We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Palms Oceanfront Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

604 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 597: English reviews
Mountain Rest, South Carolina
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We enjoyed our two night three day stay. Our oceanfront room was adequate but way overpriced. The reason is that this hotel was deferred maintenance issues, there is water seepage from a storm sewer on the back right side of the hotel at ground level. This contributes to a perennial smell of rotting garbage mixed with sewer gas that is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew M
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

I want to thank this guest for taking the time to write a review for us. We are aware of the smell, and it is coming from the restaurant next door. Management has spoken with the manager of that restaurant, and they advised us that they will get the problem fixed. Unfortunately, there is nothing we can do from our...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We visit the IOP a few times a year and have stayed at the Palms Hotel few times. Their ocean view rooms are quite nice, we got a suite couple of times. Nice sitting area with a sofa and coffee table separated from the sleeping area by a waist high partition. The elevator needs an upgrade. I've compared to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaderuby
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

I really appreciate this guest writing a review for us even though it has been a little while since they have stayed. I just wanted to clarify one of their comments about the parking. It is free parking from October 1st - March 31st, but there is a charge of $5 plus tax from April 1st - September 30th. I...

Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We visited this hotel 2 years ago and just love it. It is right on the beach and right in the middle of a small tourist area where you can eat and shop. Very nice. We had an ocean front room and the view was amazing. Our room was clean and the staff was nice. The only part that was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miranda R
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

We are so delighted to read another good review for The Palms. We really appreciate this guest taking the time to write a review. We see that they are repeat guests, so we are so glad that they came to stay with us again. We look forward to another visit from this guest.

Lexington, South Carolina, United States
Reviewed 15 August 2012

My sister and I have been staying at The Palms for 10 years. We have wonderful times and are treated so special by the staff. The Palms is in a perfect location. Restaurants on either side and shops galore. The beach is beautiful and clean and the water is perfect. All of the staff are willing to assist with any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

We were so happy to see these guests! We truly value our loyal customers that come to stay with us year after year. They become like family to us We are so glad this guest and her sister enjoyed themselves. We also appreciate their taking the time to write a review for us to tell the world how much they...

Hudson, Ohio
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I am a long time Trip Advisor user, and make sure to thoroughly read reviews before booking anywhere. I knew going into this booking that our outcome had a 50/50 chance of being positive based on what I had read, but booked it anyway because I really wanted a beachfront hotel plus this offered breakfast which the others didn't. Well,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank worleybird98
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

We really appreciate this guest's review. Their honesty and accurate descriptions of the surrounding area was nice. We are glad they decided to stay with us and enjoyed themselves. I do want to apologize to them for the elevator. Believe it or not, our houseman attends to the elevator a lot, but the back and forth beach traffic is constant,...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This hotel stay was not the good experience I was hoping for (and I wasn't expecting much based on some of the reviews) and I'm so glad my reservations were for one night only. If I had it to do over I would not have stayed at this hotel. Pros: -The only reason I am giving two stars instead of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GivingMyOpinion
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

As always we appreciate guests taking the time to write reviews for our hotel informing us of their stay. We take our guest's comments seriously and use them to make needed improvements. This case won't be any different, we will make the needed changes to things we have control over. I will say, however, that we are located between restaurants,...

Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Reviewed 8 August 2012

It is a beach hotel, my wife and I had a nice stay. Front desk was very helpful with suggestions. They were spot on about trying the Acme Low Country. The rooms were clean. We called for extra pillows and those were brought right away. Thanks again!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alvin L
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

It is nice to read another good review for The Palms. We are glad this guest found the staff to be helpful. We are always eager to suggest the great cuisines of the area, and we are glad to read that this guest enjoyed the restaurant suggested to them. We certainly hope these guests come to stay with us again...

Spartanburg, South Carolina
Reviewed 6 August 2012

My friends and I just stayed at the Palms Hotel and it was great! No, it was not a five star hotel, but you are definitely not paying a five star hotel price either! The staff was very friendly and happy to help us in any way we needed (They even stored a cake in their freezer that was too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melonie T
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

We are so delighted to read that this guest and their friends had a great time. It is nice to see that they found our location to convenient. More importantly, we are happy to read that they found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We would like to thank this guest for their review, and we hope they come...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 5 August 2012

From the minute we opened the door to our room, we realized we had been completely mislead by the website photos and the way they attempted to portray this hotel. This hotel has no quality. The room was shabby and very dirty. Dust everywhere, A/C filter had an inch of crud, sliding glass door lock was broken, and the view...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JosephKellett
Reviewed 5 August 2012

At an average of $287 per night, we will NOT stay at The Palms again - dingy decor and very unclean! Advising the manager that our room was unsatisfactorily cleaned did not help. We love Isle of Palms and return every year but we will never stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JaniceKellett
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

It is unfortunate that this guest didn't find their accommodations to be satisfactory. We never like to read when a guest isn't happy. Apparently even after addressing their complaint, this still didn't please them. We will however, take their comments to heart because every guest's opinion matters to us. We do appreciate their taking the time to write a review...

441 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (145)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (42)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (284)
Viewed
Beach (30)
Viewed
Coastal Guest Room (61)
Viewed
Oceanfront Balcony Guest Room (64)
Viewed
The Hotel (83)
Viewed
Traditional Interior Guest Room (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
Seaside Inn
#3 of 5 in Isle of Palms
188 reviews
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 60 in Charleston
1,964 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
*** ATTENTION as of Friday, December 18, 2015 *** The Palms Hotel officially closed on Friday, December 18, 2015 due to extensive renovations to common areas, guest room, and guest areas! We look forward to re-opening the hotel late 2016. Thank you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Palms Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1126 Ocean Blvd, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2281
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Price Range: ₹ 4,460 - ₹ 29,670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Palms Oceanfront Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Palms Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Isle Of
Palms Isle Of
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Palms Oceanfront Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Cincinnati, Ohio
Charlotte, NC
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Palms Oceanfront Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get an oceanview”
ktownse1, 30 Dec 2015 | Read review
“ask sea view!”
TandaH51, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Ask for ocean front!”
donnasN5234OV, 26 Nov 2015 | Read review
“ask for there most updated room”
abovelamer, 22 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Rooms with ocean view or partial ocean view are great”
760gilbertg, 14 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5