We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Gandon Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Gandon Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 90: English reviews
Start your review of The Gandon Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We went to the gandon inn for a meal last weekend & it was absolutley beautiful from start to finish, the restaurant was lovely & busy not overly busy where we were, first we had de staters, der were 3 of us, the vegetable soup 1 of us had was delicious 2 of us had the barbecue chicken wings also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Imelda D
Castlebar, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful. A few things in the bathroom need finishing off (changes to fixtures which need finishing), but overall it was excellent. Had bar bite and breakfast here, and again all food was excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin O
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stopped here for tea & scones on an outing to Dublin. What great friendly service. Very large scones. Nothing spared & very well prepared for a group. Highly recommend taking a break from the motorway to stop here

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Dropped in here for breakfast recently with the family and overall found it good. Staff were friendly and helpful and we were certainly full on exiting. My only qualm would be that the toast was served well before the cooked breakfasts and obviously had gone cold. We weren't asked or given the option either. So maybe that's something to bear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevin f
wickow
Reviewed 30 November 2016

My Husband, Daughter and I stopped off at the Gandon Inn for Lunch, and we were not disappointed with the service or the food, the staff were so friendly and the food was cooked to perfection. We will be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dairygold
The_Gandon_Inn, Front Office Manager at The Gandon Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stop off with us. We were delighted to hear your food was cooked to perfection and that our staff were so friendly! We pride ourselves on being family friendly so I’m happy that showed through with the service you received. We look forward to greeting you again when you’re...

Portlaoise, Ireland
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We had a group of 150 men booked in for Breakfast at 10am on Sunday morning and again for dinner on our return journey. 3 Buses pulled up and were not left disappointed. The service and staff were excellent, all people were fed promptly and portions were plentiful. We had the same experience on our 2nd visit of the day...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank voconnell129
The_Gandon_Inn, Front Office Manager at The Gandon Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent visit to us. Our staff were delighted with your review. We were so happy that you found our service and staff excellent and that you all enjoyed your home cooked breakfasts and evening meals. Our team of chefs were very happy to hear everything was tasty and plentiful....

Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here over the bank holiday weekend for a catch up with old friends and we had a fantastic weekend thanks in no small way to Tom Tracey and his fabulous staff. Nothing is a problem to this crew and they all make it their business to make sure you know this. You will travel a long way to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Michael M
The_Gandon_Inn, Front Office Manager at The Gandon Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us. We were delighted you had such a fantastic weekend and to read that you found our staff fabulous was of course an easy read! Tom was delighted with your review and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon. Many thanks, Stacey Connor Duty Manager

Monroe, New Jersey
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We stopped by here for a lunch break after arriving in Dublin on route to East Clare, Our sandwiches were tasty, the service was pleasant, price was reasonable. It is located conveniently from the motorway.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CCH1223
The_Gandon_Inn, Front Office Manager at The Gandon Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit to us. Our team were delighted to hear you enjoyed your sandwiches and service and that our prices were reasonable. We look forward to welcoming you again when your next passing by. Many thanks, Stacey Connor Duty Manager

Reviewed 27 September 2016

Took my family to this restaurant whilst passing through an its safe to say i was very impressed with what this place has too offer, food and service was to a very high standard. would definitely recommend to everyone!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alison M
The_Gandon_Inn, Front Office Manager at The Gandon Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit to us. I'm glad to hear you were impressed with our food and service. Your recommendation is very much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Stacey Connor Duty Manager

Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Travelling from Dublin to Limerick on Sunday 25th September 2016, at approximately 5 pm stopped off here for food. What a disappointment. I had Lamb dinner, which was absolutely dreadful. The Lamb was completely dried up and vegetables were cooked a long, long time. Despite the fact that it was inedible and I was asked by four different members of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LoveDiningOut035
The_Gandon_Inn, Front Office Manager at The Gandon Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to us. We investigated with the staff members who were on that evening. We were serving the lamb option to a huge number of customers that evening as it’s one of our most popular menu options and yours was the only complaint. You were offered an alternative meal which was...

9 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
8.8 km away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
610 reviews
12.3 km away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
656 reviews
10.4 km away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,706 reviews
10.5 km away
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
971 reviews
16.5 km away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
... more   less 

Additional Information about The Gandon Inn

Address: Emo Court Demesne | Old Dublin/Cork N7 road, Portlaoise, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Price Range: ₹ 6,217 - ₹ 9,092 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Gandon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Gandon Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We do not stay here as we are locals.”
 of 5 bubbles LaoisFoodie, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Cannot answer as we only used the restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles pipeaggro, 21 May 2016 | Read review
“Sorry I have not stayed here.”
 of 5 bubbles Howth2015, 20 Nov 2015 | Read review
“We didn't stay overnight so cannot comment”
 of 5 bubbles 912teresah, 4 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Just come off Exit 15 on the M7 and its around 1km. Simple to find you wont regret it.”
 of 5 bubbles 123MartinL, 8 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5