We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Blue

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,392 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel Blue
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,390: English reviews
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

This hotel is nice and was perfect for our family this trip. Our only complaint was that we did not get the daily maid services usually provided. Granted we were there during Thanksgiving, we still expected housekeeping to bring new towels, make the beds, empty garbage cans...etc. We called the front desk the first morning and they said that house... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda M
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting a review for us. We do apologize that you didnt receive houskeeping and have passed that onto the housekeeping manager.. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and hope that you will stay with us again in the future. More 

Asbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

First time staying here and probably wouldn't come back. My boyfriend and I stayed there for 3 nights, our suite was spacious (bed could be more comfortable), the bathroom wasn't tidy clean. The kitchen was tiny but totally functional, living room was spacious as well but carpet had a large amount of stains, our porch was oceanfront so we did... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AnaWQ
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review for us.. We are glad that you enjoyed the pool bar and hope that you will stay with us again in the future.. More 

Londonderry, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This was our second time staying at Hotel Blue. Both times were good.Housekeeping was spot-on with plenty of towels,t,p,,coffee and always clean .Check in and out was a breeze and front desk staff were very helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Karen C
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, we just love our returning guest and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay.. We look forward to your next vacation with us. More 

Troy, N.C.
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We always have a great time at Hotel Blue. We will stay here every time it is possible. This is the BEST place for us to stay. We love it here. The front staff are always very friendly and knowledgeable about everything. They always go above and beyond the call. Housekeeping staff are very efficient and are always friendly and... More 

Helpful?
Thank pawpaw3000
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting such a great review for us. We are exicited to pass this along to the staff... We love our returning guest and look forward to seeing you as soon as you can come visit us.. More 

Simsonville, SC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

The hotel was ok but before we reserved our room we asked how far it was from the skywheel and were told it was only 2 blocks. We were also told that it was on the boardwalk. After we arrived we found out that it is not located on the boardwalk and it was 1.6 miles from the skywheel. the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Myron G
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to post a review for us. We apologize for any issues you had while staying with us and hope that you will try us again in the future. More 

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2012

My Husband and I stayed here for our Honeymoon. We went to sleep looking and listening to the ocean. We woke up to the sound of waves crashing against the shore. My favorite was the outside hot tub that is available 24hrs a day. I Can't wait to come back next year for our anniversary.

Helpful?
Thank SakeetaHayew
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Thank you so much for spending such a special occassion with us.. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and agree the sounds of the ocean are fantastic... We look forward to your return... More 

Springfield
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

this year we stayed at Hotel Blue again. This year we went down earlier than we normally do, we went down end of May first week and half of June. When we got there they gave a handicapped room, we are not handicapped therefore we tried to change rooms ,they said there was nothing available because we staying so long(12... More 

Helpful?
Thank beachbums054
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

We thank you for your feedback and are glad that you chose to stay with us. Our handicap rooms are on the higher floors, because being an older hotel, we didnt originally have handicapped rooms. We we added additional floors to our hotel, we added handicap accessible rooms according to ADA. We gladly complied and we can assure you that... More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This Hotel looks better online then it really is. I also would have not been happy if our kids would have been with us. I loved the pool bar, it was the best part of this place. It's def more geared to younger people than families. Our room was nice but killed 2 big bugs while there. They looked like... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chapmanfamily4
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and posting a review.. We do sometimes find that palmetto bugs find there way in our open air-hallways or sliding doors... We apologize for any issues you had. We agree the pool bar and music by the beach are the best.... We hope that you will return to see us again soon. More 

Turbeville SC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Were told this hotel was nice but we were really surprised to find out how nice it was. The parking garage was a little narrow but everything else was great! ! ! The room was very nice and very comfortable. Had a kitchenette so the fridge & micro were great to have. Ice machines justout the door and very convenient.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TurbevilleSC_BS
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting such a nice review for us.. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and agree we love the addition of starbucks.. We look forward to your return. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Please stay clear of this hotel.. Do not be fooled by the advertising. Their advertising is for their sister hotel Captain Quarters. None of the amenities are at their location, you have to walk two hotels down.. The rooms are filthy and they stink.. I stayed here before during the summer for a funeral. I wasn't pleased or disappointed at... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank GrahD

1,080 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (567)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (112)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (96)
Viewed
View from Room (63)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
1:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (206)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (489)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Beach (20)
Viewed
Hot Tub (9)
Viewed
Lazy River (12)
Viewed
Ocean Front Efficiency Room (47)
Viewed
Ocean Front King Room (36)
Viewed
Ocean Front Two Bedroom Suite with Handicap Accessiblity (72)
Viewed
Ocean View King Suite (50)
Viewed
Ocean View Room (36)
Viewed
Ocean View Two Room Double Suite (52)
Viewed
Ocean View Two Room King Suite (61)
Viewed
Pool (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 km away
Captains Quarters Resort
Captains Quarters Resort
#94 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
2,166 reviews
0.9 km away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#84 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
1,142 reviews
10.4 km away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#26 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#38 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
2,079 reviews
3.9 km away
The Palms
The Palms
#93 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
407 reviews
0.1 km away
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
#21 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
3,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Hotel Blue

Address: 705 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4481 (Formerly Tropical Winds)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: ₹ 5,250 - ₹ 13,978 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Myrtle Beach
Tropical Winds Myrtle Beach Sc
Hotel Style:
#84 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Blue staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Blue staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We enjoy the higher floor rooms”
 of 5 bubbles mysunshine2u, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Carry Raid and have patience. Go to higher floors.”
  • Carpet in the 2nd room, aerial view (kinda).
  • Carpet in the 1st room, in front of the dinner table.
  • Carpet in the 1st room, next to the sofa.
  • (High pitch scream)
 of 5 bubbles sunfirelight, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors our the best.”
 of 5 bubbles 596mediab, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The Ocean view King Suites are great!”
 of 5 bubbles , 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles G1089CFrickm, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay