We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spearfish Canyon 10900 Rimrock Place, PO Box 365, Spearfish, SD 57783
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Rim Rock Lodge is located in the heart of the Northern Black Hills, SD and is the perfect spot for the active vacationer - hiking, climbing, biking, fishing, site-seeing and, at the end of the day, relaxing in the serenity of Spearfish Canyon. Our 4 cabins are historic on the outside, but comfortable, updated hotel rooms on the inside. Two of our three luxury suites are like one-bedroom apartments with full kitchens, satellite TVs and washer/dryers. Our third suite is similar to a hotel room with satellite TV, small refrigerator and microwave. All suites have large decks and beautiful views of the Spearfish Canyon. Our 1919 historic lodge boasts two large decks as well as an indoor lobby where meetings and special events can be held. Our gift shop, gallery and Canyon Bistro - serving prepared foods/lite bites and beverages, including beer and wine - are open most days from 1pm-6:30pm.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Kitchenette
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Family
Location
Full view
Getting there
Rapid City Regional Airport79 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews & more
31Reviews
42Photos
2Q+A
12Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 28
  • 1
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
We enjoyed the Sunday Brunch that is offered three times during the summer months. The venue is beautiful, wonderfully taken care of and improved. (I remember Rim Rock Lodge as a young child. They have improved it beyond would would seem to be possible.) The food for the Sunday
Read more
We stayed in the Tatanka Suite 6/14 - 6/16/18 and had a quaint, clean, newly remodeled adorable room. The bed was super comfortable. This room comes with A/C which we didn't need, and also satellite TV. The best part was our private deck overlooking breathtaking views of spearf
Read more
First of all, the people taking care of this place are indeed MOST excellent. The owners, Geoff and Lori, were so welcoming and would do anything possible to make our stay good. Really nice people. The caretakers, Maggie and Charlie, were of the same fabric, and just wonderful!
Read more
We were very much looking forward to our stay here and were very disappointed. The location is great, close enough to town to be there in 10 or 15 minutes but away from the crowds. The cabins are updated but not very functional. We chose this location for the kitchen. Unfortunat
Read more
Response from Rim Rock L, Owner at Rim Rock Lodge
Responded 3 Oct 2017
We are very sorry to hear that your visit was not what you had hoped. Please know that for sanitary purposes, we do not keep plates or utensils in the cabins, but as noted on our website, these items -- as well as grilling equipment -- are readily available for all guests upon request. Likewise, we do not provide coffee makers for guests but do provide free coffee to guests during breakfast and upon request.
Read more
This was my first trip to South Dakota, and staying at Rim Rock Lodge was the icing on the cake to a wonderful trip. The location is breathtakingly beautiful. Our hosts, Geoff and Lori were great. Attentive, friendly, informative, helpful and professional. We stayed in the Edge
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementRim Rock Lodge
Tatanka Suite deck
Photo provided by managementRim Rock Lodge
Tatanka Suite
Photo provided by managementRim Rock Lodge
Margaret Bridge Suite kitchen and dining
Photo provided by managementRim Rock Lodge
Aspen Cabin overlooking Spearfish Creek
Photo provided by managementRim Rock Lodge
Aspen Cabin
Previous
Are dogs allowed?
Thank you for your inquiry. Due to our location in the middle of the forest, poison ivy, and hypo-allergenic reasons, we do not allow pets of any kind.
0 votes
Show all answers
Do any of the cabins allow a dog?
"Amazing view, peaceful property"
"From what I saw, there are no bad rooms. The cabins are placed for privacy and views. Excellent views and seclusion even in the lodge."
"The Birch cabin is right next to the breakfast area and family area."
"Lovely property"
"If you like rustic and modest, and you are a couple, you may like the Aspen Cabin, which is closer to the creek and has a nice porch."
Previous
LOCATION
United StatesSouth DakotaSpearfish
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing