We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (14)
Room & Suite (6)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good18%
  • Average2%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“compote”(4 reviews)
“on arrival”(7 reviews)
“one night”(8 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
49
12
2
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
49
12
2
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscompoteon arrivalone nightcooked breakfastb and brooms are largeelectric picnichome away from homebed and breakfastfresh fruitexcellent locationstay there againdinahhostsjerryguesthouseireland
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very accommodating, lovely people, enjoyed a pleasant overnight stay and a cracking breakfast in the morning, my only negative was that the 15 inch screen TV in the room looked like it was from the 70's, and I could not change the channel as the...More

Thank John T
Reviewed 1 week ago

Whilst reluctant to provide negative feedback on this occasion I feel compelled to post a review to reflect my personal experience at this property. The property is old fashioned and the facilities dated - not of a 5 star standard. We were placed in a...More

Thank dubaidiva
Response from Gos90, Owner at Ivyleigh HouseResponded 1 week ago

Hi. Just to clarify your review, tv; s are supplied on request, which you never requested. You requested a twin and single rooms, which you were provided. The milk was in date and you did not mention it while you were here. With regard to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I am always reluctant to appear negative or overly critical but can only offer my genuine personal opinion based upon our experiences at this property. The B and B is not of a 5 star standard. The facilities and furnishings are dated - our room...More

Thank Sue H
Response from Gos90, Owner at Ivyleigh HouseResponded 1 week ago

Hi Sue, Thank you for your review. However, just clarify a few points you made in relation to your stay. You requested an early check in the first day and we facilitated you. TV's are available to our guests on request as advertised. The reception...More

Reviewed 1 January 2018

The rooms at Ivyleigh House are 4/5 star hotel quality rooms but it’s the atmosphere that is so warm and very personal. Just the reason why you pick a B & B over a more commercial alternative. The breakfast menu is varied and really tasty...More

Thank clinthan
Response from Gos90, Owner at Ivyleigh HouseResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Clinthan for that very detailed response. We are so delighted that your stay was so pleasant and enjoyable. It was a pleasure to look after you while you were here. Apologies for the delay in responding but it is important when you have...More

Reviewed 22 October 2017

Clean, warm and welcoming. Attention to detail. A fortunate find. Every room has lovely English decor, and the gardens! A short walk to excellent restaurants within a quiet Irish community. Our breakfast was delicious, and we look forward to another stay in the future.

Thank jhafeman
Response from Gos90, Owner at Ivyleigh HouseResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review of Ivyleigh and surroundings. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return visit. Kind Regards.

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Portlaoise
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Price range
US$ 130 - US$ 144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
6
Reservation Options
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ivyleigh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Location
Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (14)
Room & Suite (6)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Ivyleigh House staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Each room is special."
Read review
"Rooms overlooking the rear garden are very quiet at night."
Read review
"There are all great."
Read review
"view of garden at back was nice"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing