We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Budget Host Sundowner

27/05/2017 28/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Budget Host Sundowner
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Budget Host Sundowner
See the most recent reviews
Showing 57: English reviews
Michigan
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Because this is a pet friendly hotel, I told them I was traveling with my cat. "Pet Friendly" appears to mean they put you in their dirtiest room. The room and bathroom were clean, but the smell of old smoke and disinfectant made it difficult to breathe. The location is perfect for an early morning take-off to go through the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
robin r, Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and apologize if you weren't 100% happy with your room. We are pet friendly and do have non-smoking pet rooms available as well as smoking. We hope you stay with us again, safe travels.

Independence, Iowa
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Upon arriving at this location, we thought the outside looked sketchy. The pool was not in service and the grounds looked a little off. The young lady at the front desk was not personable at all and seemed to not like her job. When we got in our room, we were surprised because it looked much better than the exterior...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Schoons42
robin r, Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and are thank you for your business. I apologize for the pool not being open when you arrived, but the issues have been addressed and it is up and running. We hope you stay with us again in the future, safe travels.

Des Moines, United States
Reviewed 11 September 2015

We made the reservation on the road and as we drove up to the motel, I was leery about the quality of the place. But to our surprise the room was very nice, very clean. The owners must have just remodeled the rooms. The outside could use some updating. The bed was very comfortable and the complimentary breakfast was nice....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Carole M
Eric W, General Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

HI And Thank you for posting a review about The Budget Host Sundowner Motor Inn. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we are always working on updating the property. That is an ongoing project every year when you operate a business. We hope you do make a return trip and stay with us again. Sincerely, Eric Wilmarth...

Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewed 9 September 2015

Due to rain and lack of choices, we had to stop in Kadoka for the night. Ok, so this is an older roadside type motel and it lacks the modern conveniences. The biggest problem were flies. They have fly traps all along the outside doorways, but they were still a problem. I did get a good night sleep and that's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dottie1224
Eric W, General Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

Hello and Thank you for your review. We are sorry about the flies, this year has been terrible for them. We are very happy you had a good nights rest. Thank you! Sincerely, Eric Wilmarth Manager

Marissa, Illinois
Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

The building is a little dated. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were very clean. Standard continental breakfast but area was clean an well stocked which was an accomplishment since the place was full. Great place to stop over for the night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eddi511
Eric W, General Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will stay with us again. Sincerely, Eric Wilmarth Manager

Davis, California, United States
Reviewed 4 September 2015

Room was typical of older motel on the Freeway - decor had seen better days but it was clean, breakfast was cereal and packaged stuff. Attitude of desk clerk was a bit unpleasant. He knew other hotels in town were either full or closed and he made it clear that if we passed up the room he had available we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca A
Eric W, General Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I just let you know the motels close and many miles were full. Sorry, but I just spoke the truth. Best Regards. Eric Wilmarth MGR

Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

It was late and we needed a room. We turned off the freeway and the rate was lower on this than the one next door but still think they over charge. Standard two queen room, ok clean but an old carped that had seen better days. Two outlets on the wall above the nightstand for charging cell phones. Bathroom clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pillerilla
Eric W, General Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

HI Thank you for the review. I am sorry that you were unhappy with the price, but you did stay at the peak of the summer season. Also, I am sorry about the flies, but we deal with that issue this time of year and it is an ongoing problem. We hope you stay with us again. Kind Regards. Eric...

Rockford, Illinois
Reviewed 9 August 2015

In short, what I can say is this hotel definitely hikes its prices from being one of the only motel/hotels in the area. Unfortunately, due to Sturgis Bike Rally, we were left with little options since everything was booked up for miles. This was the only place that had rooms available with in 50 miles. We ended up paying $200...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlasaG
Eric W, Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and the staff does care for the guests staying here, I am sorry you were not pleased at the property. We take great pride in offering clean, comfortable rooms and outstanding customer service. Again, I apologize on behalf of all of us at the Budget Host Sundowner that you were not happy with the stay....

Reviewed 3 August 2015

We stayed here on the 2nd night of a 12 day motorcycle trip. This is an older hotel and the rooms are small (we had 4 adults in our room and it was tight). However, the room was very clean. My husband and I got in late due to some mechanical issues - the 2 nearby restaurants were closed by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank C4M2
Eric W, Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your review and if you do stay with more than two in a room, you might ask for a room upgrade and try our large family units that have three beds. We hope you stay with us again! Best Regards, Eric Wilmarth, Mgr

Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

We stopped in during bike week, and they had a room! Rooms were pretty old fashioned, but very clean. I have to say these were the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in in a hotel! Pool looked clean as well, but we didn't try it out. It's like an oasis in the middle of the desert!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erin O
Eric W, Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

HI and Thank you for staying at The Budget Host Sundowner Motor Inn. We are so happy you liked the beds and thank you for staying with us Best Regards Eric Wilmarth Mgr

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Budget Host Sundowner in beautiful Kadoka, South Dakota. Our Inn features 40 well-appointed guest rooms located just minutes from top South Dakota attractions. Come and experience hometown pride and hospitality at its best. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Budget Host Sundowner

Address: 510 SD Hwy 73, Kadoka, SD 57543
Region: United States > South Dakota > Kadoka
Price Range: ₹ 5,445 - ₹ 11,020 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Budget Host Sundowner 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Budget Host Sundowner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Sundowner Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Budget Host Sundowner staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Alpena

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Budget Host Sundowner staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Call local motel. Room was almost half of what was quoted online! Ask for their best rate!”
pb563, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Get there early or reserve to get a ground-floor room.”
I4246ENmaryk, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I'd be careful about mentioning you are traveling with a pet, because they might put you in a foul-smelling room.”
V6717VSdebbiem, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you cannot navigate stairs, be sure to request a bottom floor room when you check in.”
C4M2, 3 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Room was very quiet, a nice surprise considering the location close to I 90 . A/C was a bit noisy but not bad”
egg58, 15 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
Hotwire.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates