
Ian F, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark Roseman Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback on your recent visit to the Hotel. Im delighted that the receptionist was friendly towards you. We are currently undergoing a lobby refurbishment which will be finished on the 20th of April. I apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. May I ask you to...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have no idea how hotels get their stars, you would assume four stars means good, but maybe four stars means avoid like the plague, talking of which the plague is exactly what you might get from staying in this grotty wonder. We turned up for a relaxing weekend, to be shown a room that had no resemblance whatsoever to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank adamA3725RG
Ian F, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear adamA3725RG I am sorry that you felt that the room which you had purchased was not up to standard. I have looked into your comments about the images on our website bearing no resemblance to the actual room and the pictures of our standard rooms online only differ from the room you were checked in to by the colour...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I've stayed here twice in the last month, one on my own and this time as a family. It is close to the town centre and easy access to the motorway. The rooms are a good size and comfortable with a excellent desk if you need to do some work. The food is very good including in the bar. Very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eamonn F
Ian F, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eamonn F It was lovely to read your very kind review of your recent stay at the Killeshin. I am always so pleased to read that guests appreciate the Hotel and Leisure Club. Im sorry that an issue arose with a noisy radiator but by the sounds of it the manager on duty took good care of you. Kind...

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
3.4 km away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
665 reviews
2.1 km away
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
13.2 km away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
175 reviews
10.8 km away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
243 reviews
33.9 km away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Four Star Killeshin Hotel is a contemporary hotel with roots in the past. We have 87 well appointed bedrooms with a crisp contemporary decor. Superb bar food is served daily from 12.30pm in our Cedar Bar and breakfast is served daily in the Cedar Bistro. Offering full leisure facilities, complimentary secure underground car parking and wifi. The Killeshin Hotel - Where award winning service matters ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Killeshin Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Portlaoise, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Price Range: ₹ 4,407 - ₹ 9,933 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Killeshin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Killeshin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeshin Hotel Portlaoise
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Killeshin Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Belfast, United Kingdom
Manchester, United Kingdom
Sheffield, United Kingdom

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Killeshin Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go to another hotel”
adamA3725RG, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for a double room as the single bed are very narrow.”
cmci101, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“1st floor was nice and quiet”
84ruthie, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in 109, looking out to front of hotel.”
  • Double Bedroom
  • Tea / Coffee
  • Simple, but clean
  • Wardrobe with full length mirrors
  • Bathroom
59claireq, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were on the 3rd floor and had no disturbances”
315kated, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$ 73* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 75
Orbitz.comUS$ 73
TripAdvisorUS$ 75
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates