We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Walnut Lane Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Walnut Lane Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 25: English reviews
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2015

I was passing through the area doing some genealogical work in the Spartanburg area and wanted a quiet place to stay. I was tired of the chain hotels along the interstate and wanted something with more local flavor. The Walnut Inn was exactly what I was hoping for. It is a beautiful old mansion, lovingly restored, in a small town... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mnrobertson
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2015 via mobile

Nice, quiet, beautifully decorated Victorian home and gardens. We enjoyed the lovely room with a view and he multiple choices of coffee or tea in the dining room anytime of the day or night was great, too. We really liked Hoyt--He was very kind and accommodating!

Helpful?
Thank cynthiabutler_4
walnutlaneinn, Owner at Walnut Lane Inn, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to meet you both and I certainly enjoyed our conversation. Thank you for choosing Walnut Lane Inn and I look forward to seeing you again... Warmest regards, Hoyt More 

Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2015 via mobile

Was really looking forward to staying here, The booking was made and paid in full 3 weeks before my checking in date. Waited outside the property for 2 hours with no show from owners. After phoning and ringing the bell of the property time and time again I finally contacted Expedia who were more than happy to refund my monies... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Martha M
walnutlaneinn, Owner at Walnut Lane Inn, responded to this review

We were made aware of this error when you notified us via email. I replied with sincere apologies, indicating human error due to a computer problem and again expressed heartfelt apologies to your husband when I spoke to him by phone later that afternoon. I cannot express how sorry we are this incident occurred. I missed you by approximately 30... More 

Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2015 via mobile

We booked this accommodation about 3 weeks ago. Turned up today at 2:30pm and the place was locked up, and nobody around but as check-in wasn't until 3pm we knew we had to wait. We waited until 4:15pm as nobody was answering the phone and we couldn't get any other contact details as the website was down. This was supposed... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
walnutlaneinn, Owner at Walnut Lane Inn, responded to this review

We were made aware of this error when your wife emailed us. I replied to her with sincere apologies, indicating human error due to a computer problem and again expressed heartfelt apologies to you when you phoned later that afternoon. I cannot express how sorry we are this incident occurred and thought we had conveyed that to you before receiving... More 

1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2014

What can I say - AMAZING!!!! From the moment we checked in, everything was wonderful. Me and my partner came up to get married and found this incredible Inn, almost by accident. We signed up for the elopePLUS package and added the photography. The house is beautifully decorated and was like taking a walk back in time. We loved the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jason K
Somerset, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2014

The inn is a great old home, I did find that the bathroom we had could be updated. Breakfast was good but we have stayed at manh b&b and this is not at the top pretty simple breakfast. Did not find innkeeper very talkative seemed to rush us to our room

Helpful?
1 Thank Gail O
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2014 via mobile

David is a gracious host and when you travel as much as I do for business it is wonderful to find somewhere that doesn't feel like a plain motel. I highly recommend you try this B&B. An hour from Asheville and the Biltmore and a little over an hour from Cherokee NC and the Smoky Mountains.

Helpful?
1 Thank satgent03
Arley, AL
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We love staying in B&B and was very lucky to find such a gem so close to Converse College. The inn is located on an expansive piece of property with beautiful gardens and a wrap around porch to enjoy the quiet of the area. Our hosts were very helpful as to suggesting good restaurants and his choice of BIN 112... More 

Helpful?
Thank rushandjoannstuart
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We recently celebrated our wedding at the walnut lane inn, it was a small intimate ceremony and David went out of his way to make it memorable. We also spent our wedding night at the Inn and there was an amazing attention to detail, that left us very impressed. Highly recommended! weather it be for a weekend getaway or a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike B
LYMAN
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Beautiful old southern home nestled among huge oak trees. Peaceful surroundings and the perfect place to kick back, relax and simply enjoy the atmosphere. Each room is well appointed and the Cookie Jar Bistro located within the B&B is the best place in town for a quiet lunch of soups, salads and sandwiches. The owners are simply lovely and make... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank SHEREE T

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyman
3.9 km away
Quality Inn Duncan Spartanburg West
4.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville-Spartanburg I-85
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greenville-Spartanburg(Duncan)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Duncan/Spartanburg
11.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Spartanburg-I-26-Westgate Mall
11.6 km away
Comfort Suites At WestGate Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Walnut Lane Inn

Address: 110 Ridge Road, Lyman, SC 29365
Region: United States > South Carolina > Lyman
Price Range: ₹ 8,523 - ₹ 9,478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Walnut Lane Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Walnut Lane Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Walnut Lane Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We looked at all the rooms and for the price and amenities, we really liked the Orchard Room which I do think had the best view in the house. No tub but we did have a full shower.”
 of 5 bubbles DianeN875, 9 Sep 2012 | Read review
“Make sure you have your own private bath in your room.”
 of 5 bubbles DougM69, 5 Jul 2012 | Read review
“Choose a second floor room with a private bathroom in the room.”
 of 5 bubbles AlPhD, 13 May 2012 | Read review
“Not the best B&B for handicapped but very good for a couples get away or business during the week. Heard nothing from other rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles MBNick, 5 Feb 2012 | Read review
4 of 4