We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

949 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
See the most recent reviews
Showing 939: English reviews
South Carolina, United States
Reviewed 29 April 2016

Staff and facility are top notch. Only complaint is the sometimes high price that is charged. Prices are not consistent for the same type of room and apparently it depends on what events are happening in the city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrisha V
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear Patrisha V, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and I am happy to hear you had a great experience. Regarding the cost of our rooms, we find ourselves comparable to similar properties in our market. While there may be other locations in our brand with different offerings, our team spends a lot of time researching...

Leesville, SC, United States
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Our delightful stay in Greenville was due in part to our overnight at the Hampton Inn. The location was perfect, the room large, clean, and ready upon our early arrival, and the breakfast was excellent. Daniel, at the front desk, was extraordinarily helpful in guiding us through the hectic Sunday town traffic and in offering local information. The fresh fruit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear Nancy R, Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor.com. I can confirm that our seasoned staff sincerely enjoy providing the best possible experience, especially the ladies in the morning. One thing you can always count on when visiting the Hampton Inn & Suites @RiverPlace is a pile of fresh offerings each morning. I look...

Atlanta
Reviewed 27 April 2016

This hotel exceeded my expectations on location alone. We were in town to see a concert at the arena and were able to walk there from the hotel. The hotel itself sits basically in Falls Park...which are some man-made falls built into the River with some old rehabbed buildings and new hotels. It's very lovely. The view from our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jgpatlantatraveler
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear jgpatlantatraveler, Thank you for sharing such an honest review of our property. The city planners did a fantastic job incorporating the buildings into the landscape, and lucky for us, we have definitely benefited from the views. Also, the carillon you heard was in fact a malfunction, but I am happy to inform that it is back to proper working...

Charleston, United States
Reviewed 27 April 2016

One of the nicest Hampton Inns for which I have had the pleasure staying and I will definitely come back. Pretty location, near lots of choices to the main area downtown, and the people are very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear Lori S, Your review is exactly the kind of reaction we hope to provide to every guest. Each colleague strives to provide top-notch service to exceed the expectations for everyone. If you find yourself back in Downtown Greenville, SC, please let me know if I can be of any assistance. With delight, Patrick Munroe Guest Services Manager Hampton Inn...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 26 April 2016

My wife and I had a quick trip/stay in Greenville for a night. The Hampton Inn is perfectly located in the middle of everything that you need to see if you’re visiting Greenville. Its located right on the Reedy River across from the Peace Center Performing Arts Theater/Wyche Pavillion/Amphitheatre area and a couple steps away from the scenic Falls Park...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank atrizzle
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear atrizzle, Thank you for staying with us recently at our Hampton Inn & Suites! I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our facilities and our wonderful city of Greenville. We are fortunate to be seated on the Reedy River which provides our hotel with a wonderful view of the river and surrounding downtown area. Also, your review...

South Carolina
Reviewed 26 April 2016

This Hotel is located within walking distance to great restaurants and the Fluor Field. We enjoyed a good baseball game and a quick walk to some excellent restaurants. Hotel was great and very professional. The area restaurants are just fun and great food. Great Stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mitwest
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear Mitwest, It appears you had a great time watching the Greenville Drive! With our location being an easy walk to the field, it is obvious you did your research ahead of time. Thank you for sharing your experience and I hope we can be your hotel of choice for all future trips to the Upstate area. With delight, Patrick...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 26 April 2016

I was told that my rate for the third night would be $299.00. We left. They corrected the bill to $160.00 for the two nights we stayed. This property is a rip off and should not be a Hilton property. Signed, Attorney from NY

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear Peter S, Thank you so much for providing your TripAdvisor Review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope that we will have the opportunity to speak with you directly to learn more about your experience. We never wish to come across as insincere in our offers and strive to continuously provide the highest level of service to each guest....

Reviewed 25 April 2016

The location of this Hampton Inn cannot be beat! With the River and ample walking trails right outside the door there was no reason to use the gym. It is within walking distance to Main Street with numerous restaurants to choose from. The hotel itself was remodeled and having a corner room facing the River was wonderful. The hotel was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deannac946
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear deannac946, Thank you for your amazing review! I am elated to read that you had just a great time with us on your recent trip to Greenville. The entire staff takes great pride in their job, and with reviews like yours, they couldn't be happier. Our Breakfast team does a great job choosing the highest quality for their fresh...

kent, United States
Reviewed 21 April 2016

wonderful hotel! Very clean and updated. Staff very helpful and friendly. Great complimentary breakfast. Comfortable bed and layout of our suite was beyond perfect! Great location downtown. Close to everything!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear John M, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel with the TripAdvisor community. Our staff do a fantastic job keeping a positive attitude and ensuring all guests feel right at home. As for breakfast, I completely agree that the spread is fantastic. Hopefully we impressed you enough to have you return the next...

Syracuse, New York
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

Came to Greenville and stayed at the Hampton downtown. What an awesome, happening place. So much so that we decided to move here. Great restaurants, shopping and Hampton is in a prime location to take advantage. Recommend you get a room with a view of the Riverwalk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissJudy4949
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear MissJudy4949, Welcome to Greenville! I am honored to learn our team was able to help entice you to become permanent residents of this beautiful town. I too have moved here recently and have already fallen for the entire culture. Hopefully you will still consider us when family and friends visit, or if you are wanting a stay-cation downtown. Please...

214 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
3:25
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (92)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.3 km away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.4 km away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
1.0 km away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#9 of 64 in Greenville
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
#3 of 64 in Greenville
619 reviews
9.2 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Greenville
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Address: 171 Riverplace, Greenville, SC 29601-2579
Region: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Price Range: ₹ 10,110 - ₹ 19,883 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Black Mountain, North Carolina
over a year ago
Bethesda, Maryland
7 months ago
over a year ago
USA
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the rounded corner of the building have great views.”
 of 5 bubbles robmL5778IA, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a river view.”
 of 5 bubbles DebC488, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a river view-I didn't have.”
 of 5 bubbles Gatraveler-7, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Balcony is worth having”
 of 5 bubbles franpaulworcs, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask how old the mattresses are”
 of 5 bubbles trixie976, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay