We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Reef at South Beach

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Reef at South Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

480 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 480: English reviews
Start your review of The Reef at South Beach
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here in February. We were supposed to have a king size bed but were informed that we should have booked thru the hotel and not this site. They said there weren't any king sized beds available. Also asked for the military discount but again, since we didn't book thru the hotel directly, we were denied that discount. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank blurose64
Clayton, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Currently staying here and I never write reviews but it is so bad I felt like I had too... First we arrived late and they didn't have our room we reserved so instead of a queen bed we received 2 full sized. Not the biggest deal if it would have stopped there. One of the beds had sheets covered in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kristen101010
Management response:

Hello Kristen, I wanted to follow up on your review and apologize for the experience you and your family had while staying with us. We do no want to see anyone leave upset and have a ruined vacation. The hotel will be going through multi-million dollar renovation this fall and we are looking forward to a fresh new look. We...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Customer service was great. Although the room was not clean one room key didn't work we got it fixed and the light bulb covering on both lights was off I had to put them on the room overall has not been my best at myrtle Beach maybe if the room was a little cheaper I wouldn't be complaining I know...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tamara n
Management response:

We appreciate your feedback for your recent stay. We apologize for the issues you and your family encountered during your stay. We strive for 100% customer satisfaction and clearly we fell short on this. Rest assured we have addressed these issues accordingly and hope to have you and your family give us another chance in making The Reef your new...

Reviewed 19 December 2016

I made reservations at this hotel through my vacation club in early November for a New Years trip arriving on Dec 29th and they waited until December 19th to get back to the vacation club that they can't accommodate us. WTH????

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank WandaSue F
TN
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Check in was GREAT!!! Awesome friendly staff!! " House Keepers ( our room may have been a little outdated but, everything was sooooooo clean) spotless!! and Front desk give yourselves a big pat on the back and thank you!! ... When I walked in the lobby fall décor and the smells of apples & cinnamon was welcoming. We were coming...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pprecious
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear pprecious, Thank you for being a guest of the Reef. We appreciated you mentioning our Staff. The Reef is not new, but we strive to offer good guest service and clean rooms. Your remarks about the pool and spa have been communicated with my Maintenance Manager and Pool Operator. This situation will be addressed. We appreciate your business and...

Frederick, Maryland
Reviewed 30 September 2016

The location and views are great and the beach access is wonderful. The indoor-outdoor swimming pool is fantastic and the staff was very friendly. But the building is well used and it shows. There was only one elevator working for the entire week we stayed and the room HVAC equipment was noisy and blew directly across the bed. In short,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Marqman
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Mr Marqman: Thank you for being a guest of the Reef. We appreciated you mentioning our pools and our staff. The Reef is not new, but we strive to offer good guest service and clean rooms. I reviewed the service log for our elevators and did not find that we lost service for 1 week. We hope that your...

Lumberton, North Carolina
Reviewed 25 September 2016

My family an I stayed at the Reef on 9/22/16. This is the worst motel I have ever stayed at in my life. The elevator didn't work the room was dirty the couch in the room was nasty and stained also the hot water didn't work the 1st night we stayed. Ask the staff to clean the room and all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ldj589
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear ldj589: I am sorry that our accommodations did not meet your expectations. The Reef is 31 years old and we strive to provide clean, comfortable accommodations for all our guests. Our housekeeping services consist of replacing towels and emptying of trash daily and every third day your room receives full service. We hope you will return to Myrtle Beach;...

Wallkill, New York, Usa
Reviewed 25 September 2016

My sister-in-law came down to Myrtle beach with their dog. Place was moldy, dated furniture, worn rugs and generally run down. Once checked in room was dirty and when they sat on balcony they were bitten by fleas to the extent they had to leave. Management would not refund any money and has a sign which if you do not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank D
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Frank D: I am unable to verify you or your sister in law as a guest. Therefore I cannot not comment on your review.

Fries, Virginia
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Check-in quick and easy,had reservations. Oceanfront view,clean pools.Rooms need an update.Very old furniture and carpet.Our sliding glass door to balcony wouldn't slide open or close good.Towels and sheets clean.But the carpet was filthy,you couldn't walk across the floor barefooted!There was mold on the walls and ceiling,and the dressers smelled like they had been in a fire! No housekeeping,they gave you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue S
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Sue S: Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business and apologize for the room issues you encountered. Our housekeeping normally provides full cleaning, which includes linen changes every third day of your stay. I am sorry that you did not receive that service.

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

This was by far the worst hotel I ever stayed in. They had 2 elevators and one was broken when we arrived had to wait 45 min to get on the elevator. Would of taken the stairs but would of been hard to carry 5 luggages up 5 flights of stairs with 2 kids outside. The room reeked of mildew....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristal B
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Kristal B: I am sorry that you were not pleased with the Reef Hotel. We have encountered elevator issues this summer and Thyssen Krupp Elevator has been diligent in their repair work. In addition to the balcony door locks, we also have safety bars installed in each room. I am sorry that you were unaware of the feature. Safety...

213 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (201)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Mystic Sea Resort
Mystic Sea Resort
#125 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
151 reviews
0.6 km away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#82 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,161 reviews
4.6 km away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#135 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Sea Horn Motel
Sea Horn Motel
#137 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
141 reviews
0.1 km away
Bluewater Resort
Bluewater Resort
#132 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
321 reviews
9.6 km away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#88 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All our suites are oceanfront with a private balcony. Our comfortable well-equipped rooms have kitchens with microwaves, coffee makers and toasters. Our prime location along the grand strand of Myrtle Beach makes area attractions easily accessible. Award winning entertainment and dining surround you. You can shop at the nearby Coastal Grand Mall and newly built Market Commons. Amusement parks and incredible miniature golf courses thrill the young and the young at heart. It's easy to experience all the fun of Myrtle Beach while staying at The Reef. We also sell tickets to many area shows and attractions, packaging is also available! Oceanfront or indoors, The Reef provides a lot of water fun for everyone. Swim from our oceanfront pool to our indoor swimming area. There you will also want to indulge in one our two relaxing whirlpools. There are 1o swim attractions available to you, including a lazy river and large ocean front kiddie pools! Children will enjoy free daily activities during the summer months and their parents will appreciate a night out while the children are entertained by The Reef staff. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Reef at South Beach

Address: 2101 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4734
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: ₹ 4,824 - ₹ 13,429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Reef at South Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Reef at South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef At South Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Reef At South Beach Myrtle
The Reef Myrtle Beach
Hotel Style:
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Reef at South Beach staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Reef at South Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms have a beach view. The rooms above the 10th floor are suites.”
 of 5 bubbles Marqman, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose this motel”
 of 5 bubbles ldj589, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pet friendly, full kitchen, beach front, ocean views”
  • View from room
  • Sunrise from the balcony
  • Master bedroom
  • Bathroom
  • TVs
  • Kitchen
  • View from room
  • Entrance to the second bedroom
 of 5 bubbles claudiak836, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles anicole69, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“stay elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles markuzzel, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5