District 3 Hotel
The roach we killed with a towel in our room.
Traveller (101)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (5)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#15 of 94 hotels in Chattanooga
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Situated in the heart of charming Chattanooga, The District 3 Hotel, Ascend Collection is on the Southside of Downtown, in the Entertainment District. We are just minutes from a wide array of attractions and sights, including Rock City, the Tennessee Aquarium, Chattanooga riverfront, the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga (UTC), Historic Chickamauga Civil War Battlefield, and Lookout Mountain. Guests of this hotel will enjoy many amenities, including Free Deluxe Hot Continental breakfast, free local calls, and free coffee. Guests will also enjoy the seasonal outdoor pool and BBQ area, with Corn Hole boards, for family fun! We're only blocks away from Finely Stadium and also the historic Chattanooga Choo-Choo & Station Street entertainment venues. including the Revelry Room. The Comedy Catch, SongBIrds, and The Signal Concert stage.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Stay 2x, Get a $50 Gift Card

Location

100 W 21st St, Chattanooga, TN 37408-2528
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles531 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The District 3 Hotel garners praise for its inviting rooms with updated, local-themed décor and a range of appreciated amenities, including a sizable pool and diverse breakfast options. While some guests have noted room for improvement in noise level and deeper cleaning, the overall cleanliness and comfortable accommodations often impress visitors. Acknowledged for its family-friendly vibe and attentive staff, the hotel also offers good value due to its affordable rates and convenient location near downtown Chattanooga, despite some concerns about the surrounding area.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Neglected
Value
Affordable
Cleanliness
Mixed
Noise level
Mixed
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
531Reviews1Q+A95Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 295
  • 147
  • 46
  • 27
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Caprice S wrote a review Jun 2024
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel and its accommodations were great! Staff was very personable and accommodating! Breakfast was great and had a good variety each day we were there. The courtyard offered several seating areas both inside and outside the pool. This was one of the largest hotel pools we’ve seen. Even with several guests on some days, it wasn’t crowded. We will absolutely use this hotel again. It was very clean and had everything we needed. I was even able to fill our cooler with ice each day easily before we headed out to the ballpark.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Manager, Owner at District 3 Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, who will be encouraged by your remarks. We continuously strive to exceed guest expectations. We look forward to serving you in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susanne T wrote a review Feb 2020
North Carolina Mountains, North Carolina
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were really excited to find a Choice Hotel this close to downtown! We came around lunch time on Super Bowl Sunday and knew that it was way too early to check in, but Kristina was more than happy to let us park our car and give us wonderful tips on where to eat and what to do. Downtown for us was in walking distance (about 3/4 mile to the Tivoli Theater, where we had show tickets for 2 pm). She mapped out the way to the theater, gave us a recommendation for dinner after the play and assured us that it was safe to walk in the neighborhood.
The room (# 406) was quiet and clean, spacious enough, very modern, with a super comfortable bed (the bedding could use an upgrade) and a very quiet A/C. The pull down shades blocked out all the light from the parking lot! There were lots of outlets and enough USB ports to charge all our electronics. For our two night stay, the hooks and hangers in the entry were fine, but for an extended stay probably not enough. Breakfast both mornings was very well tended to and had a good variety. Both mornings had different offerings.
Greg, the GM, was extremely nice and open to suggestions; I mentioned a crack in the caulking in the shower and within minutes he had sent Tracy to the room to check on it. Wonderful communications!
The hotel has a great outdoor space, with seating under cover and totally outside, a seasonal outdoor pool and a BBQ grill for guests to use. The lobby/breakfast room is on the smaller side, but very nice.
We also enjoyed talking with Kimberly at the front desk.
Compliments to all the staff and we are excited to have Choice Hotel this close to downtown!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The rooms to the parking lot are King size, the ones overlooking the pool are two Queens with...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at District 3 Hotel
Responded 6 Feb 2020
Dear Susanne, Providing well-equipped accommodations and unparalleled service is our primary objective, so reading your positive feedback warms our hearts. Thank you for making us your home during your time in the area, and we'd love to welcome you again at District 3 Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
felecia S wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed three nights and had a very quiet, clean, comfortable room. The lady checking us in was warm and friendly. She gave us 5$ off coupon for Songbirds Museum after I mentioned we would be visiting the museum. My husband really enjoyed the breakfast and we both enjoyed the fresh baked cookies. We used to live in Chattanooga and are very familiar with the area. We appreciated the close proximity to downtown at a reasonable price. This hotel was a great find!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at District 3 Hotel
Responded 6 Jan 2020
Dear Felecia, It was a pleasure to welcome you and your husband to District 3 Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member. We're delighted that you enjoyed our comfortable accommodations, friendly service, and great amenities. We trust you had a fabulous visit, and we hope you'll return to stay with us again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Russell S wrote a review Oct 2020
Allensville, Kentucky
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay was during covid restrictions, so review will be better once everything is back to normal.

Good is:
Choice hotel rate
Close to highway and Broad Street
Newer furnishings
Comfortable bed
Very friendly staff

Bad is:
Not walking distance to Tourist sites
Not walking distance to restaurants
Room was on the smaller side
Covid does not allow maid service on extended stay
Breakfast is a small bag - water, Apple, small muffin, bar

Remember all hotels are restricted on services (covid), but this is a cheap rate.

Recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at District 3 Hotel
Responded 23 Oct 2020
Dear Russell, We welcome positive and constructive feedback, as both enable us to continually get better. While we're happy to read of the positive aspects of your visit, such as our affordable rates, modern furnishings, cozy beds, and friendly staff, it is regrettable to hear about your concerns. Nevertheless, we're honored to have still earned your recommendation! Hopefully, you'll enjoy your next trip even more, and we wish you well.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Barbara H wrote a review Apr 2022
Maryville, Tennessee
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is located in a seedy part of town. Yes, just a few blocks away Chattanooga is seeing major renovations and improvements, and it will not be long before the location near and around the hotel is improved, but at this time it is not safe. The hotel has decent outside surveillance, but there are many homeless who hang around the area. To gain access to the front door, a room key must be swiped. The front desk does not have a full visual of the front door. This was not a good feeling.
The staff was friendly, and the breakfast was decent. The room was comfortable, but I was disappointed in not having any furniture on the balcony. None of the patios or balconies that I could see had a chair or a table.The cable worked fine the first 24 hours, but the next 48 hours we could only view some channels. Many channels showed a message of a weak signal. Housekeeping does not enter the rooms, therefore, if a guest wants fresh towels, they are required to get them from the front desk. When 2 people occupy a room for 3 nights, the trash cans fill up quickly. I don't take out the trash when I stay in a hotel. The cons outweigh the pros with this hotel. I used a lot of Choice privileges points, and can not recommend this hotel at this time.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Hotel is surrounded on 2 sides by Interstate/ramps to Interstate. Traffic noise was bothersome...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vishal Thakkar, Agency / Consultant at District 3 Hotel
Responded 4 May 2022
Dear Barbara, Thank you for sharing your experience and we are so sorry to hear that your most recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. Our primary goal is to provide all guests with an enjoyable experience and it is troubling to know that you faced such an unusual experience. Our location is only less than a mile from the downtown center and is considered one of the prime locations given its accessibility. The safety and security of our guests are our hotel's topmost priority and we take extra safety measures to ensure the same. Regardless, we regret if you felt otherwise. We do agree that with the major reservations and improvements, the neighborhood too will be improved. However, this has no impact on our property and your stays are completely safe with us. We also empathize regarding the points you mention in your review that you experienced. We will look into each issue that you have noted in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel and services. Having said that, we would hate to lose a valued guest like you. We sincerely ask for another chance in the future, and we will see to it that we deliver a flawless experience. Sincerely, Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lori J wrote a review Mar 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We checked into the hotel. Our room was filthy with a clump of at least 100 hairs on the shower wall, the bathroom floor was also littered with pubic hair and dirt, and the balcony had cigarette butts on it.I travel frequently and this is the most disgusting hotel room that I have ever seen. I have pictures of the bathroom that I can post on social media. We were told by the front desk manager, Andy, that we could either (i) stay at the hotel with a 25% discount or (ii) receive a refund and move to another hotel. When we went back to the room to see if the room had been recleaned, we were told by a young woman on the housekeeping staff in a physically threatening way that she had cleaned the bathroom and that there was no reason to reclean the bathroom. Based on this, we booked another hotel and told the front desk manager that we were moving and he refused to honor his promise to refund the price for the rooms. We had 2 rooms - one for my sister and myself and one for our minor children. So, we need a refund for both rooms. I have emailed and called the manager of the hotel, Greg Perry, multiple times. He has only responded once by email and had not returned my calls. I have disputed the charges made by the hotel on my AMEX and also with Hotels.com. Hotels.com called Andy, the front desk manager, and he refused to talk to Hotels.com. Hotels.com has escalated this complaint internally as well. We were charged $266 a night for this substandard hotel. We moved to the Mariott which was a hundred times nicer. Do not stay at this hotel.

I am not sure how this hotel has a Traveler's Choice Trip Advisor designation.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vishal Thakkar, Agency / Consultant at District 3 Hotel
Responded 4 May 2022
Dear Lori, Firstly, please accept our sincere apologies for the hassle you had to go through during your time at our property. We are extremely gutted to know that your recent stay was just not up to the mark. What you experienced is inarguably unpleasant, and we can only assure you that every bit of your concerns will be diligently investigated. This is not the kind of hospitality standard we have set for ourselves and going ahead, we will do all necessary course corrections at the earliest to ensure no other guest experiences what you did. Everyone regrets the inconvenience, but we really hope you will give us another opportunity to undo your unpleasant experience. Our hotel staff will go above and beyond to ensure your future stays are completely up to the mark. Sincerely, Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rachel S wrote a review Feb 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I have 4 girls and decided to get away for the weekend. We checked into the Red Roof Inn and Suites and they told us the King bed we requested wasn’t available and offered us “2 Queen Beds” which turned out to be 2 full size and when we stepped off the elevator we instantly smelled pot. We checked out and went down the road to this hotel. Upon checking in, we were really frustrated, but we had a quick check in by a very friendly staff. We arrived at the room and it was a little dated but free of critters that I wouldn’t want to bring home. The bathroom had a nice big shower, was adequately stocked and the only complaints I have was the walls should have been wiped down. I loved the fact that they offered a screen on the window along with a “blackout curtain.” They had a nice breakfast and it was stocked with everything from biscuits and eggs and gravy to cereal, yogurt with granola, and cereal. There was plenty of parking and it was minutes from everything. Completely non related to the hotel but Mr.Ts makes an amazing pizza and they will bring it straight to your door. If we go back for an overnight visit we will definitely be staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vishal Thakkar, Agency / Consultant at District 3 Hotel
Responded 24 Feb 2023
Dear Guest, It is so pleasing to see that your recent stay at our property was up to the mark we really appreciate your generous ratings for our hospitality standards. Thank you for your compliments on our staff, clean comfortable accommodations, and hospitality. With that being said, we also want you to know that we do not promote and are strictly against any use of any illegal substance on our property, but keeping your feedback in mind, we will investigate every bit of your concern diligently and act on them to ensure no other guest experiences what you did. Having said that, we hope you will give us the opportunity to host you even better in your future stays. Thank you for your business, and we look forward to seeing you soon. Best Regards, Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LarryR_and_MargieM wrote a review Jan 2020
Saint Paul, Minnesota
4.0 of 5 bubbles
First time we've stayed at an Ascend Collection hotel. Tried it because we were curious what "boutique hotel" means and because it is within easy walking distance of downtown. Interesting architecture due to its former life as a school. Bed was comfortable. Only real negative is that the towels were very thin -- much thinner than I would expect at a hotel that is over $120/night.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at District 3 Hotel
Responded 30 Jan 2020
Dear Larry and Margie, We are delighted to hear that our hospitable staff and impressive design made an excellent first impression during your recent visit. It is great to learn as well that you found our beds and our proximity to the downtown area ideal. Rest assured, your comments about the towels have been noted for the benefit of future guests. On behalf of our entire team, thank you for choosing District 3 Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member. We're already looking forward to your next visit so we can impress you further.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jenny C wrote a review Aug 2023
4.0 of 5 bubbles
When my family and arrived to the room the the sheets looks dirty so I ask the front desk girl to give a new clean set of sheets for my two Queen beds. She and I change it on my own. Not happy with the room. Thank God I always carry Clorox wipes to sanitize the room before we touch everything inside and spray lysol.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Please. Grange the blankets every time a new client arrives to the room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wes Foster, General Manager at District 3 Hotel
Responded 8 Aug 2023
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We take all feedback seriously and appreciate the opportunity to improve our services. We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. We understand that the comfort and satisfaction of our guests is of the utmost importance, and we fell short on this occasion. We would like to investigate the issues you have raised further so we can address them promptly. If you could kindly provide us with more details about your experience, we would be grateful. We take all feedback seriously and use it to continually improve our services. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future so that we may have the opportunity to show you the high level of service we strive for. If you do decide to return, please do not hesitate to contact us directly so that we may ensure your stay is exceptional. Thank you again for your feedback. Sincerely, Wes GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JackB wrote a review Oct 2020
Columbia, Missouri
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Looked like the hotel had been previously renovated within last 1 - 3 years. New tile in bathroom, newer TV's, that sort of thing. A little disappointed in the Grab and Go Breakfast. It consisted of an Apple, Choloate Muffin, Cereal Bar, and Water. During COVID, I've seen hotels change breakfast. They could have still had cereal (individual boxes), yogurt, etc.
Location was perfect for my needs (downtownish, easy on/off of I-24)
Staff was super friendly
Hotel was clean.
I had a room with a couch, the 'couch area' could have used a light
Parking lot was well it and felt safe
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Not much difference between pool and mountain view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at District 3 Hotel
Responded 22 Oct 2020
It's always a pleasure hearing from our guests. We're glad you felt safe and welcome while you were here and that our modern accommodations impressed you. Thank you for sharing how much you appreciated our attention to cleanliness and service. Please accept our apologies for any disappointment with the breakfast selection. We'll keep your comments in mind, and we invite you to stay with us again should you be back in town.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cpickeringwork wrote a tip 14 Jul
Land O Lakes, Florida2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"GPS hard to find"
Read full review
Andy G wrote a tip 12 Jul
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go further south to exit 1 find better hotel"
Read full review
Grafton S wrote a tip 3 Jul
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book a nicer hotel closer to downtown"
Read full review
Elena wrote a tip Jun 2024
Marietta, GA41 contributions23 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pool towels go fast, and pool closes early at 9.30. Vagrants are throughout the city, not just nearby. The area is safe."
Read full review
Kelly G wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pictures on the booking sites are not updated pictures! Still clean and decent, but not like the pictures."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chattanooga area.
PRICE RANGE
₹5,766 - ₹9,527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
la quinta inn chattanooga hotel chattanooga, la quinta hotel chattanooga, la quinta chattanooga, chattanooga la quinta
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Stadium Inn
LOCATION
United StatesTennesseeChattanooga
NUMBER OF ROOMS
103
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DISTRICT 3 HOTEL (Chattanooga) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about District 3 Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at District 3 Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at District 3 Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at District 3 Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at District 3 Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at District 3 Hotel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does District 3 Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Is District 3 Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Chattanooga HotelsChattanooga Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ChattanoogaHotels near District 3 Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire