We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
See the most recent reviews
Showing 57: English reviews
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised when we entered our room. The decor is modern and the room looked meticulously clean. The beds were so comfy, the view from our balcony was pretty and even though the room is small it was perfect for our family of 4. There was a sofa bed and 2 queen beds. The price was great and... More 

Helpful?
Thank JojoM2002
Linda P, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, responded to this review

Dear JojoM2002, Thank you for your great review! Who doesn't want to hear that our guests describe us as a "little gem of a place"? We appreciate you sharing your experience and hope that you get to come back and see us soon - and stay a little longer! Happy Travels, Linda More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Welcoming staff. We stayed here 5 days and 4 nights. Our room overlooking the pool and lagoon was a nice view. The room with patio (no chairs outside) was nice with comfortable bed, flat screen TV, plenty of storage and clean throughout. The walk to breakfast was fine. Location offered free newspaper, daily housekeeping, outside pool, picnic tables, fitness center,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Yum4tum
Linda P, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, responded to this review

Dear Yum4tum, We so appreciate you taking the time to let all the Trip Advisor readers know what a great time you had at the hotel. We hope we get a chance to welcome you back again soon! Kind regards, Linda More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2016

I stay 5 day on Hilton head Sc very good for every thing especially for the beach very clean ,water very warm ,and lots of beaches then you can pick . Very close from hotel park is free . I loved there maybe i will go back .

Helpful?
1 Thank Leo N
Linda P, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, responded to this review

Dear Leo N, Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back! Kind regards, Linda More 

Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed 4 days, it took some getting used to the 'resort' setup, it's easy to get turned around driving or walking. The room was a bit small but adequate, beds firm but comfy, very different storage, some angular structures built on the wall for hanging items and some drawers and a narrow wardrobe closet, but beach hotels tend to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Myrts78
Linda P, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, responded to this review

Dear Myrts78, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time although there were several things that were not up to your expectation. Hilton Head did have record heat for many days this summer so walking around our resort style hotel and to the beach was likely... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

First time staying at a Holiday Inn Express..Stayed here for the weekend.. Great hotel.I would definitely recommend to anyone in the Hilton Head area..Short walk to the beach but they also offer a free shuttle to the beach and plaza.. The room was fully renovated...Breakfast was the typical continental style..Nothing to bragg about..But definitely a good choice for the price..

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Linda P, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we made a good impression for your first Holiday Inn Express stay! We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back! Kind regards, Linda More 

Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

What a terrible experience. First of all, it's not on the beach like it said. The hotel itself has no lobby and no sign as to where check-in is. We drove around and then walked around in a pitch black maze looking for what was a separate building to finally, finally get our room. The girl at the desk was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank photobugave
Linda P, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, responded to this review

Dear Photobugave, We are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience here with us. We are aware that some online maps direct guests to the rooms building and not the registration building - we are working on getting that changed as well as looking to improve the signage. Thank you for your comments to reiterate the need for clearer... More 

soiuth Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2016

The reviews I read did not meet my expectations of the hotel. The hotel is very old, the check in area drab and dull, the room is the outside entrance much like a motel and to have a cup of coffee we had to walk a little distance to the detached restaurant, which was just as disappointing. It was not... More 

Helpful?
Thank taylorsgh1
Linda P, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, responded to this review

Dear Taylorsgh1, We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Having just completed a full renovation with a new and modern feel, it comes as quite a surprise that you found us to be drab and dull. We do have open air corridors, however, a key is required to enter the building in order to use... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

We are currently staying at this hotel for 3 nights. Tonight is our last night and so far it has been an amazing experience. I was really worried because some of the negative reviews but our experience has been nothing but pleasant. There is a $10 service fee added to your bill when you check out but I knew this... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank northgawraps
Linda P, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your awesome review! We appreciate you sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor World. We look forward to welcoming you back to our little island paradise! Kind regards, Linda Prosser Director of Sales More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights at the end of July 2016. When we arrived we were told that a service charge for phone,parking,and a shuttle to the beach would be added to our bill. Our room phone was not working and wasn't fixed for 2 days. The room wasn't clean and the cleaning staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank AdeleWeinstein
Linda P, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, responded to this review

Dear AdeleWeinstein, We appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay here. Please rest assured that your comments will be discussed with Maintenance and Housekeeping as it is only through comments such as yours that we can continually improve our service. I do see on... More 

Flowery Branch, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2016

If you are looking for a hotel that will not break the bank and is in walking distance to the beach, this is your hotel. The beach is less than a 10 minute walk from the hotel or quicker if you ride a bike. The staff is friendly, the rooms are very clean and the pool is a good size... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rosie0313
Linda P, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, responded to this review

Dear Rosie 0313 Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you taking the time! We are always happy to hear about the things that our guests enjoy during their stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Kind regards, Linda More 

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.3 km away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
#9 of 29 in Hilton Head
175 reviews
9.8 km away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#8 of 29 in Hilton Head
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#14 of 29 in Hilton Head
703 reviews
2.8 km away
Park Lane Hotel and Suites
Park Lane Hotel and Suites
#18 of 29 in Hilton Head
572 reviews
8.4 km away
Ramada Hilton Head
Ramada Hilton Head
#19 of 29 in Hilton Head
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our resort style hotel offers 153 rooms with either a King Bed or 2 Queen Beds and many rooms additionally have sleeper sofas. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, Keurig Coffee Machine, Iron/Ironing board, free Wifi, additional plugs for electronic devices, 49" Flat Screen TVs, Programmable in room Safe, individually controlled air conditioning and heat, telephone and a radio alarm clock. Fully ADA compliant rooms are available upon request. Check in at our newly renovated Registration building just off South Forest Beach Drive and then just a short drive to the rooms building overlooking our wildlife lagoon and pool. Our entire complex is just a short stroll to Hilton Head's famous beach, Coligny Plaza with its shops and restaurants, the BiLo Plaza, and Van der Meer Tennis Center. Located just 45 minutes from Savannah Hilton Head International airport, 20 minutes from the Tanger Outlets and 15 minutes from Hilton Head Island Airport. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island

Address: 2 Tanglewood Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928 (Formerly Quality Inn South Forest Beach)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Price Range: ₹ 5,882 - ₹ 14,773 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn South Forest Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Comfort Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Head Comfort Inn
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Bartlett, Illinois
Honea Path, South Carolina
3 months ago
Connecticut
over a year ago
Connecticut
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Read the details of my review.”
 of 5 bubbles critc17265, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The higher the better.”
 of 5 bubbles dos7940, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Even numbered rooms on the fourth floor are parking lot views, odds are pond and pool view.”
 of 5 bubbles Rod6760, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not on the bench about a mile away”
 of 5 bubbles demariomonicap, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room facing pool or lagoon”
 of 5 bubbles Yum4tum, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay