We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

South Wind On The Ocean

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
South Wind On The Ocean
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 152: English reviews
Start your review of South Wind On The Ocean
 Click to rate
Troy, North Carolina
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great place to stay in myrtle beach very nice rooms indoor pool. Lorrie was so nice and helpful when we arrived. we will be back again to stay here . Love Southwinds good access to the beach nice outdoor pool

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
Lebanon, Indiana
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

SouthWind is a great place to stay. The staff is wonderful! They offered things I had never experienced at a condo such as daily cleaning and stocking services. The front desk, Laurie was amazing. I spoke with her several times on the phone and finally had the opportunity to meet her in person, just as sweet and helpful!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ddowning2017
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Beach Colony is a great place to stay. Our room was very specious and I would be glad to stay here again. We all had a GREAT time especially our 4 yr Granddaughter. Helen our House keeper took pride in cleaning and made sure we had everything we needed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alesia B
Tess P, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Alesia, We were honored to have you with us and appreciate you taking the time to write a review in regards to your recent stay with us. We are so thrilled that everyone had a great time as that is our goal for everyone as they check in. Please let us know when you are back in the area as...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a great time at this hotel....our room was absolutely beautiful. We had a 3 bdrm on the Penthouse floor it was beautiful very spacious and clean no problems what so ever staff was so hospitable and helpful definitely will give them 5 stars

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yulonda B
Tess P, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Yulonda, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us! It thrills us to know that you had a great time. We look forward to making memories for years to come Please let us know when you are back in the area as we would love to have you back! Have a great day...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Love South Winds. Love Laurie and Kathy. Another perfect vacation. Can't wait to return. Enjoy coffee on the balcony, take a walk on the beach, enjoy the lazy river and go to Carraba's for dinner. Oh, and golf in between. Gotta love South Wind On The Ocean at Myrtle Beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LIsaJoan2014
Tess P, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Lisa, Welcome back to our resort, we are thrilled that you chose to stay with us again! I will be sure to share your experience with both Laurie and Kathy as they will love to see this. Please let us know if you need any assistance in booking your next fun filled stay as we are ready for you to...

kingsport, tennessee
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the outside is beautiful, and it is funny the review prior to mine tells the same story because they had the same room 1204. it was pitiful, carpet dirty stained over and over in places, walls banged up, the tile was dirty you could not walk in socks or they became black, the bathroom was dirty which I cleaned the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kingsporttraveler
Tess P, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

kingsport, Thank you for taking the time to write a review in regards to your recent stay with our resort. I can assure you the experience you had with your unit is not a normal occurrence and we are working on getting to the bottom of the situation. We take pride in what we offer our guests and would love...

Peterborough, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The pools were the only part that was nice. There was a lovely grass area great for late sun but we were told to get off the grass. 805 was in need of a complete repaint, lots of marks on walls as well as crayon scribbles in one of the closets. Carpet had holes and stains everywhere and needs to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frances G
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The service at the front desk was great, very professional and courteous, started with a 1 bedroom and upgraded to a three bedroom oceanfront (1204). Great price for the time of year, however, be advised that the front desk doesn't open until 0900am which means you need to checkout at the hotel next door if you need to leave earlier...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kenneth M
Tess P, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Kenneth, Thank you for choosing South Wind on the Ocean for all of your vacation needs! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us some feedback on how your stay went. I sincerely apologize that we failed you in the aspect of cleanliness, and can assure you we will look into what may have happened as this is not...

NC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

I searched for weeks trying to find a 5 BR unit for our family group. Unit 307 was perfect for us and plan to book for next year. I think these are all owner condos and I booked this one through Stoppers Century 21 Real Estate. Was slightly uncertain when reading reviews, but the owner of this unit must be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolann325
Tess P, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

CarolAnn, Thank you for taking the time to review our resort on your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great time and look forward to many more memorable vacations with you and your family! Please be sure to reach out to the resort directly for some exciting promotions we offer when you are...

Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

In December my family and I checked into Southwind. We were greeted by Laurie who was very friendly and very knowledgeable of the area and gave us some great recommendations as this was our first visit to Myrtle Beach. We stayed in a 3 bedroom / 2 bathroom unit with the most spectacular view. It was so nice , spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mommyoflittles
Tess P, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

mommy, We were honored to have you with us at South Wind on the Ocean. We are thrilled to hear that you and the family had a great stay with us as well as the area. I will be sure to share your review with Laurie, as she is a great asset to our team. Please reach out to either...

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.1 km away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
1,294 reviews
0.8 km away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#86 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
189 reviews
0.6 km away
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
#118 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3,061 reviews
0.2 km away
Forest Dunes Resort
Forest Dunes Resort
#43 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
662 reviews
0.1 km away
Beach Colony Resort
Beach Colony Resort
#26 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about South Wind On The Ocean

Address: 5310 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2531
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: ₹ 18,533 - ₹ 29,160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
South Wind On The Ocean Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from South Wind On The Ocean staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from South Wind On The Ocean staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not chose 1204 , and we went thru the resort for reservations,have used VRBO many times and never a room like this”
kingsporttraveler, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask to see your room before you check in.”
  • Crayon scribbles on wall
  • Beds were not level
  • Marks on walls, every wall
  • Coffee table coming apart
  • Carpet badly stained
FrancesG464, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ask for ocean view”
H8481OTwilliamh, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I would check the beds before accepting the room.”
gilbertf2015, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Mid-level, front ocean view”
  • private balcony view
  • view of room from balcony
E2476KYjoeb, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5