We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Hickok House

PricelineUS$ 65*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 70*
US$ 65*
Great Deal
US$ 70*
US$ 70*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Hickok House
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Hickok House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 256: English reviews
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 20 July 2016

My husband and our 12 yr old son spent two nights July 2 and July 3,2016 in this hotel. It was motel style which we did not mind at all. It was far enough away from the main street in Deadwood that it was quiet in the evenings. The only thing is that we had to pay for breakfast every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alloha2011
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time in Deadwood and as our guest. Our restaurant has some terrific staff. They are a fun to work with and more importantly love our guests. Pam can remember what you ordered from stay to stay. It amazes us all. I am glad you were...

Clermont
Reviewed 19 July 2016

The price was way too high for mediocre quality. Water pressure and heat did not work properly, Poor lighting in room. Restaurant understaffed and snotty staff. Put this hotel on your "must avoid" list

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harold M
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

I am so very sorry you had a bad experience with us. I wish you would have told us about your concerns while we were here. We would have gladly done our best to correct any issues you had so that we could have corrected them. I would appreciate it very much if you would contact me at 605.578.1611 so...

Wisconsin Dells, United States
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Very nice place to stay. Clean rooms, friendly service, good restaurant and quiet. Have stayed there several times and have never been disappointed. Walking distance to downtown. A small casino and lounge. Just a family friendly place to stay.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jerry P
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

We appreciate you being our guest. We hope to see you again soon. thank you for the feedback, it is nice to know we are helping people enjoy Deadwood.

Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

I had a very comfortable clean room, on a quiet street, five minutes to Main Street, Adams House, Adam Museum, and the HARCC. Affordable meals at the Hickok Resturant ....I will return and stay for convenience of location and friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to host your stay while you were in Deadwood. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Thank you for providing us with the feedback about your time here. We appreciate you taking the time to submit this review.

Medicine Hat, Canada
Reviewed 11 July 2016

The pictures are not accurate. This place is a dump. The only good thing I can say about this property is the restaurant food and service is great. Please stop for a bite to eat but then continue on to another hotel for your stay.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg K
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

I would like to start by apologizing for you not having a wonderful stay with us. We were under the impression that you were satisfied with your stay with us. When you checked out after the third night you never mentioned anything being wrong with your stay. I would have been very happy to address any concerns you had while...

crown point, United States
Reviewed 9 July 2016

Just about every summer I and 5 of my friends from home ride our harleys to Deadwood and meet a friend from Washington there. He also brings 2 of his friends with him. We stay at your hotel and have a great time. We stay around 4 days and just love Deadwood. Good riding, good food, nice casino and very...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dale T
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Dale, Normally I would not reply to you so personally, however I feel I need to make an exception this time. Thank you for such kind words. We truly enjoy having your group of friends here with us. You guys are a lot of fun to be around. We are glad that you are so happy with your stays with...

Fay
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Our stay at the Best Western Hickok House was very comfortable. The rooms were clean. Our room was big but our kids room was not. Ask for a bigger room. The staff was very friendly and courteous. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicki I
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

I am glad we were able to make your stay comfortable. Our rooms with one queen are smaller rooms. I do strongly recommend reserving a room with a king bed or two queens if you want to have a lot of space. We are glad you will say with us again if in Deadwood. If there is anything we can...

Medina, Ohio
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Our family of 5 spent 1 night here in early July 2016. We requested, and received, adjoining rooms - Room 225 and Room 226. The rooms were located on the 2nd floor in the northern extents of the complex. The distance from our car to a set of stairs to the exterior accessed rooms was minimal. Over the last 4...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wahoo__bMedina
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We love hearing the positive feedback. While it is hard to hear that we fell short in some areas we appreciate your honesty as it provides us with information on how we can improve for our guests. I am glad you had a peaceful stay...

Medina, Ohio
Reviewed 6 July 2016

We were disappointed that we did not get a non-smoking room - although we requested one. We had planned to stay two nights... checked out after one due to the cigarette odor in the room. Was not greeted as a Platinum BW rewards member. When I told the clerk we were checking out early - and complained about the odor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah R
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

I am sorry you were not greeted properly as a Platinum member. Please note this is not a normal occurrence. We value our Best Western Rewards Members. Please know that your business is important to us. When making reservations online or thru a separate reservation agency always call the hotel to make sure that all your requests have been relayed...

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Older, worn out property but kept in very good condition. Clean enough. Perhaps this is average for deadwood. It appeared a good value given some of the others which where cheaper but the pictures looked scary

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MJHBLDR
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. Our staff is very dedicated to providing our guests with a clean and comfortable lodging. WE hope that you will consider staying with us again while you are in Deadwood. It would allow us another opportunity to show you how much our guests matter to us. We appreciate you taking...

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.6 km away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.1 km away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.8 km away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#13 of 24 in Deadwood
153 reviews
2.4 km away
First Gold Hotel
First Gold Hotel
#18 of 24 in Deadwood
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hickok House

Address: 137 Charles Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Price Range: ₹ 3,277 - ₹ 17,539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hickok House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hickok House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hickok House Hotel Deadwood
Best Western Deadwood
Deadwood Best Western
Hotel Style:
#13 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Hickok House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Hickok House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room 106 or 107”
simpydone, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the café and casino”
TechyD, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms were available for motorcycle enthusiasts.”
R7459BCkathleenm, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“This is a motor Inn (drive up outside door)”
UtopiaCentral, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Our room was directly above the front lobby where you go into check in and out. We faced the parking lot.”
Alloha2011, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$ 65* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$ 70
TravelocityUS$ 70
TripAdvisorUS$ 65
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates