We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 313: English reviews
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Reviewed 26 June 2016

The two things that bother me the most are old, saggy mattresses and child sized toilets, and this property offered both. Old and needing renovations. They recommended restaurant next door, but outdoor sign said "Cooks Wanted." This is code for the food isn't very good so we went to the Dairy Queen and had a great blizzard.

Thank bucky39
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Bucky39, Thank you for your review. Our mattresses are three to four years old, depending on which room you were in(I would like to know that, so if you would please contact us), so I don't believe it's a matter of them being old. However, if they felt "saggy" it is more likely the 'pillowtop effect' with a Sealy...

Arvada, Colorado
Reviewed 17 June 2016

It met all our needs. We were staying there for a bike race. The location was perfect and the staff very friendly. The room had a frig and microwave, which is important to me. They even had a hose and wash clothes outside to wash my bicycle.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Micki H
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Presumably for the "Gravel Grinder" bike race..?? hopefully you had fun! Thank you for writing a review. The wash is ready for you all summer... come back and see us again.

Reviewed 14 June 2016

We were in town for the Gold Rush Gravel Grinder bicycle race. The Best Western was the "official" sponsoring hotel. Served it's purpose excellently :-) Ease access to interstate and downtown. Opened the continental breakfast at 0400 for our early race start. Very friendly. Thanks!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Stephen W
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Stephen W, for writing a review. I'm glad you stayed with us during the Gravel Grinder --What a race! over 100 miles??!! wish I had that much energy. We are glad to serve you. Come back again.

San Carlos, California
Reviewed 6 June 2016

We are traveling the U.S. And found that out of 30 hotels so far Best Western -Spearfish is one of the best. Clean, friendly and comfortable. They even supply shower caps which no one else has. Reasonable pricing as well.

Thank Vicki W
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Vicki, Thank you so much for such a rave review! I appreciate you taking the time to do so. I always like to hear these simple types of reviews about our hotel being clean, good friendly service and especially you mentioned "comfortable". That's great! We hope to see you again.

Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

Not the best stay ever. Room was small, stairs were messy, and everything was just ok. Not the best ever but no real complaints. The real highlight of the stay was the "build you own waffle" bar. Most best westerns have the waffle iron, sure. But they have over a dozen toppings for your waffle. Candy pieces, chocolate chips, almonds,...

Thank Amanda G
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks Amanda. We have heard lot of compliments about the waffles and toppings - glad you liked them! We always hope our hotel is up to par, and that guests are happy with everything. It sounds like we didn't fail in your case, but need to step our game a bit. such as messy stairs - I apologize. I don't...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

We spent one night here during a visit to the various parks and attractions in the area. This motel is quite clean, and we were attended to by friendly staff even though it was late at night when we checked in. We found the beds were a bit too soft, providing little support. Otherwise, the amenities in the room were...

Thank Running R
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Good morning Running R. Thanks for your review, I appreciate all the detailed comments. It sounds like overall you were happy with your stay. I know the beds will not be everyone's favorite; we tried to strike a good balance between the firm beds(some would call too hard) and the very popular and very soft pillow tops that so many...

Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Reviewed 18 May 2016

When we head this way, this is usually where we choose to stay. Friendly, clean rooms. We try to make reservations ahead of time, but our last trip was an emergency trip to get my sister back home for my moms heart surgery. We travelled from WI and got as far as Spearfish and decided we needed to stop for...

Thank Diane E
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Diane. Thank you for writing a review of your experiences at our hotel. My hotel staff and I appreciate the feedback and compliments. So glad that we had a room for you on your recent trip, and more importantly we truly hope your Mom's heart surgery went as good as possible. Please ask for me on any future visit,...

Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for our first two nights in our vacation to the Black Hills and Badlands. It is centrally located for short trips to Belle Fourche, Deadwood, Lead and Devils Tower. The rooms were very well kept, with extremely comfy beds! The breakfast was good as well. The staff were very friendly and professional. I would most definitely recommend...

1Thank Badger27
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Good morning Badger27, Thank you for your review yesterday. I'm glad everything was clean and comfortable for you - that's our number one goal! And thanks for the comments about our service too. It looks like you travel/review a lot - look forward to seeing you again.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 25 April 2016

After staying at another hotel in the area on our last visit, I was a little apprehensive about booking a place again but was nicely surprised. Great size clean room. The fridge and microwave is really useful when travelling with children, especially on my own, and having outside door access was also great. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Thank blondemummy
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Dear blondemummy, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Thank you for such nice remarks. If you are ever staying in Spearfish again, we know you have choices, so we appreciate you staying with us.

Thousand Oaks, California
Reviewed 19 April 2016

it was great, clean, great rooms, super nice staff, our flight got changed till later, they let us stay late, everyone was so nice, bed was great. location perfect I can't wait to go back and stay again, everyone should go there if in spearfish

Thank Kim S
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Kim, Thank you for writing such a nice review for our hotel in Spearfish. Even more-so, thank you for coming back again, I know you have stayed with us before so thanks for your loyalty, and once again the kind words. We hope to ALWAYS be good enough to make you want to return.

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (14)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Room/Suite (5)
Bathroom (2)
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (1)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spearfish hotels
3.4 km away
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Hampton Inn Spearfish
#4 of 14 in Spearfish
266 reviews
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Convention Center
3.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Spearfish
3.6 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Spearfish
3.4 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 14 in Spearfish
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the Black Hills of South Dakota, about halfway between Mount Rushmore National Memorial and Devils Tower National Monument, the Best Western Black Hills Lodge in Spearfish, South Dakota is near Interstate 90 at Exit 12. Highly ranked on TripAdvisor in Spearfish the past couple years, you'll love the clean rooms with up to date amenities, the nice outdoor pool area and our Lookout Lounge and patio. Find shopping at our quaint downtown stores and a host of great restaurants nearby, including a 24-hour Millstone next door. With most Black Hills attractions 7-70 minutes away in several directions, we make a great stop along the way or as a week-long vacation headquarters. You will be most pleased with our hospitality and service - they are second to none in the area. We wish you safe travels always! ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge

Address: 540 East Jackson Blvd., Spearfish, SD 57783
Region: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Price Range: ₹ 4,477 - ₹ 9,755 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spearfish
Spearfish Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hotel is relatively close to local attractions”
 of 5 bubbles 316jeanm, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“See description.”
 of 5 bubbles WallaceW380, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Car access out your door on main level. Quieter on second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 50somethingscanada, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for Lookout Mountain side”
 of 5 bubbles Vei1962, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Walk in door on first floor was great for watching motorcycle.”
 of 5 bubbles LiveEachDay, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5