We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Palms Oceanfront Hotel

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Management photos
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

604 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 597: English reviews
Start your review of The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
 Click to rate
Gallipolis, Ohio
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Wonderful location in the small beach community of Isle of Palms. 2 great restaurants one on each side and shopping across the street make it a perfect stay. Also easy access to Charleston just over the bridge. We will definitely return.

Thank Neal P
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here and thoroughly enjoyed it! The hotel has a wonderful location right on the beach and staff are friendly- they were not booked up so they upgraded our room for free! The island has a safe atmosphere you can just get out and walk around and feel comfortable doing so. Great amenities at a wonderful...

Thank Tyler L
Stephens City, Virginia
Reviewed 14 January 2016

I understand the Palms is currently closed for renovations. However, I had the privilege of staying there a couple years ago. The staff was very accommodating and the breakfast was an added bonus. It is within walking distance of shopping, restaurants and of course on the beach.

Thank mindykelly
Matthew C, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning MindyKelly, Thank you for your wonderful feedback about your stay with us. Yes, the Hotel is currently closed undergoing extensive renovations. We look forward to the Hotel's Grand Re-opening later this year and hope we can welcome you back to the property for it. Thank you again! Matthew Cunningham General Manager

Durham, North Carolina
Reviewed 30 December 2015

We got an excellent AAA rate on our one night stay prior to our cruise departure. The hotel room, amenities and cleanliness were on par for the price of the room. Once the renovation is complete this could be a great boutique hotel that could command much higher rates if properly updated.

1Thank ktownse1
Matthew C, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon KTownse1, Thank you for taking an opportunity to share your feedback during your most recent stay with us! We appreciate you have many choices in the Charleston/Mount Pleasant/Isle of Palms area and thank you for staying with us. We do hope you will reach out to us upon completion of our renovations and visit with us again. Thank...

Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

I had gotten a Groupon and read all the bad reviews, so we were prepared and pleasantly surprised. Yes, it is dated, but our room was clean. We had an interior room and there were some loud rowdy grown men making a lot of noise in the tiled hallway around 2 am the last night which was a disappointment considering...

1Thank Dawn M
Michael S, Hotel Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Dawn M, Thank you for taking the time to share thoughts on your recent stay here with us.....sorry about the noise in the middle of the night. Please know you can always call the front desk and we will address noise complaint issues and make them stop. The next time you come here, please ask for me so we...

Kleve, Germany
Reviewed 15 December 2015

We we offered a free upgrade for a room at the seafront, which we appreciated very much, the room is quiet and comfy, although renewal would be recommended. We slept with open windows and had a good time. Sorry the elevator was out of order...

1Thank TandaH51
Michael S, Hotel Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Guten Tag TandaH51, Ich danke Ihnen fur die Zeit nehmen, um Ihre Gedanken zu ihren letzten Aufenhalt bei uns zu...

Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Reviewed 9 December 2015

We stayed for one night in a beachfront room. We were greeted by the manager when we checked in who was very nice and our room was great. It was clean and just what we wanted. Would definitely stay here again!

Thank Murielhoek
Michael S, Hotel Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Murielhoek! Thank you for your kind words about our Hotel and Staff.....it makes us happy when we deliver against the expectation. Please remember to call us directly for your next reservation so we can offer you our Loyal Return Guest discounts. Have a great 2016!

Buffalo, South Carolina
Reviewed 26 November 2015

We go to Charleston each November for our anniversary and this was the first time we stayed at The Palms. We loved it. It is under renovation, but we could see the potential and improvements being made. Our room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. We will definitely stay here again.

Thank Donna S
Michael S, Hotel Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pioneerms, Thanks for taking the time to write a review on The Palms! We are proud to be one of the 3 oceanfront hotels in the Charleston area and are happy you found us to be a great spot. We do apologize about the renovations, but are happy to share that our brand new elevator goes back into service...

St. Maarten-St. Martin
Reviewed 22 November 2015

The condition of the hotel is horrible. It could be charming and beautiful. The elevator which is how you reach the front desk/lobby is in terrible shape on the outside and the inside! It needs to be painted and detailed and maintain daily since this is the entrance to the property. It is such a turn off ! The underground...

Thank abovelamer
Michael S, Hotel Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Abovelamer, I just read your review and wanted to respond to your comments regarding your stay back in August. You were right.....the elevator interior and exteriors were not in good shape! You'll be happy to know we completely removed that elevator and have replaced it with a brand new model, which we expect to have back in operation shortly....

Reviewed 19 November 2015 via mobile

This was our second time staying at this hotel. We stayed there 8 or 9 years ago when it was a holiday inn express and enjoyed it then. This time was great as well! The location was just awesome. My family and I loved the whole area. We had a beachfront room which had the most beautiful view and great...

Thank Laura L
Michael S, Hotel Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Laura L, Thanks so much for the kind words about our hotel and team. We are fortunate to have such a great staff, so know we appreciate you recognizing them. Thank you again for taking an opportunity to share your feedback, and don't forget to contact us directly to take advantage of our wonderful Loyal Guest rates!! All the...

441 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (145)
Room/Suite (24)
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Bathroom (10)
View from Room (14)
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Dining (3)
Other (42)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (284)
Beach (30)
Coastal Guest Room (61)
Oceanfront Balcony Guest Room (64)
The Hotel (83)
Traditional Interior Guest Room (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (12)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
View from Room (1)
Room/Suite (6)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
Seaside Inn
#3 of 5 in Isle of Palms
195 reviews
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,982 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
*** ATTENTION as of Friday, December 18, 2015 *** The Palms Hotel officially closed on Friday, December 18, 2015 due to extensive renovations to common areas, guest room, and guest areas! We look forward to re-opening the hotel late 2016. Thank you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Palms Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1126 Ocean Blvd, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2281
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Price Range: ₹ 4,457 - ₹ 29,645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Palms Oceanfront Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Palms Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Isle Of
Palms Isle Of
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Palms Oceanfront Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Cincinnati, Ohio
Charlotte, NC
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Palms Oceanfront Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get an oceanview”
ktownse1, 30 Dec 2015 | Read review
“ask sea view!”
TandaH51, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Ask for ocean front!”
donnasN5234OV, 26 Nov 2015 | Read review
“ask for there most updated room”
abovelamer, 22 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Rooms with ocean view or partial ocean view are great”
760gilbertg, 14 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
View all 5 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates