We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

American Buffalo Resort

Save
Share
Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (3)
Pool & Beach (2)
Overview
Hotel website
13752 S Highway 16, Rapid City, SD 57702-6582 See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Kitchenette
Pets Allowed
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
About
Description
RV Resort & Cabins located in the Beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota. Wooded RV sites, rustic cabins with all linens provided. Most cabins have kitchens and bathrooms. Less
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Air Conditioning
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Refrigerator in room
Self-Serve Laundry
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
120
Formerly known as
Mystery Mountain Resort
Also Known As
Mystery Mountain Hotel Rapid City
Location
United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Location
Full view
Getting there
Rapid City Regional Airport21 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Photos
Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (3)
Pool & Beach (2)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
87
24
10
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
87
24
10
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mystery mountain pancake breakfast bear country pool and hot tub bathrooms and showers black hills rv sites basketball court reptile gardens family reunion perfect location saw deer great place for family road noise wi fi stayed nights laundry room
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018

For a visit to the Black Hills area it’s hard to pick out a good location from which to explore the many attractions in the area. We chose this one which is a few miles south of Rapid City. We drove our toad quite a...More

1  Thank specialklc
Response from CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at American Buffalo ResortResponded 4 September 2018

Thank you for visiting with us, we're pleased that you could enjoy the black hills area and benefit from the beautiful scenery and well kept setting that American Buffalo resort has to offer our valued guests. We are hoping to have you stay again if...More

Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

What a beautiful rv campsite with very clean facilities. Nice shade. Very helpful and courteous owners and helpers. Only recommendation would be a dog run. Theres space off on the side of the campsite. Will return again if in the area.More

Thank Denise R
Response from CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at American Buffalo ResortResponded 29 August 2018

It is great to hear that you have had a comfortable stay and could benefit from a clean and well-shaded setting as well as courteous service from our team. We appreciate your suggestion as we are always seeking ways to improve and do look forward...More

Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Location was perfect for trike riding through some BEAUTIFUL landscape! Cabins were clean and met our needs. Staff was friendly and helpful. I would not hesitate recommending a stay in the American Buffalo cabins!More

Thank DeeVanN
Response from CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at American Buffalo ResortResponded 29 August 2018

We're happy to hear that you have enjoyed having a location that was perfect, a beautifully landscaped setting and a clean cabin to make your experience great! We appreciate your recommendation very much and would love having you return to American Buffalo Resort for another...More

Reviewed 16 August 2018

We arrived after hours and the hosts met us and helped us back our big RV into such a convenient spot--quiet but nearby the pool and other amenities. The other campers all seemed to be very friendly. We stayed 3 nights and loved our experience...More

Thank SheilaEndres
Response from CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at American Buffalo ResortResponded 22 August 2018

So glad that you felt comfortable and have received great service from our team. We love being able to provide a beautiful setting and amenities to make your stay enjoyable. Thank you for understanding as we took action on your concern. We hope to welcome...More

Reviewed 14 August 2018

The best thing about this resort is it's location! It is conveniently located next to several key attractions and an easy drive to other ones. I have noticed others complaining about the Wi-Fi, and it must have been where they were located within the resort;...More

Thank gnrager
Response from CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at American Buffalo ResortResponded 22 August 2018

It's great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay so very much. We're glad to give you a great outdoor setting and do appreciate your input as we are always looking for ways to improve. We hope to have you back to camp with...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Nicole D
8 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from stevecarolyn2016 | Reviewed this property |
We didn't use it so I'm not sure...Sorry. Have you looked on their website? They had a cute mini golf court there for the kids. But we didn't do that either.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Yes there is free WiFi but it was very spotty. Guess you're there to unplug from life so it didn't..."
martynelsonjr
14 Jul 2017
Read review
"All tent sites are well away from road and protected from wind."
WYTraveler04
28 Jun 2017
Read review
"Get a site in the back, away from the highway."
CP216
2 Nov 2016
Read review
"Have stayed several times both during the Sturgis Rally and other times during the year for family vacations."
C1344UEtimh
13 Sep 2016
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing