We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3646
Official Site
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (2081)
360
Panoramas (51)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 20/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Ocean Reef Resort
Updated 20/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#19 of 199 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Ocean Reef Resort, the ideal resort for those seeking sun, sand, and everlasting memories. Located in the desirable north end of the beach, enjoy the quietness of the residential beach within minutes from the fun and flare of local restaurants, shops, and attractions. Our beautiful oceanfront resort offers top-of-the-line accommodations, amenities, and activities. Race down the Lagoon Launcher our highspeed waterslide, grab a tasty treat from our poolside Banana Boat Lounge, hold an exciting corporate retreat in our spacious ballroom and so much more. Check out our different room options, including 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom condominiums.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Game room
Kids stay free
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Lazy river
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Outdoor dining area
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Water park
Entertainment staff
Fishing
Table tennis
Waterslide
Indoor play area for children
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Deal:Save 25% Off Plus Receive 2 Free Breakfasts Daily
4802Reviews159Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,494
  • 1,349
  • 511
  • 240
  • 208
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Helen R wrote a review 4 Jul
1 contribution
Where to begin. I don't generally write reviews and I apologize this one is long but I feel I need to write about our Ocean Reef Resort stay. My husband and son and I stayed at Ocean Reef Resort for 8 nights. This was our 1st trip to Myrtle Beach and possibly our last vacation together since my son is a college student. Our 1st night at Ocean Reef our bathroom sink was clogged and would not drain and we had to have maintenence come up to our 14th floor room and eel out the drain. It took a while and we felt confined to our room while they were in our room working. We felt we couldn't check out the resort on our 1st night. Maintenence managed to clear the clog, but then our entire stay there was hardly any water pressure in that sink. They also left the pipe under the sink a greasy mess. If you want housekeeping duties done, you generally have to do it yourself. They did change our trash a few days but if you wanted anything else done you had to call the front desk to ask for housekeeping or just do it yourself. We had to call for towels and one time we had to call again after waiting to get towels so we coukd all shower. The elevators had issues every day of our stay where at least one of them was non working and you had to wait forever on the elevators. They were dirty too. One day we got on and there was a slice of half eaten pizza on the floor of the elevator. GROSS!!!! Parking is a nightmare. You're lucky if you can find a spot in their lots across the street in front of the hotel. Most nights after returning from dinner we had to park on the 3rd floor in their parking garage. Good exercise at least. We did have a beautiful view of the ocean from our balcony but in the evening most nights we couldn't enjoy sitting on the balcony because somewhere near us people were smoking Marijuana. The pool area was nice and enjoyable as well as the lazy river. Nice water activities if you have younger children. Breakfast is not included in your stay but the breakfast buffet they have at their restaurant is decent. The Banana Boat lounge was decent as well for drinks and pool side foods. When I mentioned some of our complaints to Amber in guest services at the front desk, she did not seem to care one way or the other that Ocean Reef did not meet our expectations. We thought for the price you pay to stay at Ocean Reef Resort things would have been much better. They also need to consider updating their rooms. With all the places to stay in Mrytle Beach, I would take the chance in staying somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from LaToyua Long, Guest Services / Front Office at Ocean Reef Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at Ocean Reef Resort. I truly apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your time here and assure you this was not a normal reflection of our resort or its operation. Guest satisfaction is our number one priority, I apologize that we fell short of exceeding your expectations. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the management team in an effort to improve our service. We truly value your business and regret not exceeding your expectations. Again thank you for your comments and letting us know about these issues so we can address them promptly. Kindest Regards, L.Long
Read more
Shantel S wrote a review 2 Jul
1 contribution
We booked a 4 night stay here & it was absolutely HORRIBLE ! Our fridge didn’t work. Microwave didn’t work. The balcony door didn’t open all the way so we had to squeeze through. Water leaks from the room above so be prepared to get wet while sitting on the balcony. Let me not get started on the employee named Meeka! Oh she was soooo rude!!!! I’ll just keep it that way. I’ll never book here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Tarra Drost, Guest Services / Front Office at Ocean Reef Resort
Responded 3 days ago
We are sorry for the issues you had while staying with us, Shantel. We want each guest to have the best possible stay while with us, and we fell short during your time with us. We apologize for any inconveniences occurred due to this problem. Sincerely, Tarra Drost Guest Services Manager
Read more
LaceeH wrote a review 1 Jul
Toledo, Illinois3 contributions
We stayed at Ocean Reef for a week and loved every minute of it. Clean rooms, friendly staff, good food and drinks at the Banana Bar and you can not beat the view! We will definitely be back. If you go be sure to try the Lava Lamp mixed drink. On Tues and Thurs there is entertainment from 2 to 4 by the pool and it was so much fun! Thank you Ocean Reef for an outstanding vacation. The Hendersons
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from LaToyua Long, Guest Services / Front Office at Ocean Reef Resort
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Hendersons, Thank you for sharing your experience and for your kind remarks regarding the level of service and accommodation you received. we could not be more pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to your return. Best Regards, L.Long
Read more
Luke M wrote a review 1 Jul
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Let’s shout out Shaniya Swain. ORR move her to management ASAP. You want something done look for this girl. Usually I don’t do many reviews but I’ve visited ORR approximately 10 times in the last 15 years. Something’s Have definitely changed. Depending who you get at the front desk whether you’ll have a pleasant experience or frustrating one. As for the resort it’s still very nice and well kept. I looked on there HR page and seems several openings in house keeping making the staff they have extremely short. Carpet in the hotel was dated and needs remodeled. Keeping your room clean is you responsible and providing more brooms or vacuums would be beneficial. The DJ that was poolside 2 times the week we were there was super! That guy knows his crowd. Breakfast buffet was delicious and fills you up all day. Access and location to all MB activities is excellent at ORR. Our family will continue to visit ORR hopefully for years to come. Oh yea did I mention Shaniya Swain!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from LaToyua Long, Guest Services / Front Office at Ocean Reef Resort
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for being our guest and for writing such a generous review. We are delighted that our inspired dedicated Team exceeded your expectations, particularly Shanyia, I will be sure to share your Awsome compliments with them! We look forward to seeing you again! Best Regards, L.Long
Read more
JA wrote a review Jun 2022
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Returned June 24 from a week long family vacation at Ocean Reef. The 4 bedroom 3 bath room had plenty of room for our family of nine. We used the full kitchen every day. It was fully stocked with dishes, glasses, utensils and pans. The washer and dryer worked wonderfully and was used often. The housekeeping staff was friendly and happy to supply us with any towels and linens we requested. Trash pick up was always attended to in a timely manner. The few maintenance issues were handled quickly. The pools, splash pads, game room, beach access were clean and well maintained. There was not an issue of smoke aroma in the room or balcony. Breakfast room staff was friendly and the buffet well stocked. Check in was easy and well organized. Looking forward to the room renovations in the fall. I would suggest replacing the carpet with a easy clean laminate flooring. In the meantime, a push non electronic crumb catcher type sweeper would help until housekeeping is safely able to daily service the rooms. We definitely will return!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tarra Drost, Guest Services / Front Office at Ocean Reef Resort
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Ocean Reef, Joy. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. It was our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to doing so again. Sincerely, Tarra Drost Guest Services Manager
Read more
Leah B wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
This was by far the worst resort my family has ever stayed at. The resort was filthy! It took 3 days to get hot water. My kids couldn’t shower. We called the desk multiple times w/o a response. The rooms smelled. The washer and dryer did not work. We found the pool to be dirty. Cigarette butts every where. Never clean up bc they were still there the next morning. The elevators were disgusting and very dirty. I’m still trying to figure out how the hotel received a trip advisor reward. I will be posting on trip and advisor and yelp. 1 star review.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tarra Drost, Guest Services / Front Office at Ocean Reef Resort
Responded 1 week ago
We are sorry for the issues you had while staying with us. We want each guest to have the best possible experience and we fell short of this during you time with us. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you experienced due to these issues. Sincerely, Tarra Drost Guest Services Manager
Read more
jassyp101 wrote a review Jun 2022
Portland, Oregon63 contributions7 helpful votes
First the good part - the ocean view rooms have an incredible view of the ocean and the balcony is great to sit at to gaze at the ocean. The balconies are completely private, you cannot see your neighbors. Now all the bad parts - if you sit out on the balcony, smells of pot force you inside. At times, the smell is so bad it comes into the room even though your balcony door is shut. The hotel claims it can't do anything because they can't figure out who is smoking. You can't tell either, because the balconies are private and sometimes they may be smoking in their room. The oven in our kitchen wasn't useable. I tried to use it one night and while pre-heating it created so much smoke that I turned it off and opened to doors to make sure I didn't set off the fire alarm. I asked them to take a look at it and no one came. There were no visible spills. The rooms are dated - old carpet, old, stained chairs. Garbage is not collected daily like it's supposed to be and you have to hunt people down to get towels. Everyday for a week I'd tell them I was leaving and to please collect the garbage and leave fresh towels and it was never done. The walls are thin, we could hear the neighbors screaming kids for 2 days. The elevators break down. One got stuck and the fire department had to come out. Management was totally unresponsive when I asked for at least a discount due to all these issues. For the price they are charging, it should have been better.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ocean view rooms have the best view. The only good thing about this hotel is the view.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from LaToyua Long, Guest Services / Front Office at Ocean Reef Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at Ocean Reef Resort . I truly apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your time here and assure you this was not a normal reflection of our resort or its operation. I will personally address all the issues you have encountered during your stay. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable resort experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the issues you experienced while you were staying with us. We truly value your business and regret not exceeding your expectations. Again thank you for your comments and letting us know about these issues so we can address them promptly. Kindest Regards, L.Long
Read more
michaelminutaglio wrote a review Jun 2022
Phillipsburg, New Jersey6 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
This hotel and staff was great. Pool area, although sometimes a little crowded, was awesome. We were always able to be a few lounge chairs, never an issue. Access to the beach was very easy. Staff was EXTREMELY friendly, room was clean, and the Banana Boat outside bar had the BEST DRINKS!! The Breakfast Buffet was awesome, and the staff in that restaurant again was extremely friendly. 100% I would visit again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking was tight, but they have the parking garage across the street
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Tarra Drost, Guest Services / Front Office at Ocean Reef Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for the wonderful review of the Ocean Reef, Michael. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. It was our pleasure to serve you and hope we have the opportunity to do so again soon. Sincerely, Tarra Drost Guest Services Manager
Read more
A Brian C wrote a review Jun 2022
Ann Arbor, Michigan89 contributions17 helpful votes
Ocean Reef seems to fall victim to the same problem as most of the places to stay in Myrtle Beach. I would assume that each unit has a different owner so some are not bad some are dumps and there is really no way to know in advance whether you are booking a nice room or a disaster. So, as they say "you pays you money and you takes you chances". Here are a few of the issues we encountered: 1/ room design does not match the floor plan on the booking site 2/ no hand towels no dish towels no paper toweling only one roll of toilet paper 3/ beverage rack missing from refrigerator 4/ hair and dander on the couch and chairs 5/ tatty draperies 6/ Ceiling needs painting 7/ dried food stuck on chairs and table legs 8/ no luggage racks 9/ bathroom design all backwards making the vanity unusable, shower very low ceiling and low showerhead and no hand rails 10/ no full length mirror 11/ no useful knives (we purchased one and left it for the next guest) 12/ stove burners were all twisted and uneven making any kind of cooking (frying an egg for example) a real challenge 13/ no wine glasses. We probably would not come back unless there is some way of knowing what condition the room would be in when we got there. On the positive side, they do have lots of parking and some of it is shaded and some indoors. Porches and views are great. Considering the size of the place, the elevator wait time wasn't too bad, I think there are five elevators. Service was a mixed bag; some very good people some find friendly service to be a very difficult task.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The only way would be to inspect it before moving in. There are decent rooms, finding one is...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Tarra Drost, Guest Services / Front Office at Ocean Reef Resort
Responded 1 week ago
We are so sorry for the issue you had during your stay with us, Brian. We want each guest to have the best possible experience while staying with us, and we fell short of this goal during your time with us. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your time with us. Sincerely, Tarra Drost Guest Services Manager
Read more
Michael M wrote a review Jun 2022
Huntersville, North Carolina1 contribution
We've been coming here for years. The staff is great and the facility is excellent. The breakfast buffet is worth every penny but the people make the place! The location is convenient and parking is easy and plentiful. Good restaurants are right down the road. AND, the hotel is right on the beach!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Tarra Drost, Guest Services / Front Office at Ocean Reef Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Ocean Reef, Michael. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us and that you continue to visit us. It was our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to doing so for many years to come. Sincerely, Tarra Drost Guest Services Mananger
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$218 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ocean reef hotel myrtle beach, ocean reef myrtle beach, beach myrtle ocean reef resort, ocean reef sc, beach mrytle ocean reef resort sc
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaMyrtle Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
331
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ocean Reef Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Ocean Reef Resort?
Nearby attractions include Polynesian Fire (0.4 km), Jungle Safari Mini Golf (0.6 km), and Fossils Forever - Shark Tooth Hunting Adventures (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ocean Reef Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Ocean Reef Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Ocean Reef Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Ocean Reef Resort?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ocean Reef Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Santa Maria Restaurant, Fire & Smoke, and The Library Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ocean Reef Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ocean Reef Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Ocean Reef Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ocean Reef Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Ocean Reef Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Myrtle Beach Colored School Museum (7.6 km) and Charlie's Place (6.6 km).