We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Spearfish Canyon Lodge

Show Prices
#2 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Spearfish Canyon Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

390 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Spearfish Canyon Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 388: English reviews
South Dakota
Reviewed 2 February 2016 via mobile

We Stayed for a winter weekend. Arriving 9pm we were still able to use the open air hot tub which was very nice. The rooms were very clean. We stayed in a normal bedroom where we had gotten a nice deal through a booking portal. For the normal price I would not stay there. The window was to the parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olifia
Scott B, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Olifia, Thank you for your review. I apologize that you did not receive the level of customer service we expect from our front desk employees or our restaurant. Every property has improvements they can make and I appreciate your feedback. If you have any further questions or comments I would love to hear from you; please don't hesitate to call...

Black Hawk, South Dakota
Reviewed 29 January 2016

My sister and i recently rented the cabin, which advertises a fireplace. We stayed for 2 nights, and our fireplace wouldnt stay lit. (Gas) We brought this to the attention of the Lodge staff. The serviceman came and told us that the fireplace was out of date and needed to be replaced. Evidently they have been aware of this problem...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank susie_klop
Scott B, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Susie Klop, I understand your frustration with your recent stay and apologize that you did not receive the high level of service our Lodge is known for. I encourage you to contact me about your stay with us - please feel free to call me at 605-584-3435. Thank you again and I look forward to hearing from you.

Gillette
Reviewed 28 January 2016

What a great place to stay. We attended a wedding here this winter and it was beautiful. Rooms were clean and beds were comfy! the restaurant also had amazing food and service! I would stay here again !

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 808tara
GMLinda, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

808tara, Thank you so much for your review! We are glad to hear you had a good experience at the wedding you attended here at the Lodge! The Canyon is beautiful in every season and we hope you can come experience it's beauty and stay with us again. Linda Ahlers GM

Hoople, North Dakota
Reviewed 28 January 2016

The rooms,the staff,the amenities all top rate. Winter pkgs or summer and ohhh the fall. All seasons are a GREAT time to visit! The restaurant has up scale food with reasonably prices. Hiking trails in season and we'll groomed. Snowmobiling is fantastic well groomed trails!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cskjerven11
GMLinda, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

cskjerven11, We want to thank you for your great review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Lodge and welcome you back! Thank you, Linda A GM

Bismarck, North Dakota
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Unfortunately our trip didn't include enough snow for snowmobiling but we did enjoy hiking, the hot tub and the beautiful fireplace in the lobby. Turned out we were the only two couples booked that Sunday night. It was as if we had rented the whole lodge. Felt rich!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dakotamouse
GMLinda, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Dakotamouse, Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the Lodge. We are hoping that more snow appears in the forecast and hope you will come back! Thank you, Linda A GM

Orange City, Iowa
Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed this past weekend and had a wonderful time! We were in a regular room that was clean and had been updated since the last time we were there. We went on a snowmobile package and the snowmobiles were in good condition. The canyon was spectacular with new snow, trails in good shape, and even tried a day of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherry L
GMLinda, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Sherry L, Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our updated rooms and had a good time out on the snowmobile trails. We hope you will continue with your decision to make it an annual event and hope we will see you again next year! Linda GM

Hastings, Minnesota
Reviewed 13 January 2016

My only complaint was a large wedding group checked in the night before we were leaving. This group allowed young kids to run WILD through the lodge and especially the lobby with no regard to other guests. It was so bad we had to retreat to our room. The hotel staff should have done something as we are paying guests...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stakevacation
GMLinda, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Stakevacation, Thank you so much for taking your time to review Spearfish Canyon Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we do apologize that your time in our lobby was disrupted. We hope you will come back and stay again! Linda GM

Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewed 12 January 2016

The lodge and location are beautiful. The rooms are clean. The restaurant food was good (not great) and the prices were reasonable, but slow getting your meals to you. Staff were professional, patient, helpful and courteous.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tammiw2016
GMLinda, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Tammiw2016, Thank you so much for taking to review Spearfish Canyon Lodge! We hope you will stay with us again. Linda GM

Dell Rapids, South Dakota
Reviewed 10 January 2016

The lodge was very clean and the rooms were great. I was a guest and part of the bridal party at a wedding at the lodge and I thought the lodge was beautiful; however I had some concerns regarding the bar services. We paid a decent amount of money to stay at the lodge and the bride and groom paid...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank olivia_braun
Marion, South Dakota
Reviewed 8 January 2016

The Rooms are fantastic, with Great hospitality and awesome food! The lobby is a good place to hang visit friends and play games, or just sit back and relax. Or you can jump in to the hot tub and soak well enjoying the beauty of the Hills!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank svbison
GMLinda, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

sbvison, We appreciate that you took time to review Spearfish Canyon Lodge and are so glad you enjoyed your time here! We would love to have you stay again. Thank you, Linda GM

178 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (166)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lead
12.1 km away
Blackstone Lodge and Suites
13.2 km away
Town Hall Inn
Town Hall Inn
#1 of 8 in Lead
205 reviews
17.9 km away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#6 of 24 in Deadwood
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 km away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
16.2 km away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
12.9 km away
Dakota Spur Hotel
Dakota Spur Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lead
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Spearfish Canyon Lodge

Address: 10169 Roughlock Falls Road, Lead, SD 57783
Region: United States > South Dakota > Lead
Price Range: ₹ 4,210 - ₹ 12,048 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spearfish Canyon Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Spearfish Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spearfish Canyon Hotel Lead
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Spearfish Canyon Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Spearfish Canyon Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I like one with a creek-canyon view”
kayr107, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get an upper floor for the best views!”
Bear5000, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room was on main floor, at the rear entrance to the parking lot. Very accessible for handicap people and loading and unloading vehicle.”
njsedor, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We only stayed in one, but it was perfect”
joniew160, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the back side were super quiet! Nice robes to use for hot tubs!!”
138psa, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5