We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Riverfront Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yankton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Riverfront Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

13 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 13: English reviews
New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewed 11 July 2015

There is so much that The Riverfront Hotel gets right: a great location and comfortably sized rooms interestingly furnished. It unfortunately fails to provide a clean and comfortable accommodation. We were met with gritty carpets, dirty windows, and items leftover from previous guests or perhaps the cleaning staff. We would have endured this, but some of our party were in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Albert H
yanktonriverrose, Owner at The Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review

We apologize for the issues this family noted. Unfortunately the huge WH suite had its large air conditioner suddenly failed just before their evening of check in. We were not able to repair it at 10 pm.That made the WH suite unusable. It was stuffy. The humidity was too high as the AC unit was not cooling and drying as...

Ephrata, Washington, United States
Reviewed 3 July 2015 via mobile

We were in the Fantles Suite which was in a small building across the street main riverfront hotel. There is no elevator so be prepared to carry your bags up 20 plus narrow steps. The suite itself needs paint and is furnished with what looks like grandma's hand me downs. This is not a cute B&B. The bedspread is from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChinaGal_57
yanktonriverrose, Owner at The Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review

Our Hotel is located in a beautiful small town historic downtown on the mighty Missouri river. Meridian walking bridge, riverside parks, stunning small baseball diamond, miles of bike trials, many cute retail and pubs. Yankton is next to Lewis & Clark Lake. There are two -3 story historic buildings with new hotel rooms and fancy suites. All are some of...

rhuby72
Reviewed 21 November 2014

We found The Riverfront on this site and thought it was worth a try. We are in the Falston suite and it is so charming. It is clean and comfortable. It is so spacious. There is a large, claw-foot soaker tub on raised pink marble. The bed was comfortable. Amenities have been given careful thought. Curt was so friendly. Plus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rhuby72
Le Mars, Iowa
Reviewed 23 September 2014

The McVay suite was wonderful. Charm, elegance, and also a very modern and clean kitchen. My wife and I loved the wood work and antiques placed around the room. Yankton is a great place for a getaway weekend with fine dining at the Black Steer steak house. Yesterdays is another great mom and pop cafe with great food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We were traveling in SD for a family wedding. We had chosen the RiverFront based on the location, amenities and room choices. When we arrived we were immediately surprised by the following: 1- The lobby area is dirty (windows are covered in fingerprints and smudges) cleaning equipment clearly visible. We were checked in and given the run down of our...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Jill G
yanktonriverrose, Owner at The Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review

Hello all, We apologize that Jill was not pleased with her room. Our hotel & the Meridian suite in particular have consistently had great reviews! We apologize that due to early check in, the room was warm & the ac unit took a while to cool the room. We asked for a delay, but apparently, preparations for the family event...

Dell Rapids, South Dakota
Reviewed 18 August 2014

3 flights of stairs hallway smelled food left in the microwave from previous customers hair on the bathroom floor and bugs on the floor. was told would be getting a credit and never did to bad great location

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kbolt57022
Colman, SD
Reviewed 19 June 2014

In town on business & conducting interviews, Curt suggested the WH Suite. It couldn't have been more perfect. I was able to conduct the interviews right by the front door. The suite itself was so homey! Was able to kick back and relax once my business was done. They have done a wonderful job restoring & updating this unique space...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gena_veen
Watertown, South Dakota
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I stayed in the #9 room, a small single queen room. when checking in the manager took me up to the room and made sure I could use the key code lock and then showed me the room and showed me how the remote for the heater/AC unit worked. had lots of pillows it an extra blanket would of been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed in the Meridian Suite and it was lovely. We are young and loved the look of the place, that old fashioned/modern fusion. The eatery in the basement was recently renovated and turned into a fine dinning place called Bella's. The staff was great, the service was a little slow but the staff was great. The food was good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
Orange, Texas
Reviewed 4 May 2013

While traveling to North Dakota, we stopped in Yankton for the night. We were not particularly excited about staying at one of the 'chains' and just happened to find the Riverfront, thanks to our GPS. This was quite a find and we had a peaceful night's rest in a comfortable room. The only constructive criticism we would make is that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kathrynemr

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yankton
2.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Kelly Inn
BEST WESTERN Kelly Inn
#1 of 7 in Yankton
269 reviews
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Yankton
29.8 km away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites Hartington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Days Inn Yankton SD
Days Inn Yankton SD
#4 of 7 in Yankton
224 reviews
2.8 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 7 in Yankton
32 reviews
8.0 km away
Lewis & Clark Resort
Lewis & Clark Resort
#2 of 3 in Yankton
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wonderfully unique and comfortable; experience the nightlife, live theatre, shopping and eating Historic Downtown Yankton has to offer while staying in rooms that are different from the rest.Our historic Riverfront & River Rose rooms and suites have been beautifully renovated to accommodate your family vacation, extended stay, girls night out, wedding party, or just a relaxing night away from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Riverfront Hotel

Address: 121 W 3rd St, Yankton, SD 57078-4365
Region: United States > South Dakota > Yankton
Number of rooms: 16
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Riverfront Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just make sure there is a blanket (or duvet) on the bed.”
 of 5 bubbles kathrynemr, 4 May 2013 | Read review
“Dont know what the cheaper rooms look like but for 125 why not get a suite?!”
  • view from the corner sofa into the kitchen
 of 5 bubbles Travelerbj, 28 Nov 2012 | Read review
2 of 2